$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
530 A1A Beach Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
Great

staff and amenities were all you need. The stay for two nights was perfect. And since it was first... See full review

  • BG No. 1
  • May 12, 2014
A quick weekend getaway

A friend and I were looking for sun and she suggested St. Augustine. I found this hotel and I don't... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Mar 3, 2014
Mediterranean design at St. Augustine hotel just steps from the beach
The Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel welcomes guests to unwind just 200 steps from the ocean. Mediterranean design and eclectic décor take cues from Florida history, with Spanish, Moorish, Romanesque and Gothic flourishes. Past the three-story lobby with marble floor, find a restaurant and 24-hour business center. Fountains and tropical landscape surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Romantic yet family-friendly, the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel delivers a beach escape with personal attention near St. Augustine.

 

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Dramatic Mediterranean décor with three-story atrium lobby
  • Short drive to downtown historic St. Augustine
  • Rooms include make-up vanity and beautiful views
  • Fitness center with sauna and steam room

 

Rooms
The Mediterranean scheme continues in 60 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites at Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel. Some look out to the ocean, while others offers views of the swimming pool or landscaped grounds. Admire marble and granite accents in the entry and bath along with custom faux finishing, solid wood furnishings and impressionist artwork. Choose one king or two queen beds and take in an enchanting color scheme of warm rust, purple and gold. Pillow-top mattresses, terry cloth robes, duvet covers, five shower heads and a make-up vanity add luxurious touches. Enjoy TVs with cable and a DVD player, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, a mini-fridge and microwave.

 

Features
In addition to relaxation on the beach and by the pool, guests of the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel work out in the fitness center that includes a treadmill, stair stepper and stationary bike plus soothing sauna and steam room. Order breakfast from on-site La Cocina Restaurant, which also serves steaks, seafood and pasta during lunch and dinner. Nearby, explore historic St. Augustine, the country's oldest permanently settled city. The area also is home to World Golf Village and TPC Sawgrass, antique stores and malls, ghost tours, water sports, art museums and galleries.

 

Transportation
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • Jacksonville International Airport (57.7 mi/92.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Beach (across the street)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lightner Museum (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Marineland (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • World Golf Village (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (29.5 mi/47.5 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

29.8506 -81.2673
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Int'l Airport, (JAX), 65.00, MI, N; Daytona Beach Reg. Arpt., (DAB), 55.00, MI, N; Orlando Int'l Airport, (MCO), 130.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, 4.5 Old city

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Litnin'
Annandale, VA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Castillo Real

Excellent hotel. Pleasant staff, great restaurant, clean rooms. A very comfortable place to stay. Only a short one block walk to a beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Grille has the best coconut shrimp and clam chowder I've ever had.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Paul
Business
Maryland, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Excellent hotel and restaurant

I booked a king room and was upgraded to king with hottub without even asking. Large room, very comfortable bed, nice Samsung flat screen TV. The restaurant was excellent. Gourmet presentation. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rack of veal was fantastic!

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dixiecat
St Johns River, Florida, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Safety Comfort

Good parking for walking to a cafe and the pier. Also over the dunes to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunes Cracker a good local place for food and spirits. Friendly.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agustin valero
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 26, 2011

fantastic

good hotel w/verynice decoretion.the jaccuzy was not working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AriSwann
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Great Hotel! Highly Recommend!

Traveling a lot for business I stay at too may hotels..... This one was the best for the price we had found. Beds are very comfortable.. wifi offered in the room... just a great hotel! Definitely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping all in area.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
russiangypsy
Tallahassee, FL, USA
Nov 9, 2011

wonderful respite

The room is decorated with great detail. The bath area is spacious. I asked to be moved from the first floor to third and it was done quickly and with good customer regard. I've had dinner here and it is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryland couple.
Waldorf, MD
Jul 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

Arrived a little early and had to wait for room. Hotel has a 4pm check-in time. Our room was not ready when we returned so they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi tub. Hotel is very nice. A small pool and only one hot-tub but you are two minutes froom the beach, so if that's not important to you, you'll like it. A restaurant is on premises so noe free breakfast. A bit pricey but not too bad. great stay overall. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryland couple.
Waldorf, MD
Jul 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

Arrived a little early and had to wait for room. Hotel has a 4pm check-in time. Our room was not ready when we returned so they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi tub. Hotel is very nice. A small pool and only one hot-tub but you are two minutes froom the beach, so if that's not important to you, you'll like it. A restaurant is on premises so noe free breakfast. A bit pricey but not too bad. great stay overall. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville, Florida
May 31, 2011

Where elegance and economy collide

The Castillo Real is conveniently located in the heart of the business district of St Augustine Beach, yet it is quiet and steps away from the beach. We stayed for several days recently and on a couple of those days we never had to get into our car. Within walking distance are several excellent restaurants (Stir It Up was the best), shops, and the St. John's Pier. The hotel has cool tile throughout for hot little feet following a day at the beach. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom sink is marble and the shower is very large. The pool area is beautiful and the jacuzzi is hot. They also have a sauna & steamroom on the 4th floor. The fitness center is spare and the rooms nearest the lobby are not as quiet. However, the staff was outstanding and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The price was quite a bargain. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a taste of cool, try Stir It Up. Located about a quarter of a mile South from the hotel, one can easily walk along the beach to the A Street access. This cute little restaurant is outdoor seating only- but you won't mind as it is on a breezy porch where you can catch a glimpse of the ocean. They offer delicious smoothies, wraps & burritos stuffed with fresh veggies. We opted for vegan-style, but they have stuff for the omnivores, too. No worries. The theme is based on Bob Marley tunes & the staff are very friendly & easy-going. Totally has that surfer vibe. You will not be disappointed. I suggest the GreenRito & a Get Up Stand Up smoothie. Enjoy!

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville, Florida
May 31, 2011

Where elegance and economy collide

The Castillo Real is conveniently located in the heart of the business district of St Augustine Beach, yet it is quiet and steps away from the beach. We stayed for several days recently and on a couple of those days we never had to get into our car. Within walking distance are several excellent restaurants (Stir It Up was the best), shops, and the St. John's Pier. The hotel has cool tile throughout for hot little feet following a day at the beach. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom sink is marble and the shower is very large. The pool area is beautiful and the jacuzzi is hot. They also have a sauna & steamroom on the 4th floor. The fitness center is spare and the rooms nearest the lobby are not as quiet. However, the staff was outstanding and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The price was quite a bargain. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a taste of cool, try Stir It Up. Located about a quarter of a mile South from the hotel, one can easily walk along the beach to the A Street access. This cute little restaurant is outdoor seating only- but you won't mind as it is on a breezy porch where you can catch a glimpse of the ocean. They offer delicious smoothies, wraps & burritos stuffed with fresh veggies. We opted for vegan-style, but they have stuff for the omnivores, too. No worries. The theme is based on Bob Marley tunes & the staff are very friendly & easy-going. Totally has that surfer vibe. You will not be disappointed. I suggest the GreenRito & a Get Up Stand Up smoothie. Enjoy!

Back to menu Return to top