$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
530 A1A Beach Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
Great

staff and amenities were all you need. The stay for two nights was perfect. And since it was first... See full review

  • BG No. 1
  • May 12, 2014
A quick weekend getaway

A friend and I were looking for sun and she suggested St. Augustine. I found this hotel and I don't... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Mar 3, 2014
Mediterranean design at St. Augustine hotel just steps from the beach
The Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel welcomes guests to unwind just 200 steps from the ocean. Mediterranean design and eclectic décor take cues from Florida history, with Spanish, Moorish, Romanesque and Gothic flourishes. Past the three-story lobby with marble floor, find a restaurant and 24-hour business center. Fountains and tropical landscape surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Romantic yet family-friendly, the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel delivers a beach escape with personal attention near St. Augustine.

 

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Dramatic Mediterranean décor with three-story atrium lobby
  • Short drive to downtown historic St. Augustine
  • Rooms include make-up vanity and beautiful views
  • Fitness center with sauna and steam room

 

Rooms
The Mediterranean scheme continues in 60 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites at Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel. Some look out to the ocean, while others offers views of the swimming pool or landscaped grounds. Admire marble and granite accents in the entry and bath along with custom faux finishing, solid wood furnishings and impressionist artwork. Choose one king or two queen beds and take in an enchanting color scheme of warm rust, purple and gold. Pillow-top mattresses, terry cloth robes, duvet covers, five shower heads and a make-up vanity add luxurious touches. Enjoy TVs with cable and a DVD player, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, a mini-fridge and microwave.

 

Features
In addition to relaxation on the beach and by the pool, guests of the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel work out in the fitness center that includes a treadmill, stair stepper and stationary bike plus soothing sauna and steam room. Order breakfast from on-site La Cocina Restaurant, which also serves steaks, seafood and pasta during lunch and dinner. Nearby, explore historic St. Augustine, the country's oldest permanently settled city. The area also is home to World Golf Village and TPC Sawgrass, antique stores and malls, ghost tours, water sports, art museums and galleries.

 

Transportation
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • Jacksonville International Airport (57.7 mi/92.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Beach (across the street)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lightner Museum (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Marineland (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • World Golf Village (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (29.5 mi/47.5 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

29.8506 -81.2673
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Int'l Airport, (JAX), 65.00, MI, N; Daytona Beach Reg. Arpt., (DAB), 55.00, MI, N; Orlando Int'l Airport, (MCO), 130.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, 4.5 Old city

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDJJr
West Columbia, SC
Oct 22, 2012

Castillo Rea Resort

tHE HOTEL IS NICE AND THE STAFF STAFF IS GREAT. OVERALL, WE ENJOYED OUR TWO DAY STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.Carela
Savannah Ga
Jul 5, 2014

Great Stay! Would recommend to Families or Romantic Getaway

Great Staff, Amazing Room with a Jacuzzi and a ocean view that we were not expecting. only about a 10 min Cab Ride to Down Town St Augustine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get the Breakfast coupons or walk across the street to Café 11 and get your breakfast

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BG No. 1
FL
May 12, 2014

Great

staff and amenities were all you need. The stay for two nights was perfect. And since it was first time in St Augustine's it made the visit worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Cucina.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicki RN
North East, Maryland
Mar 9, 2014

Just OK

I guess the website built my expectations too high...I was expecting the hotel to be on the beach which their photo implied. It was close to the beach, about 1/2 block away so it wasn't a huge problem. Our room was spacious but really dark with a "view" out of a small window of the parking lot. Because it was rainy we were stuck in the room for a bit. The bed was too soft and both my husband and I ended up with backaches. The shower is large and was very nice. The restaurant,, La Cuchina, was lovely though we understand they are not affiliated with the hotel. I thought the price was high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve360
Newport RI
Mar 3, 2014

A quick weekend getaway

A friend and I were looking for sun and she suggested St. Augustine. I found this hotel and I don't think I could have made a better choice. The Spanish style, the professional and fun staff, the amenities, the pool, hot tub, sauna, steam room and the food, oh the food, incredible. The location was far enough away from the tourist area, congestion and traffic, unless you wanted it. A block to the expansive beach made a morning walk, after a great breakfast was a ritual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is great. Beer and wine only but plenty of choices.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
surf yearner
NYC
Feb 11, 2014

castillo real the real deal

For someone who wanted both beach walking and St Augustine and who had a car, this hotel was a very pleasant choice indeed. The beach was a short walk..say a minute, away and St augustine a short drive...say 5 minutes. Of course, parking in St. Augustine is its own problem, but that is not the problem of the hotel. Breakfast is not included, which is not a particular problem for our lifestyle, but might be a value problem for others. They do have a prix fixe breakfast arrangement with the on site restaurant, and our one breakfast there was very good. On the 4th floo are two exercise machines, weights (1 5 pound weight missing), a steam room and sauna....The decor was warm, fun and pleasing. In general I was quite happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John and Judy K
Brunswick, GA
Jan 25, 2014

Buyers Remorse

After we made our reservation we called the hotel to request a room with the best view of the ocean and they were very helpful. We stayed from Friday night to the following Monday. The room was pretty ordinary and if we were not on the fourth floor we would not have seen much of the ocean. As it was we had to look between the beachfront condos between the hotel and the beach. Or room refrigerator did not work when we arrived. The first two times we requested it be looked at maintenance came and turned some knobs and told us to wait to see if that worked. They finally replaced it after the third request. That was on Sunday afternoon. We asked that our room not be cleaned each day, except for clean towels. That didn't happen until we caught one of the cleaning staff in the hall and swapped out our own towels. Our room was an oversize, king bed with a whirlpool tub. The hotel description said robes were supplied. There were none in our room. After three requests we finally got bathrobes that were ratty and frayed all around the edges. At $200 a night, with taxes and all, this hotel is not what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will Travel light
Miami Beach
Jun 10, 2013

an ok hotel

The hotel is clean and the room was spacious. The personnel nice and friendly. Steps from the beach. The only complain? The shower pressure very weak and it was difficult to wash off all the soap from your body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Casa Maya good organic fresh mexican food.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenRN
Pittsburgh Pa
Jun 6, 2013

Super Relaxing

Staff very courteous, we arrived at 1130 well ahead of check in time , they gave us a card for pool access and a parking pass to park on lot , took our cell phone number , called me from the beach when room was ready ( was in room at 1 pm ) very happy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Sunset Grill !

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Health Inspector
Talladega, AL
May 15, 2013

Best surprise on my vacation!

This is an older hotel which has been remodeled. The pics were not updated when I selected the hotel as a stop over our vacation down to disney. I was very surprised!!! The staff was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. I expected a 2 or 3 star place from their web entry, but was surprised to find at least a 4 star. Their restaurant was top line and the location cannot be beat!! Right next on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aboodoogie
miami, florida
May 6, 2013

very nice hotel

Unfortunately we had terrible weather, but we still enjoyed the hotel, specially the steam room. Good restaurant also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top