$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Golden Host Resort

2 stars
4675 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
38 reviews
Love This Place

I love this spot, it's like a little honeycomb hideout. Great, friendly staff, awesome little pub... See full review

  • johnnajean
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great Place

This hotel is a great place to stay, I would say more for adults without young kids. It has a great... See full review

  • johnnajean
  • Jul 14, 2014
Make your Florida vacation even more special when you stay the Golden Host Resort, Sarasota's "In-town resort.". Nestled among five acres of palm trees, hibiscus and native tropical foliage, this Sarasota hotel is minutes from the beautiful Gulf beaches, Sarasota's Performing Arts and all area attractions. Golden Host Resort is less than a 5-minute drive from Sarasota Bradenton International Airport. It features an outdoor 50 foot swimming pool, and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The Bahi Hut Cocktail Lounge at the Golden Host Resort serves Mai Tais and other specialty cocktails. It also offers light American and international meals. Each tropically themed guest room is equipped with cable TV and a coffee maker. Select rooms include a balcony or patio. Ticket reservations and a lending library are available at the Golden Hosts 24-hour front desk. Laundry facilities are located on site. The museums and restaurants of downtown Sarasota are 3 miles from the Golden Host Resort. The Mote Marine Aquarium is a 15-minute drive from the property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Host Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Golden Host Resort Rooms

Standard Queen
Room one queen bed include Cable satellite TV, Individually controlled air conditioning, Data ports, AM / FM alarm clock radio / wake-up calls, Coffee / tea maker, Hairdryer, Complimentary toiletries available upon request, Iron / ironing board, Cribs, Rollaway beds available at a nominal fee, A Few Smoking rooms available on resquest.
Standard Double
Room with two double beds include Cable satellite TV, Individually controlled air conditioning, Data ports, AM / FM alarm clock radio / wake-up calls, Coffee / tea maker, Hairdryer, Complimentary toiletries available upon request, Iron / ironing board, Cribs, Rollaway beds available at a nominal fee, A Few Smoking rooms available on resquest.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bahi Hut
A Tropical Cocktail Lounge,where the Mai Tai's have been voted the best of Sarasota.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Host Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnnajean
Business
Sarasota, Fl
Jul 30, 2014

Love This Place

I love this spot, it's like a little honeycomb hideout. Great, friendly staff, awesome little pub on site, try a house specialty drink, The Mai Tai (limit of 2 per person) you'll know why. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnnajean
Business
Sarasota, Fl
Jul 14, 2014

Great Place

This hotel is a great place to stay, I would say more for adults without young kids. It has a great lounge on premises, and I love the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DebOrlando
Business
Orlando
Mar 24, 2014

Wouldn't stay again

I don't normally give harsh reviews, but this hotel earned them. It is not in a very good area, we were initially given keys to an occupied room and had to switch, the air conditioner was stuck at a specific temperature and couldn't be moved, the bed was hard as a rock, the 2 pillows on the bed were miniature size and the room smelled musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yummy Chinese restaurant down the street is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Mom5
Business
Iowa
Mar 22, 2014

Never again

Fortunately there are plenty of hotels in Sarasota. The rooms were cleanish, the entire place needs to be updated. I usually do not take my shoes off in hotels but I had driven a long way, my feet were black almost instantly. The Palmetto bugs, yes its Florida but stll there are things called exterminators. Yes its an outdoor pool but it looked like no one had skimmed it in days. I am grateful that I had many other friends staying in Sarasota at the same time and could hang out with them. Definitely not staying there or recommending that some one else stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sharoldm
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Feb 23, 2014

Really Bad

1st. room we were given was not cleaned.They gave us an up grade ground floor. Carpet was so dirty you could not walk on it without getting your feet dirty. There were wasps between the slider and screen found a wasp nest up in corner outside slider also there was a conduit with a live wire hanging out above slider. Reported the above to desk help but nothing was done.When we checked out requested a receipt they said that they only send email receipts, Very uncomfortable with this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eugene Flemm
Business
Dunedin, Florida
May 3, 2013

a Disappointment

I have stayed at this hotel before and had rated it "the feeling of old Florida," and while it still remains about the same, I did NOT appreciate having a heater that did not work and it was very cold (for Florida), in the 40s at night. Of course, they knew about it but, alas, did absolutely nothing. My room in the morning was in the 50s. So much for the "Feeling of old Florida." Perhaps old! too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The great museums of the Ringlings (art, circus, and the Ringling mansion), the Asolo Theater, the historic Asolo, and the campuses of both New College and the Univ. of South Florida, Sarasota, are all quite close There is also a fine Sarasota restaurant, "Barnacle Bills," just across the street, more or less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarasota deals
Business
Pompano Beach
Apr 22, 2013

Sarasota deals

Staff were very friendly. Cleanliness of room was fine but bathroom could have been cleaned better. I was only there for the night and just needed a bed to crash in and the price was great for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dudley Doo Wrong
Business
Finger Lakes, NYS
Mar 11, 2013

Great quiet place to sleep and good service

I arrived late - 10:30 so went right to bed not having time to use the pool, amenities, etc. The receptionist was very helpful in getting my luggage upstairs. There is no elevator and I am 65+ with 2 new knees. It was pleasant but I did not have time enough to get $104 worth. It is really for people who plan to spend several days there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

No elevator Close to beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fellow FL traveler
Business
Florida
Mar 5, 2013

Working Trip

Hotel was older but well kept. Bed firm which is good for back trouble. Shower handle need to be fixed but it was clean. Air worked. TV has very limited channels. Would stay again if in area. Greatest resturant is Yummy House down the road. Always a line waiting. Prices seemed high until food came. Really huge portions. Overall, had good time and would be back to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yummy House, Chineese Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Host Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
easyed20
Business
san diego, CA
Mar 4, 2013

Disgruntled eddie

A pedestrian room and tiny bathroom. Minimal comfort. Hotel lobby spacious and nicely decorated but breakfast offerings on cheap side. Would give this hotel a 1.5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top