$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

West Wind Inn

3 stars
3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
wonderful place to stay

They supplied plenty of information for things in the area, staff was super friendly, location was... See full review

  • Raelle
  • Aug 24, 2014
just perfect

staff exceptional room & view delightful pool and bartenders great convenient to shops, restaurants... See full review

  • PghPatty
  • Feb 21, 2014
Quiet and casual intimate Sanibel resort
The Westwind Inn is a laidback beachfront resort for guests who enjoy glorious sunsets and some of the world’s best shelling, but not the hubbub of giant resorts. Lodging Hospitality calls The Westwood Inn one of its Top 10 Performers, because it offers guests simple, yet comfortable rooms, a beachfront pool and family- friendly extras like free cribs and a wading pool. The Westwind Inn is a great resort for vacationers looking for easy R&R.
Highlights
  • Free use of hard surface tennis courts and loaner racquets
  • Free in-room Internet access, local calls and newspaper delivery
  • Shell cleaning hut
  • Heated beachfront pool
  • All non-smoking rooms

 

Rooms
The Westwind Inn’s 106 guest rooms and kitchenettes each feature screened balconies, large cable TVs with DVD players, irons and ironing boards, hair dryer and coffee maker. Guest rooms have a mini-fridge and microwave, while kitchenette units have a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. Choose from beachfront rooms or pool or garden view. All rooms at the Westwind Inn are non-smoking and baby cribs are free.
Features
Bathing suits are welcome at the Westwind Inn’s Upper Deck Pool Bar; the perfect place for lunch, cold drinks and sunset watching. The Normandie Seaside Café serves breakfast and lunch daily, plus dinner Fridays and Saturdays from November through May.
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (27 mi/43 km)
  • Free Parking
Attractions
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Beachview Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • The Dunes Golf Club (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, local calling
  • Small meeting room for up to 75

Hotel Map

26.4276 -82.1026
Area served
Sanibel/Captiva Islands, Fort Myers
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).
Area description
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Florida.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Wind Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

West Wind Inn Rooms

Standard
Room with one king bed or two double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes small refrigerator, microwave, coffee service, screened terrace/ balcony, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking
Efficiency
Rooms with 1 king bed or 2 double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes kitchenette: stove, refrigerator, microwave, a sink and utensils, screened terrace/ balcony with pool/garden view or Gulf view, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Upper Deck Pool Bar
The "Upper Deck" pool bar is open daily from 11:00 am - 8:00 pm. Limited restaurant luncheon menu from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. Happy hour with live music on Fridays from 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm. Full bar service available in pool bar and restaurant.
Normandie Seaside Cafe
The Normandie Seaside Cafe serves breakfast and lunch daily with a limited luncheon menu offered at the pool bar daily from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. During the months of November - May the Normandie also serves evening dinner on Friday and Saturday nights from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm. Full bar service available in restaurant and pool bar area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for West Wind Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
long branch NJ
Aug 6, 2009

great location in the right place

great place, had a family reunion, loved the views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boca Raton, FL
Jul 4, 2010

A great stay and wonderful time!

Decided to take some time off before the holiday and relax over on Sanibel. We had a great time and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, and went above and beyond to make sure we had a relaxing time. The only negative I could think of was the room size, but most of the hotels have similar rooms that size; so personally I don't think of it as a negative. When you are going to spend most of your time at the beach and pool...who really cares is you have a super large room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeland, FL
Jun 27, 2009

Wonderful Vacation!

I took my mother and 2 year old daughter to Sanibel for 2 nights. The hotel was great. It is very close to the water, so you don't have to carry your beach items very far. All you can hear is the ocean and the occasional child squealing with delight when they get to the beach. The staff was very friendly. We had requested a first floor room online due to my mother's disability, but weren't assigned one when we got there. The check-in clerk immediately fixed this and actually upgraded us to a room with a gulf view and kitchenette. The pool area was nice and it looks like every room has a good view. The room was clean and large. Perfect for our family get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a grocery store near by so you can buy food for the room if you decide not to go out to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sanibeler
New York, NY
Dec 12, 2010

It's good even in December

This is our third vacation at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

1. Jacaranda 2.Traders Cafe .Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raelle
Ohio
Aug 24, 2014

wonderful place to stay

They supplied plenty of information for things in the area, staff was super friendly, location was absolutely beautiful, pool bar was nice. Cons: Wish they had a hot tub, only restaurant is terribly expensive, and the sand fleas (basically think tiny tiny mosquitos that aren't mosquitos so dont carry all those diseases) were terrible; we got ate up and we only stayed one night. Maybe some bug spray would have taken care of it, though. Overall, wonderful place for the price (137/night), and we're considering a longer stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only food at the hotel is very pricey, and many nearby restaurants are too. Plan ahead for food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
david my super son
miami
Jul 19, 2011

the best trip

BEAUTIFUL, EXCELENT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 31, 2011

Sanibel

Staff was very pleasent. The hotel ammenities were on point, great location...rooms are clean. super weekend, will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to do many things...like nothing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murray, Utah (SLC area)
Jun 7, 2011

West Wind is a Win Win!

The staff at West Wind is great! Before arriving I had arranganged for a fruit & cheese basket to be in our room when we arrived! Very nice! Upon arrival we were upgraded to the full kitchenette, with a fridge, stove & microwave-thank you [...]! We ate at the Stone Crab that evening-yummy! The second day, when renting bikes(a must)-I told [...] that we were celebrating our 30 year anniversary, he then upgraded us to the Suite-kitchenette-beautiful ocean view, which had been newly remodeled! Thank You! Very well kept & clean place-it was nice to be able to buy food and cook or even BBQ if we wanted to- oh, and the beds are very comfortable! The location is the best on the island-central to the lighthouse and to Captiva(must go to Mucky Ducks for dinner there-delicious!) The beach is very nice too! Lots & lots of shells! Just a quick walkpath from the hotel! The pool area is nice & big and the water is the perfect temperature-delightful! The hotel is nice & quiet too! We rode bikes everywhere-to Baileys groceries, Jerry's grocery market & shops and even the lighthouse and all over-very fun! We would definately go back to the West Wind! The service is the best, location, location, location, the pool & the beach area-wonderful! Every review I have read on other travel sights rated this hotel very high [...] I read reviews & have always booked based on them! This was a very relaxing trip-book this hotel now- if you have any doubts about the other choices- you will be glad you did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a movie theater next to Bailey's Grocery store-nice to go when it gets hot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Older semi retired couple
Highland, Illinois
Jan 30, 2014

Very nice stay

Nicely kept property with a great location and understanding staff. There was one problem, but the night staff were able to adequately compensate. We would recommend the West Wind Inn to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Iowa City, IA
Dec 29, 2008

A home away from home

The location on the beach was a plus. The arrangement of the rooms gave much privacy. The small screened porch was a nice place to start and end the day. The Inn was quiet and perfect for families and couples who wanted a get-a-way without a noisy party atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the Inn had great breakfasts and served dinner on Friday and Saturdays. The dinner we had at the Inn was the best we had while on Sanibel Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Numerous eateries were within a short drive or even a walk for the more ambitious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search