$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

West Wind Inn

3 stars
3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
wonderful place to stay

They supplied plenty of information for things in the area, staff was super friendly, location was... See full review

  • Raelle
  • Aug 24, 2014
just perfect

staff exceptional room & view delightful pool and bartenders great convenient to shops, restaurants... See full review

  • PghPatty
  • Feb 21, 2014
Quiet and casual intimate Sanibel resort
The Westwind Inn is a laidback beachfront resort for guests who enjoy glorious sunsets and some of the world’s best shelling, but not the hubbub of giant resorts. Lodging Hospitality calls The Westwood Inn one of its Top 10 Performers, because it offers guests simple, yet comfortable rooms, a beachfront pool and family- friendly extras like free cribs and a wading pool. The Westwind Inn is a great resort for vacationers looking for easy R&R.
Highlights
  • Free use of hard surface tennis courts and loaner racquets
  • Free in-room Internet access, local calls and newspaper delivery
  • Shell cleaning hut
  • Heated beachfront pool
  • All non-smoking rooms

 

Rooms
The Westwind Inn’s 106 guest rooms and kitchenettes each feature screened balconies, large cable TVs with DVD players, irons and ironing boards, hair dryer and coffee maker. Guest rooms have a mini-fridge and microwave, while kitchenette units have a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. Choose from beachfront rooms or pool or garden view. All rooms at the Westwind Inn are non-smoking and baby cribs are free.
Features
Bathing suits are welcome at the Westwind Inn’s Upper Deck Pool Bar; the perfect place for lunch, cold drinks and sunset watching. The Normandie Seaside Café serves breakfast and lunch daily, plus dinner Fridays and Saturdays from November through May.
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (27 mi/43 km)
  • Free Parking
Attractions
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Beachview Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • The Dunes Golf Club (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, local calling
  • Small meeting room for up to 75

Hotel Map

26.4276 -82.1026
Area served
Sanibel/Captiva Islands, Fort Myers
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).
Area description
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Florida.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Wind Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

West Wind Inn Rooms

Standard
Room with one king bed or two double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes small refrigerator, microwave, coffee service, screened terrace/ balcony, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking
Efficiency
Rooms with 1 king bed or 2 double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes kitchenette: stove, refrigerator, microwave, a sink and utensils, screened terrace/ balcony with pool/garden view or Gulf view, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Upper Deck Pool Bar
The "Upper Deck" pool bar is open daily from 11:00 am - 8:00 pm. Limited restaurant luncheon menu from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. Happy hour with live music on Fridays from 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm. Full bar service available in pool bar and restaurant.
Normandie Seaside Cafe
The Normandie Seaside Cafe serves breakfast and lunch daily with a limited luncheon menu offered at the pool bar daily from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. During the months of November - May the Normandie also serves evening dinner on Friday and Saturday nights from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm. Full bar service available in restaurant and pool bar area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for West Wind Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Jun 21, 2011

Nice hotel, not a fan of the management

Overall a relaxing trip with my wife. Hotel is clean and pool area up kept well. E pool bar is also very nice. The only complaint I have, and it's a small one, is regarding the hospitality of management. At my hotels, any reasonable request us usually honored. At West Wind, I felt more as if I was just another guest and that there was no genuine concern regarding any potential request. Again, very nice hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank and Dee
Business
Cape Canaveral, FL
Jun 18, 2011

Awesome Weekend

My husband and I had planned a weekend for our 22nd wedding anniversary. The room was clean, comfortable and relaxing. There was nothing lacking in our room. A special thanks to "[...]" for the wine and for mailing my laptop power cord. I would recommend this property to anyone that is planning a weekend getaway. The beaches and pool area were beautiful. Can't wait to plan another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure that you go to Jerry's Market. It is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Augustine FL
Jun 12, 2011

Had a great time with kids

Went for a weekend with our 2 kids (~2 yrs and 8 yrs). The beach was at walkable distance from the room. They upgraded the room to one with kitchenette , which was very useful for us since we have a 23 months old. The beach has a lot of shells and they are available all the time. To get special ones, you should be lucky and get up in the early morning. Even if you don't get any special shells, early morning walks are very enjoyable (and I am not a morning person !).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jun 9, 2011

wonderful sanibel

We went in June which is the off season and we had a wonderful time. The beach was practically empty. The water was very warm and calm that my 14 month old and myself who is 27 weeks pregnant was able to be in the ocean playing for hours. The hotel was right on the beach, steps away from paradise. As we were swimming (on 2 separate occasions we saw a dolphin swim by about 15 feet away from us, very cool.) Very clean and very quiet. Perfect for a family getaway. I cant wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

check out the mucky duck for AWESOME sunset and dinner. Make reservations or show up and eat apps outside. Very family friendly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murray, Utah (SLC area)
Jun 7, 2011

West Wind is a Win Win!

The staff at West Wind is great! Before arriving I had arranganged for a fruit & cheese basket to be in our room when we arrived! Very nice! Upon arrival we were upgraded to the full kitchenette, with a fridge, stove & microwave-thank you [...]! We ate at the Stone Crab that evening-yummy! The second day, when renting bikes(a must)-I told [...] that we were celebrating our 30 year anniversary, he then upgraded us to the Suite-kitchenette-beautiful ocean view, which had been newly remodeled! Thank You! Very well kept & clean place-it was nice to be able to buy food and cook or even BBQ if we wanted to- oh, and the beds are very comfortable! The location is the best on the island-central to the lighthouse and to Captiva(must go to Mucky Ducks for dinner there-delicious!) The beach is very nice too! Lots & lots of shells! Just a quick walkpath from the hotel! The pool area is nice & big and the water is the perfect temperature-delightful! The hotel is nice & quiet too! We rode bikes everywhere-to Baileys groceries, Jerry's grocery market & shops and even the lighthouse and all over-very fun! We would definately go back to the West Wind! The service is the best, location, location, location, the pool & the beach area-wonderful! Every review I have read on other travel sights rated this hotel very high [...] I read reviews & have always booked based on them! This was a very relaxing trip-book this hotel now- if you have any doubts about the other choices- you will be glad you did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a movie theater next to Bailey's Grocery store-nice to go when it gets hot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami fl
Jun 7, 2011

great time

worth the price...good beachfront

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

doc fords

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 31, 2011

Sanibel

Staff was very pleasent. The hotel ammenities were on point, great location...rooms are clean. super weekend, will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to do many things...like nothing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robin Bobin
Business
Miami, FL
May 21, 2011

Perfect for the price

This was a spur of the moment getaway and the West Wind turned out to be a gem...perfect for the price!! The management was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and spacious and just steps from the beach. We shelled and swam in the ocean all day and then moved to the pool for happy hour and live music. We got up the next day and did it all over again. I'm just sorry that we couldn't stay longer. I will certainly return and recommend West Wind Inn for anyone looking for a simple, casual hotel for a relaxed getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On your way to the hotel, stop in town at the liquor store and market and stock the in-room refrigerator with what you might need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
May 21, 2011

westwind inn

Very clean room and friendly staff. The only thing was the tub did not drain very well. Nothing real fancy but every thing was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway People
Business
Rockville, MD
Apr 10, 2011

Great location, helpful staff

Location right on beech with gulf views couldn't be better. Also liked being away from the busy area of the island, but not too far. Rooms clean and spacious. Staff went out of their way. We were given a room on the end with one of the smaller gulf views but when we asked for a room with a better view we were moved to a great spot with no problem. Bikes available to rent, beech stuff too. on site grills; we cooked great fresh fish in the kitchenette and ate on screen porch. Pool was decent size, liked bar on deck above pool. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top