West Wind Inn

3 stars
3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
wonderful place to stay

They supplied plenty of information for things in the area, staff was super friendly, location was... See full review

  • Raelle
  • Aug 24, 2014
just perfect

staff exceptional room & view delightful pool and bartenders great convenient to shops, restaurants... See full review

  • PghPatty
  • Feb 21, 2014
Quiet and casual intimate Sanibel resort
The Westwind Inn is a laidback beachfront resort for guests who enjoy glorious sunsets and some of the world’s best shelling, but not the hubbub of giant resorts. Lodging Hospitality calls The Westwood Inn one of its Top 10 Performers, because it offers guests simple, yet comfortable rooms, a beachfront pool and family- friendly extras like free cribs and a wading pool. The Westwind Inn is a great resort for vacationers looking for easy R&R.
Highlights
  • Free use of hard surface tennis courts and loaner racquets
  • Free in-room Internet access, local calls and newspaper delivery
  • Shell cleaning hut
  • Heated beachfront pool
  • All non-smoking rooms

 

Rooms
The Westwind Inn’s 106 guest rooms and kitchenettes each feature screened balconies, large cable TVs with DVD players, irons and ironing boards, hair dryer and coffee maker. Guest rooms have a mini-fridge and microwave, while kitchenette units have a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. Choose from beachfront rooms or pool or garden view. All rooms at the Westwind Inn are non-smoking and baby cribs are free.
Features
Bathing suits are welcome at the Westwind Inn’s Upper Deck Pool Bar; the perfect place for lunch, cold drinks and sunset watching. The Normandie Seaside Café serves breakfast and lunch daily, plus dinner Fridays and Saturdays from November through May.
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (27 mi/43 km)
  • Free Parking
Attractions
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Beachview Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • The Dunes Golf Club (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, local calling
  • Small meeting room for up to 75

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Wind Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

West Wind Inn Rooms

Standard
Room with one king bed or two double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes small refrigerator, microwave, coffee service, screened terrace/ balcony, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking
Efficiency
Rooms with 1 king bed or 2 double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes kitchenette: stove, refrigerator, microwave, a sink and utensils, screened terrace/ balcony with pool/garden view or Gulf view, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Upper Deck Pool Bar
The "Upper Deck" pool bar is open daily from 11:00 am - 8:00 pm. Limited restaurant luncheon menu from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. Happy hour with live music on Fridays from 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm. Full bar service available in pool bar and restaurant.
Normandie Seaside Cafe
The Normandie Seaside Cafe serves breakfast and lunch daily with a limited luncheon menu offered at the pool bar daily from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. During the months of November - May the Normandie also serves evening dinner on Friday and Saturday nights from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm. Full bar service available in restaurant and pool bar area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for West Wind Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolmesFamilyofGC
Business
Granite City, Illinois
Jul 10, 2013

Peaceful relaxation...

The hotel is located on the Gulf of Mexico beach of Sanibel Island. The beach is within a short walk down the sandy path. It was a quiet stay, with no loud occupants. The room was clean and had what we needed for a week's stay. We always had enough towels, and the staff was friendly when passed along the balcony walks. It seemed that every window in the hotel allowed for a beautiful view of the beach and water, along with either a gorgeous view of the sunrise or a relaxing view of the sunset. We recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bailey's market is a short drive from the hotel. We purchased breakfast foods and snacks there instead of eating out all week, which could be quite expensive. Besides, the people working at Bailey's are extremely helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George and April
Business
Schererville, IN
Jun 16, 2013

Would Stay There Again

Location was great, close to the beach; staff was extremely friendly, and the food in the restaurant was terrific! Room was clean, but the bathroom was a little cramped. Bike rental on premises was convenient, and using the paths was the way to get around the island. Beautiful pool, and the Friday evening happy hour at the outdoor bar was enjoyable, with live entertainment. Wish the rooms had ceiling fans, but might be impractical to install. Overall, a very good value for the price. We will definitely stay there if we visit again, and will recommend the West Wind to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenZin
Business
Orlando Florida
May 28, 2013

Made for a long weekend full of fun!

The location to the beach is superb. The pool and it's deck was inviting and offered plenty of room. It was great to have towels provided at the pool and my son loved playing shuffleboard. The shell cleaning hut was super handy! The room was VERY comfortable and had a coffee pot for me :). I also loved the screened patio for enjoying and early morning cup of coffee. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc Ford's had good service and great food. The Island Cow was not so impressive :(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Froederick Frahnkenstien
Business
Roanoke, VA
Apr 9, 2013

Family spring break

We chose this hotel primarily because of its beachfront location and were very pleasantly surprised with everything about it. The location was just what we had hoped for. The guest rooms had been updated recently; they were in excellent condition and very clean. The staff were all quite courteous and helpful. We would happily stay there again on our next return to Sanibel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck and Sue
Business
Havertown, PA
Mar 30, 2013

Perfect location

Right on the beach, great view of the Gulf and easy access to restaurants and nature preserve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagledog
Business
Plymouth MI
Mar 27, 2013

Great Getaway.

We really enjoyed this place. The hotel is great for a relaxing visit to Sanibel. Right on the beach. Nice pool and just a few steps from the room (if you're on the ground floor). We loved the little screened in porches on each room. The pool bar was a fun place to watch the NCAA basketball games. We would definitely go back to the West Wind Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJSC
Business
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2013

Great location

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at West Wind. The location was perfect, on the beach with no hotels to the north. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the restaurant served delicious meals, and the pool was the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring. We would definitely stay at West Wind again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

don't make plans to leave Sanibel at 5:00. It took us an hour to get off of the island. Plan to go earlier or later. Probably best to ask at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Early morning riser
Business
Michigan
Mar 7, 2013

Brief break from reality

Great access to the beach, can't be beat. Easy enough to walk or bike to the grocery store and some restaurants. Rooms aren't anything special but really, who goes to Sanibel to stay in the room all day. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retirement Dream
Business
Frederick, Maryland
Feb 24, 2013

Beautiful Views

West Winds has a great location. Beach fantastic with many kinds of shells. Very relaxing. Bike paths throughout island made for great biking. Many great food choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Traders had great food & service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zock
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 2, 2013

Pleasant stay

My wife and I found the hotel was quiet in the evening. It was right on the beach which we enjoyed everyday. The staff was very helpful and catered to all our needs. Our intention is to return next year and stay an extra week. Sanibel Island is a wonderful place to escape from a hectic world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top