$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

West Wind Inn

3 stars
3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
102 reviews
wonderful place to stay

They supplied plenty of information for things in the area, staff was super friendly, location was... See full review

  • Raelle
  • Aug 24, 2014
just perfect

staff exceptional room & view delightful pool and bartenders great convenient to shops, restaurants... See full review

  • PghPatty
  • Feb 21, 2014
Quiet and casual intimate Sanibel resort
The Westwind Inn is a laidback beachfront resort for guests who enjoy glorious sunsets and some of the world’s best shelling, but not the hubbub of giant resorts. Lodging Hospitality calls The Westwood Inn one of its Top 10 Performers, because it offers guests simple, yet comfortable rooms, a beachfront pool and family- friendly extras like free cribs and a wading pool. The Westwind Inn is a great resort for vacationers looking for easy R&R.
Highlights
  • Free use of hard surface tennis courts and loaner racquets
  • Free in-room Internet access, local calls and newspaper delivery
  • Shell cleaning hut
  • Heated beachfront pool
  • All non-smoking rooms

 

Rooms
The Westwind Inn’s 106 guest rooms and kitchenettes each feature screened balconies, large cable TVs with DVD players, irons and ironing boards, hair dryer and coffee maker. Guest rooms have a mini-fridge and microwave, while kitchenette units have a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and utensils. Choose from beachfront rooms or pool or garden view. All rooms at the Westwind Inn are non-smoking and baby cribs are free.
Features
Bathing suits are welcome at the Westwind Inn’s Upper Deck Pool Bar; the perfect place for lunch, cold drinks and sunset watching. The Normandie Seaside Café serves breakfast and lunch daily, plus dinner Fridays and Saturdays from November through May.
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (27 mi/43 km)
  • Free Parking
Attractions
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Beachview Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • The Dunes Golf Club (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, local calling
  • Small meeting room for up to 75

Hotel Map

26.4276 -82.1026
Area served
Sanibel/Captiva Islands, Fort Myers
Nearby airports
Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW).
Area description
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Florida.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed West Wind Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

West Wind Inn Rooms

Standard
Room with one king bed or two double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes small refrigerator, microwave, coffee service, screened terrace/ balcony, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking
Efficiency
Rooms with 1 king bed or 2 double beds (bedding type is subject to availability) includes kitchenette: stove, refrigerator, microwave, a sink and utensils, screened terrace/ balcony with pool/garden view or Gulf view, cable TV/ DVD players, wireless internet access, in-room safe, full-size iron/ board, hairdryer and daily newspaper delivery. All guestrooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Upper Deck Pool Bar
The "Upper Deck" pool bar is open daily from 11:00 am - 8:00 pm. Limited restaurant luncheon menu from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. Happy hour with live music on Fridays from 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm. Full bar service available in pool bar and restaurant.
Normandie Seaside Cafe
The Normandie Seaside Cafe serves breakfast and lunch daily with a limited luncheon menu offered at the pool bar daily from 11:30 am - 2:00 pm. During the months of November - May the Normandie also serves evening dinner on Friday and Saturday nights from 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm. Full bar service available in restaurant and pool bar area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for West Wind Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarkandBarb
Georgetown, Ontario
May 16, 2012

A great place to stay.

Our daughter's wedding on Captiva was the highlight of our stay, but we really appreciated the quiet and serene setting as a welcome retreat. The staff was so friendly and were always eager to satisfy our requests. The restaurant was wonderful and the beach was terrific. We had a memorable stay and hope to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort is only a 5 minute drive to the best shopping areas on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pandora's dad
Business
sanibel island, florida
Mar 17, 2014

Relaxing getaway

From the beginning the staff was excellent. My info was never sent to them from O@$#^z but they accomodated us well. Everything was clean, and everything we needed was there on site. The grounds were well kept and access to beach was just a few steps away. Would recommend to anyone needing to get away and unwind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant onsite had excellent food and service. No need to drive if you don't want to

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martha Beach lover
Business
Farmington, Ct.
Feb 28, 2014

Relaxing get away

This was our second visit to West Wind Inn. We again found it to be truly relaxing. The location is perfect, being the last hotel located on West Gulf Dr. It is directly on the bike path, as well as directly on the beach. Lots of great beach combing for sea shells. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Would recommend Island Cow, Bubble Room in Captiva, and Gramma Dots for great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PghPatty
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Feb 21, 2014

just perfect

staff exceptional room & view delightful pool and bartenders great convenient to shops, restaurants and Captiva Island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cappa
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 17, 2014

Comfortable Stay

West Wind is not a top of the line resort "resort". It is, however, very comfortable with a beautiful pool, fun poolside bar, right on the ocean with a great beach and an OK on site restaurant. An older crowd stays there and they were very friendly and interesting. The staff was very nice and accomodating. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wish I was still there CA
Business
suburban Michigan
Feb 15, 2014

good beach access

Breakfasts at the hotel restaurant were wonderful There were just enough things in the small efficiency area to easily make a couple good lunches and one dinner. The staff was helpful in all respects - finding places to go , with aspirin , general advice. The room and small screen porch were quite adequate as one really wants to be outside most of the time -just enough not to miss more Dinner at the restaurant onsite was edible only -some great restaurants nearby for the same price but you have to get to the others by car in the dark and most other places are so busy there is a wait. Nearby grocery store - other stuff was easy to find - Beach was very nice and not crowded at all - pool was warm For just the two of us - it was good - for a larger party - the rooms would have been inadequate to hang around in a group. Happy that we went and nothing to be unhappy about overall all in all the value was there and we would go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The oldest grocery store is wonderful and if you need something more mundane that a tourist gizmo - it's there on the Island somewhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Older semi retired couple
Business
Highland, Illinois
Jan 30, 2014

Very nice stay

Nicely kept property with a great location and understanding staff. There was one problem, but the night staff were able to adequately compensate. We would recommend the West Wind Inn to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAMMLM
Business
FLORIDA
Jan 13, 2014

Short But Sweet!

Our room was on the corner so we had a view of the ocean and pool area...at an angle. Could hear the Friday night music from a distance which was nice. Sat. morning we took our coffee to chairs near the Gulf and read our free paper in perfect weather to start the day. Got lots of good info from the friendly front desk guy. Shelling was terrific on the beach. Had a comfy, relaxing, great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Terrific breakfast at Easy Over on Tarpon - great variety, reasonable prices, inside or outside dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Dayton by
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Aug 13, 2013

Disappointed...

We booked this hotel based off the reviews, website, photos & location. I'm sad to say, we were highly disappointed. We were given the wrong room on arrival & were moved to the appropriate room once we proved that we paid for the upgraded view. When we moved our belongings to the new room we were made to wait outside in the nearly 100* heat for 15 minutes while the room was under construction. The evening ended well, but we woke up to ants in the bathroom sink & centipede-like worms on the floor each morning. The restaurant only serves dinner certain months of the year and is somewhat pricey for the portions given. The DVD remote didn't work properly & when we asked to replace the remote after renting a movie at the local store to pass the time while it was storming, we were told to contact housekeeping the following morning because the front desk didn't have access to the closet they were in. The website is wonderfully done, but deceiving. The room was modern with a recent bathroom remodel that was nice, but the bathroom functionality was lacking; you can't open the door with a towel on the floor because there wasn't enough clearance & the shower door didn't stay closed, allowing water to spill all over the floor - hence the need for the towel. All in all, we were very disappointed with our stay & the lack of customer service we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheeseburger Cheeseburger is a fantastic place to grab a great burger!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeannie59
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 13, 2013

Great stay, wish I could have stayed longer!

I stayed off season (early August) and got a great package deal including airfare and car rental. The staff was welcoming and helpful with advice for dining and activities. I was upgraded to a room overlooking the beach, just steps away from the sandy shore and shell seeking. Chairs and umbrellas were available to use as well. Room was clean and comfortable, including a kitchen area with a refrigerator, microwave and stove. There was a shell cleaning area, pool, pool bar, tennis courts and a restaurant on site. Location was close to the causeway and free, close access to the beach couldn't be better. Also proximity to restaurants, ex. The Timbers - excellent chowder, Bowman's Beach, the J. N. Ding Darling Refuge, and the Sanibel Captiva Road (which I took for a boat trip to Useppa and for a great meal at the Green Flash restaurant). Wish I had more days to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of West Wind Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floridabeachgirl
Business
Florida
Aug 1, 2013

Great stay

Great room, beach, ammenities. Nice staff. Restaurant ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Key Lime Bistro excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top