$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 MIDDLE GULF DRIVE, SANIBEL, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 175.00, MI, NE; Tampa International, (TPA), 135.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 237
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabbMann
Nashville
Mar 20, 2014

No Holiday at the Holiday Inn

Stank room from smoking even though facility smoke free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleeingpolarvortexfamily
Western Wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

Beach great, landscape very cute, facilites lacking

Beautiful beach front and pool area but be prepared to walk. We paid for an upgrade to pool view room and ended up with a view of the bar roof which over-looks the pool. Our hair-dryer did not work and one of our sinks was clogged the entire stay. You will need a rental car unless you plan on eating at the hotel each night. The food was marginal. If you are looking for seclusion with minimal night-life, this is the place for you. Do not bring your elderly parents or anyone who has difficulty walking because all the eating facilities are quite a hike from the rooms/pool/beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean (apart from the clogged sink). Bring flip flops to walk on the beach. I did not think it was the best bargain but the beach was pretty darn nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Periwinkle drive (the main drag) is gridlock from about 11:30 to 5:30 pm. If you have any site-seeing adventures planned off the island, leave early.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan from FL
FL
Jun 30, 2013

Nice beach vacation

Swam at the beach and pool. We also went to Boman's Beach which had great shelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow was a great place to eat.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WendieRoth
Reisterstown, MD
May 12, 2013

Great Place to Stay in Sanibel

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island was excellent. Most of the front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful with any and all questions. The room was kept very clean, which is important to us. Beach chairs were readily available and we were lucky enough to get umbrellas (although, some folks had to go without). The grounds were beautiful with ponds, foliage, and hammocks on which to relax. We ate breakfast in the dining room and it was delicious! It was nice to have the poolside bar with snacks available. We'd love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiTravels
Sedalia, MO
Feb 24, 2013

Great place on the island!

The hotel is perfectly located with beach access and great place to relax with the beach chairs and umbrellas. They even offer outdoor games, a poolside bar and hammocks. The grounds are beautifully manicured and well kept. All staff members were very friendly and helpful. Having a refrigerator and microwave in our room helped us save on our food bill. We enjoyed one meal per day out and had snacks in the room for other meals. Bigger trash cans in the room would have been nice. The beds were hard on my back would be my only complaint, but even with that our stay was FABULOUS! We will certainly book another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bubble Room on Captiva Island (a short scenic drive) is well worth it. The food is delicious, especially the desserts. It's a great fun family atmosphere.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill jarrett
Farmington,ct.
Jan 13, 2013

enjoyed our stay

our stay at the holiday in was comfortable and convenient we loved the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
returned again
florida
Sep 5, 2012

ok

Some inexperience at front desk led to confusion regarding repeatadly requested room type and location. Situation resolved at last minute, BUT definately a moment of truth. Housekeepeing and location make for a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandtrap
Raleigh, NC
Aug 28, 2012

Great getaway

This was our fourth year staying at this hotel. The staff is very accommodating and happy to assist with any problems that may arise. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Sanibel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow has the best tuna melt I have ever eaten. Try it.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pharmboy95
Florida
Aug 8, 2012

Great stay!

A/C in the room was the only complaint, but it did finally keep it comfortable and it was the hottest part of the summer. Overall, great location and pleasant staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were rudely greeted at "She Sells Sea Shells" gift shop with the clerk telling us that they were closing in 15 minutes. We had called to check their closing time 30 minutes prior, I guess she wanted to close 45 minutes early.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven T
Virginia
Aug 3, 2012

great time

Hotel is great, location is prime. Best beach location for shells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top