$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabbMann
Business
Nashville
Mar 20, 2014

No Holiday at the Holiday Inn

Stank room from smoking even though facility smoke free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jan 5, 2008

moldy

we left after 10 minutes because my mother couldn't breathe given the musty and moldy smell. we were lucky we had other options that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 21, 2010

Weekend in Sanibel

I wanted to spend a wonderful weekend get away on the beach with my girlfriend before the weather cooled down. I shopped online for a good deal. We had stayed down the road at the Sundial before, and had very much fun. (The Sundial was only $10 more, so I was being cheap)! The Holiday Inn SUCKED! When we checked in on Friday night, the desk clerk would not give us a room with one single bed for just the 2 of us. He said, "You paid for twin beds online, so you get twin beds"! That was the start of a bad weekend at the Holiday Inn. The room was small and old and stuffy. Next time on our weekend get-away to Sanibel Island, I will pay the extra $10 and get a suite with a kitchen at the Sundial. I expected more from the Holiday Inn at the price I paid to stay on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I had the best dinner of my entire life at the Sanibel Steak house!!!! I highly recommend it! It is about 3 blocks away from the Holiday Inn on Periwinkle way. I looked at the menu at the restuarant at the Holiday Inn and OMG!!! (It is very very very expensive)! We had an eligant dinner at the Sanibel Steak House for 1/3 the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LiseV123
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jun 25, 2012

Awful Experience

Firstly, I could not understand the woman at the front desk at check in. While we attempted to check in early, she made no effort to find a room despite it being the onset of tropical storm debby. Then, when placed in a handicap room, I called the front desk around ten pm to inform them of a shower that would not drain, and a leaky shower head - for which I did not request maintenance, but was informing them for the next guest. At 8:20 am, there was a knock on the door, and it was opened as the man announced that he was maintenance - While my boyfriend and I were sleeping. Alarmed, we asked him to leave immediately - he claimed to have the wrong room despite our do not disturb sign. We left the hotel immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyinpa
Business
pa
Nov 3, 2013

rooms need updated

staff- very friendly outside appearance- very good rooms need updated- not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angie Shell Hunter
Business
Greenville,S.C
Nov 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Staff was great,rooms were clean.The price is a little high its not the Hilton.I guess its all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
Feb 9, 2011

Not Accommodating!

We were checked into a hotel room that was wheelchair accessible. No disrespect to the handicapped but everything for us was inconveniently lower to our stature. When asked to switch rooms we were moved to a smoking two queen bed room. This was supposed to be a romantic getaway (a birthday present nonetheless) and we did preferred one king bed in a non-smoking room. When we asked to be placed in a non-smoking room our final option was a room with two double beds. I thought these options were ridiculous. Room 1: a wheelchair room where everything was placed below my waistline and a handicap chair in the shower. Room 2: Reeked on smoke. Room 3: two double beds. NO OTHER OPTIONS NO RESPECT NO UNDERSTANDING. One particular front desk staff completely rude and had made a comment about the shower in the handicapped room being larger. IRRELEVANT! Overall, I was very displeased with the hotel. Not to mention the toilet was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

S.O.B. pub has the best Garlic Crab and an overall fun place. It is located in Fort Myers beach, Florida. You will have to drive there but can definitely make a day of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plant city fl
Aug 23, 2010

Musty Memories

Location was great - short walk to the beach. Was an ok value for an overnight stay. Probably the lowest cost room on the island. More expensive than most Holiday Inns. Small musty/mildew room with noisy AC and dehumidifier. We are still feeling sick from the room. No complimentary breakfast. We would definately NOT stay here again. Will fork out the extra for a better place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleeingpolarvortexfamily
Business
Western Wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

Beach great, landscape very cute, facilites lacking

Beautiful beach front and pool area but be prepared to walk. We paid for an upgrade to pool view room and ended up with a view of the bar roof which over-looks the pool. Our hair-dryer did not work and one of our sinks was clogged the entire stay. You will need a rental car unless you plan on eating at the hotel each night. The food was marginal. If you are looking for seclusion with minimal night-life, this is the place for you. Do not bring your elderly parents or anyone who has difficulty walking because all the eating facilities are quite a hike from the rooms/pool/beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean (apart from the clogged sink). Bring flip flops to walk on the beach. I did not think it was the best bargain but the beach was pretty darn nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Periwinkle drive (the main drag) is gridlock from about 11:30 to 5:30 pm. If you have any site-seeing adventures planned off the island, leave early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane Super Nana
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2014

Too expensive! Great restaurant!

Understanding that location (on Sanibel Island with beach access) and timing (Valentines Day weekend) determined the cost of the rooms here, the reality is that we spent a lot of money per night to stay in an "old style" Holiday Inn room with a view of the parking lot. They have done a great job of "updating" the facility, the staff were friendly and the pool area, Tiki Bar and beach were wonderful. During the 7 days we were there the in room wireless service seldom worked and although this was a "vacation", the reality is that now a days we rely on that service for our business needs even while on vacation. The staff were apologetic about the issue but I did not feel that they felt the same sense of urgency that I did about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great option on short notice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top