$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
FORT MYERS, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI; Captiva Island, (TPA), 135.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Feb 27, 2014

Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very accommodating to our needs. the restaurant on property is not great, but i'm not sure if it part of holiday inn. the bar & pool area is fantastic! we have stayed here 4 or 5 times & will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 22, 2007

Nice Hotel

The Holiday Inn In Sanibel was very nice. It was clean and the pool was nice. I do have two complaints. First, the beach at the hotel was covered with seaweed, so we had to go elsewhere to go to the beach. Second, we could not make it to the hotel for the first night because of a major storm in the northeast which closed the airport and changed our flight to the next day. We lost over $200 for this night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 29, 2007

Great Hotel on the Beach.....

This hotel was very nice and relaxing. Beautiful ocean view and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Oct 25, 2007

Excellent Hotel

The Holiday Inn on Sanibel Island is outstanding in every way. The staff was especially helpful and went out of their way to provide service and information. Truly, in all of my years traveling around the country, the Holiday Inn on Sanibel Island is the best I have experienced. The hotel was a bit pricey, but if any hotel is worth that price, this one was. It was excellent in every way!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinsville IN
Oct 4, 2009

Great getaway

My wife and I traveled to Sanibel Island for just a quick getaway and found the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island to be just the ticket. The location on the beach was wonderful, the staff courteous and friendly as well as informative of local restaurants, etc. Our room was clean and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend to others as well as return ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Timbers Restaurant on Tarpon Bay Road-delicious fish dishes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommasgirls
Business
NC mtns
Jun 24, 2010

Lov'in Sanibel

Very hot outside but the room was cool and great. Relaxing and clean. Lots to do and not crowded when we were there. Desk staff were helpful and nice. Would go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gardner
Business
Litchfield, CT
Feb 13, 2011

Perfect on Sanibel

I was extremely happy with the Holiday Inn. It was better than I expected it to be from the pictures online. I found it very relaxing, and the people who worked there were friendly, and helpful. If I had to come up with a negative, it would be that the rooms were somewhat dark. The only windows were facing the walkway, so people are walking by your windows to get to their rooms. This didn't bother me, as I was out enjoying myself, and seldom in the room. I had been trying to decide between this hotel, and a more expensive one down the beach. I chose this because of it's reviews, and was so grateful that I did every time that I walked by the ugly one down the beach. It had none of the charm of the Holiday inn. Lastly, I appreciated the washer/dryer, as I stayed a week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mopar Man
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Feb 8, 2012

great getaway spot

We stayed 2 Days and had a great time, The entire facility was spotless, and landscaped to the nines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

plenty of sights to see, can't be done in 2 days maybe 5 Days

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newspaper Guy
Business
Gaylord, MI
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect getaway for young families

We had a wonderful experience in Santibel Island, and a lot of was due to our hotel, the Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND. The beach was gorgeous! There were plenty of lounge chairs out in the morning, and the natural beauty just cannot be beat. We saw dolphins while we swam--yes, they came up that close! And we shelled along the beach. It was perfect! My husband and I took our 2 year old daughter, and we really created some really great memories for our family. It was the perfect place to go with a young family--everything is really quiet and peaceful. If you're looking for a party, go somewhere else. We weren't, so we were very happy when everything shut down rather early. My only recommendation is to rent a car. We almost didn't, and we would've missed out on a lot of fun if we hadn't. The hotel is on the water, and it has a pool, but it it is a little way off the main drag. Plus, we were able to drive through the Wild Life Preserve and over to Captiva Island because we had a car. Oh,and we went to two minor league games in Fort Myers, which were really a lot of fun! We love baseball, so it was fun to go to a game where we could really spread out and enjoy ourselves rather inexpensively because it's minor league rather than major league baseball. We definitely want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Kids eat free at the Holiday Inn, and the servers there are the best! The women are really friendly and make you feel like you've known them your whole life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pharmboy95
Business
Florida
Aug 8, 2012

Great stay!

A/C in the room was the only complaint, but it did finally keep it comfortable and it was the hottest part of the summer. Overall, great location and pleasant staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were rudely greeted at "She Sells Sea Shells" gift shop with the clerk telling us that they were closing in 15 minutes. We had called to check their closing time 30 minutes prior, I guess she wanted to close 45 minutes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top