$335 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Hotel Offers Family Fun Cross over the Sanibel Causeway, just west of Fort Myers, Florida, into paradise at the Holiday Inn® Sanibel Island Beach resort hotel. Here, guests relax beside the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico, relishing the sun, sand and stress-free environment of Sanibel Island. Our guests have all they need when they stay with us, from a great beach-front location near popular attractions, shopping and dining to the services and amenities that our hotel provides. Among Sanibel Island hotels, ours offers guests both a tropical beachfront haven and easy access to attractions such as Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum, DING Darling Wildlife Refuge and Sanibel Lighthouse. Other nearby points of interest include the Dunes and Beachview golf courses, as well as Sanibel Island Marina. Our hotel's facility is a great place to host small meetings, retreats or beachside weddings. We provide business travelers with copy and fax services, free high-speed Internet access and even catering, ensuring a stress-free stay. While on Sanibel Island, our hotel's guests enjoy prime amenities, including an outdoor pool, tennis courts, bike rentals and ping-pong. On-site dining options include the Star Bar and Starfish Grille Restaurant, which offers room service. And, our resort's gift shop, Sincerely Sanibel, offers souvenirs to help you remember your wonderful trip. We look forward to your visit!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pmckee
Business
Troy, IL
Nov 26, 2014

Quiet escape

We had a wonderful time here in Sanibel and loved riding our bikes through the beautiful community. We were a bit worried when it seemed our hotel was far away from others, but that made it even better. It was so quiet and the beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big 1 Daddy
Business
Chicago
Nov 18, 2014

very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raymond Vien
Business
St Louis, MO
Oct 18, 2014

mistake with reservation

we had a reservation for queen size beds, however we were only given a room with full size beds. We were only staying 4 nights but this made our sleeping arrangements somewhat uncomfortable. When we asked about this they said they would check in to what happened with the reservation . We were not given any compensation or discount for the mistake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great place for seafood what was a short drive on sanibel was called Cips place. wonderful local fresh catch !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reluctant traveler T
Business
Fairhaven, MA
Oct 17, 2014

Nice spot

we had a room overlooking the pool and beach, we enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rented a boat for the day on Captiva had a great time exploring,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amandalaurenxo
Business
Fort lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice

This hotel was right on the beach and had it's own tikki bar so it was very convenient to just sit and relax. I will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try going to fort myers for eating out because almost every restaurant on Sanibel is extremely expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AuntiNita
Business
Naples, Fl.
Aug 8, 2014

holiday

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to get to, and it was right on the beach. We had breakfast daily in the dining room. Better than most. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you come with children, there is a refrigerator and microwave in each room. That would be a big money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventure loving family
Business
Lenexa, KS
Aug 5, 2014

Long Family Weekend

The hotel was on the beach, which is what we wanted. The pool was nice and the tiki bar had a friendly staff. The hotel as a whole had very nice people working there. We were hoping for a little more for our money, but we were not disappointed at all. We knew we were getting a hotel room, not a suite! Great location central to all the activities on Sanibel and Captiva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All the restaurants we tried were very good around the hotel, and in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Crow
Business
Sanibel Islamd, Florida
Jul 27, 2014

Experience Island Time

The hotel grounds are lush and tropical with many flowering plants. The beautiful beach and its aqua water is a very short walk from the hotel complex. Staff was helpful and friendly. The tiki bar at the pool is a great place to take a beach break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Periwinkle Place shopping center has many unique stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colorado mike 8
Business
Denver
Jul 24, 2014

A nice place

This is a very nice hotel. The location is pretty ideal on the island. There are some nice little things..hammocks, an outdoor ping pong table. The rooms are nice. The price is reasonable for what you get. My one complaint is that the staff could have been friendlier. The front desk, the people taking care of the beach chairs and umbrellas, the restaurant staff, they could all just be a little nicer and act like they sort of like their jobs. There were a couple guys who were very helpful and friendly. A couple middle aged guys that seemed to have a job title of something like a property manager. I immediately noticed these few employees around the property who were very helpful with whatever little questions we had. I would recommend this hotel, just be selective in the staff you approach with questions or concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sray
Business
spring hill fl
Jul 14, 2014

weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fresh taquiera was a reasonably priced great tasting food restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top