$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 MIDDLE GULF DRIVE, SANIBEL, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 175.00, MI, NE; Tampa International, (TPA), 135.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 237
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sray
spring hill fl
Jul 14, 2014

weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fresh taquiera was a reasonably priced great tasting food restaurant.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maria valdes
miami, Florida
Jun 13, 2014

Fantastic

Since the day I arrived the employee were very pleased. The room was very comfortable and in overall I like it very much. Near the ocean and a very nice Tiky Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tiky Bar was a very pleasant place for drinks, near the pool and the ocean

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I had stayed longer
Tarpon Springs, FL
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic Place to Stay!

This hotel was immaculately clean, beds cozy, staff pleasant and helpful. Location great. this was one of the nicest vacations I have had. I saw several online reviews that complained that the bathrooms were small. We did not find this to be the case. Large double sink grooming area, great hot showers, lots of towels, no complaints. This hotel is beautifully landscaped, freshly painted, modern and all Florida. The restaurant food left a bit to be desired and the lobby coffee was dishwater, but there are tons of great cheap restaurants minutes away. Will return again and again. Short walk to the beach, chairs and towels provided free. Highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow was amazing, on Periwinkle Road, and the Easy Over Cafe, breakfast all day was terrific too! Both have good prices, real home cooked food, huge menus, guaranteed to please.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie S
Ocean City, NJ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Girlfriend Getaway

We went to Sanibel for a kid free/hubby free getaway. The Holiday Inn had the best value & the best location (according to reviews). We were not disappointed! The pool & pool bar were great & the beach was amazing! We didn't rent a car, so it was important that we were close to restaurants, etc. We were able to walk or ride a bike to many different places & getting a cab to Captiva was very easy. We had everything we needed & then some. I will definitely return to the Holiday Inn in Sanibel in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We went to Sanibel in February (during the week) and found that local bars & restaurants closed early. This did not affect us too much since we were there more for the beach & relaxation, but it's good to know in case you are looking for a happening nightlife location.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Jun 11, 2011

Heavenly Get-a-way

I love this place! It's our third year in a row to stay here. The Holiday Inn is great if you just want to spend your days on the beach and seeing the sights. We don't do the nightlife stuff, and not concerned about hot tubs and such, although, everything is just a short distance away. We come to Sanibel to decompress, strictly. We are only in the room to sleep and bathe. The rooms are beautiful, clean and the staff amazing. Ask for anything and they get it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Jun 11, 2011

Heavenly Get-a-way

I love this place! It's our third year in a row to stay here. The Holiday Inn is great if you just want to spend your days on the beach and seeing the sights. We don't do the nightlife stuff, and not concerned about hot tubs and such, although, everything is just a short distance away. We come to Sanibel to decompress, strictly. We are only in the room to sleep and bathe. The rooms are beautiful, clean and the staff amazing. Ask for anything and they get it for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Apr 3, 2011

Excellent spring break

Perfect location, just steps from the beach, lovely landscaping. Hotel staff very friendly, knowledgeable about local places. Beach chairs on the beach a nice plus. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wildlife refuge worth seeing.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Apr 3, 2011

Excellent spring break

Perfect location, just steps from the beach, lovely landscaping. Hotel staff very friendly, knowledgeable about local places. Beach chairs on the beach a nice plus. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wildlife refuge worth seeing.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Port, FL
Oct 3, 2010

Very happy with choice

We had a great time, the staff was wonderful! Can't wait to go back! Only thing that could have been better would have been if the restaurant attached was a little better, but dinning at other locations was close enough that it was not a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top