$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pharmboy95
Business
Florida
Aug 8, 2012

Great stay!

A/C in the room was the only complaint, but it did finally keep it comfortable and it was the hottest part of the summer. Overall, great location and pleasant staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were rudely greeted at "She Sells Sea Shells" gift shop with the clerk telling us that they were closing in 15 minutes. We had called to check their closing time 30 minutes prior, I guess she wanted to close 45 minutes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven T
Business
Virginia
Aug 3, 2012

great time

Hotel is great, location is prime. Best beach location for shells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Straw from Witchita
Business
Blue Grass, IA
Jul 7, 2012

Perfect

Tried to stay out of hotel as much as possible but it was very relaxing when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LiseV123
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Jun 25, 2012

Awful Experience

Firstly, I could not understand the woman at the front desk at check in. While we attempted to check in early, she made no effort to find a room despite it being the onset of tropical storm debby. Then, when placed in a handicap room, I called the front desk around ten pm to inform them of a shower that would not drain, and a leaky shower head - for which I did not request maintenance, but was informing them for the next guest. At 8:20 am, there was a knock on the door, and it was opened as the man announced that he was maintenance - While my boyfriend and I were sleeping. Alarmed, we asked him to leave immediately - he claimed to have the wrong room despite our do not disturb sign. We left the hotel immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerry with Teen Kids
Business
Chevy Chase, MD
Jun 22, 2012

Very satisfied

Way above expectations for a national chain -- much more like a boutique hotel. Easy access to a very pleasant beach. Inexpensive bicycle rentals from the hotel and bikes are a good way to get exercise on the well maintained bike paths that go all over the island. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are average size with a small but not a mini-fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you ejoy small museums with local history and local culture both the Sanibel Historical Museum and the Shell Museum can provide a diverting alternative when it is raining or you've had too much sun. One-two hours adequate at each place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newspaper Guy
Business
Gaylord, MI
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect getaway for young families

We had a wonderful experience in Santibel Island, and a lot of was due to our hotel, the Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND. The beach was gorgeous! There were plenty of lounge chairs out in the morning, and the natural beauty just cannot be beat. We saw dolphins while we swam--yes, they came up that close! And we shelled along the beach. It was perfect! My husband and I took our 2 year old daughter, and we really created some really great memories for our family. It was the perfect place to go with a young family--everything is really quiet and peaceful. If you're looking for a party, go somewhere else. We weren't, so we were very happy when everything shut down rather early. My only recommendation is to rent a car. We almost didn't, and we would've missed out on a lot of fun if we hadn't. The hotel is on the water, and it has a pool, but it it is a little way off the main drag. Plus, we were able to drive through the Wild Life Preserve and over to Captiva Island because we had a car. Oh,and we went to two minor league games in Fort Myers, which were really a lot of fun! We love baseball, so it was fun to go to a game where we could really spread out and enjoy ourselves rather inexpensively because it's minor league rather than major league baseball. We definitely want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Kids eat free at the Holiday Inn, and the servers there are the best! The women are really friendly and make you feel like you've known them your whole life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fla BBall Mom
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jun 12, 2012

Good Value and location!

Nice location. Pool a bit small compaired to pictures. Good beach front property. Rooms do not offer a great view. Overall a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jun 8, 2012

Good access to the ocean

Clean hotel, but with more of a "motel" feel. Could use some updating. Easy to find and central to many things on the island. Nice pool, and they offer chaise lounges to bring down to the beach. Would certainly recommend this hotel to the person not looking for a 5-star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great access to the beach and all the seashells!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larry Super Traveler
Business
Chattanooga, Tennessee
May 28, 2012

Summertime Getaway

I found the location of the facility (on the beach) to be very pleasing and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Sanibel, but would probably not return. We prefer the white sand beaches of Destin and Seaside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GTFT
Business
Pennsylvania
May 11, 2012

Very pleased!

Hotel location is great. Very nice pool with Tiki Bar and only about 50 yds from the beach. Hotel rooms are somewhat dated but very clean and comfortable. We lucked out with great weather which always helps! I would like to see this hotel add a small business center so we could at least print out boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good restaurants within a short drive. Prices are fair with good quality and portion size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top