$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 MIDDLE GULF DRIVE, SANIBEL, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI, E; Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 175.00, MI, NE; Tampa International, (TPA), 135.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
806shadow
phila
Apr 23, 2012

a vacation to relax

the holiday inn at sanibel island was very clean and the staff was helpful with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellie12
Edina MN
Apr 3, 2012

Location, Location, Location...

The HI Sanibel is no better than your average hotel room. However, the location, the beach and pool with Tiki Bar make it worth it. The staff was the very accomidating and extremely helpfull, that staff was second to none as far as hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the mini fridge to hold enough food for breakfast and lunch, saves a ton of money so you can go hit the nice spots for dinner.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. H
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Great place to stay

Greatly enjoyed my stay here. They made it very easy to relax- provided beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capiolie
Texas, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Perfect location, decent hotel

Check-in was odd and overly complicated. Not sure if it was a new staff member or what, but due to the ** online booking, staff member wasn't sure if it had been properly paid for. Took longer than should have to check in. Besides that, LOVED the location... pool was lovely to use, beach was fun and chairs were provided; all in all a nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

All there is to do/see in Sanibel is off of Periwinkle Drive. Plan on driving from the hotel to any destination. However, they do offer bicycles for rent from the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy G
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Great location, beautiful beach!

Resort was beautiful! The beach was incredible! However, the room was average and rather small. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was less than comfortable and there was no closet in the room. The Tiki Bar closed at 6:00PM and many patrons would have stayed much later. Because this is peak season, it would have been nice if the bar stayed open until at least 8:00. Overall, it was a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Muffin
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Perfect winter break

We just returned from a wonderful vacation on Sanibel Island and had a great stay at the Holiday Inn. The location was perfect - right on the beach! The sandy pathway to the beach was literally around the corner from our room. Nice little swimming pool too that my kids took full advantage of :) Super friendly staff (particularly in the restaurant) and very comfortable beds. I would say the only downside is the carpet in our room was in serious need of a deep clean. We kept our flip flops on in the room at all times...it was pretty gross. But that is a minor flaw in a lovely, gulf front hotel - we'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Going out to eat on Sanibel can get pretty expensive (especially with little kids) and we racked up a few hefty restaurant tabs early on in our trip. We ended up going to Jerry's grocery store and getting a whole bunch of cold cuts, cheese, fruit, etc. to make picnics to take to the beach or eat by the pool. We saved a ton of money that way.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie S
Ocean City, NJ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Girlfriend Getaway

We went to Sanibel for a kid free/hubby free getaway. The Holiday Inn had the best value & the best location (according to reviews). We were not disappointed! The pool & pool bar were great & the beach was amazing! We didn't rent a car, so it was important that we were close to restaurants, etc. We were able to walk or ride a bike to many different places & getting a cab to Captiva was very easy. We had everything we needed & then some. I will definitely return to the Holiday Inn in Sanibel in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We went to Sanibel in February (during the week) and found that local bars & restaurants closed early. This did not affect us too much since we were there more for the beach & relaxation, but it's good to know in case you are looking for a happening nightlife location.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mopar Man
Dayton, OH, USA
Feb 8, 2012

great getaway spot

We stayed 2 Days and had a great time, The entire facility was spotless, and landscaped to the nines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

plenty of sights to see, can't be done in 2 days maybe 5 Days

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzy Librarian
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Affordable and Beautiful!

This was our third stay at the Sanibel Holiday Inn and it was wonderful. The only hotel chain on the island, it definitely doesn't look like your typical Holiday Inn--it has been decorated with the Island Look, from the coral/turquoise colors to the many cute fountains spread throughout the property. The rooms are standard motel rooms, with a frig, microwave, and cute Island Decor. The pool area is not spectacular, but just fine, with a great Tiki Bar and raised deck that gives you a view of the Gulf. The grounds are very nice, containing palm trees, hammocks, ping pong table, and lots of lounge chairs that you can take to the beach, which is only about 20 feet away! There is also a small lobby store which carries beach stuff, t-shirts, ice cream snacks, and some souvenirs, including very lovely, homemade beach bags and purses. I have bought one of these the last two times I stayed. Since there are so many great places to eat on the island, we usually don't eat at the on site restaurant, but it seemed to be occupied every night. You can rent bikes there, too, which is nice, since everyone bikes everywhere on the island. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a great value and great location. We definitely will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jacaranda is the only place with live music, dancing and drinks on Sanibel, and it's fun, lively and worth checking out! The restaurant is very good, too.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ssb01
southeast michigan
Jan 10, 2012

one nighter

we came for the sunset and sunrise and could not have been happier with both. the beach is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top