$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Hotel Offers Family Fun Cross over the Sanibel Causeway, just west of Fort Myers, Florida, into paradise at the Holiday Inn® Sanibel Island Beach resort hotel. Here, guests relax beside the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico, relishing the sun, sand and stress-free environment of Sanibel Island. Our guests have all they need when they stay with us, from a great beach-front location near popular attractions, shopping and dining to the services and amenities that our hotel provides. Among Sanibel Island hotels, ours offers guests both a tropical beachfront haven and easy access to attractions such as Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum, DING Darling Wildlife Refuge and Sanibel Lighthouse. Other nearby points of interest include the Dunes and Beachview golf courses, as well as Sanibel Island Marina. Our hotel's facility is a great place to host small meetings, retreats or beachside weddings. We provide business travelers with copy and fax services, free high-speed Internet access and even catering, ensuring a stress-free stay. While on Sanibel Island, our hotel's guests enjoy prime amenities, including an outdoor pool, tennis courts, bike rentals and ping-pong. On-site dining options include the Star Bar and Starfish Grille Restaurant, which offers room service. And, our resort's gift shop, Sincerely Sanibel, offers souvenirs to help you remember your wonderful trip. We look forward to your visit!

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
FORT MYERS, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI; Captiva Island, (TPA), 135.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerry with Teen Kids
Business
Chevy Chase, MD
Jun 22, 2012

Very satisfied

Way above expectations for a national chain -- much more like a boutique hotel. Easy access to a very pleasant beach. Inexpensive bicycle rentals from the hotel and bikes are a good way to get exercise on the well maintained bike paths that go all over the island. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are average size with a small but not a mini-fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you ejoy small museums with local history and local culture both the Sanibel Historical Museum and the Shell Museum can provide a diverting alternative when it is raining or you've had too much sun. One-two hours adequate at each place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newspaper Guy
Business
Gaylord, MI
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect getaway for young families

We had a wonderful experience in Santibel Island, and a lot of was due to our hotel, the Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND. The beach was gorgeous! There were plenty of lounge chairs out in the morning, and the natural beauty just cannot be beat. We saw dolphins while we swam--yes, they came up that close! And we shelled along the beach. It was perfect! My husband and I took our 2 year old daughter, and we really created some really great memories for our family. It was the perfect place to go with a young family--everything is really quiet and peaceful. If you're looking for a party, go somewhere else. We weren't, so we were very happy when everything shut down rather early. My only recommendation is to rent a car. We almost didn't, and we would've missed out on a lot of fun if we hadn't. The hotel is on the water, and it has a pool, but it it is a little way off the main drag. Plus, we were able to drive through the Wild Life Preserve and over to Captiva Island because we had a car. Oh,and we went to two minor league games in Fort Myers, which were really a lot of fun! We love baseball, so it was fun to go to a game where we could really spread out and enjoy ourselves rather inexpensively because it's minor league rather than major league baseball. We definitely want to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Kids eat free at the Holiday Inn, and the servers there are the best! The women are really friendly and make you feel like you've known them your whole life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fla BBall Mom
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jun 12, 2012

Good Value and location!

Nice location. Pool a bit small compaired to pictures. Good beach front property. Rooms do not offer a great view. Overall a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jun 8, 2012

Good access to the ocean

Clean hotel, but with more of a "motel" feel. Could use some updating. Easy to find and central to many things on the island. Nice pool, and they offer chaise lounges to bring down to the beach. Would certainly recommend this hotel to the person not looking for a 5-star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great access to the beach and all the seashells!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larry Super Traveler
Business
Chattanooga, Tennessee
May 28, 2012

Summertime Getaway

I found the location of the facility (on the beach) to be very pleasing and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Sanibel, but would probably not return. We prefer the white sand beaches of Destin and Seaside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GTFT
Business
Pennsylvania
May 11, 2012

Very pleased!

Hotel location is great. Very nice pool with Tiki Bar and only about 50 yds from the beach. Hotel rooms are somewhat dated but very clean and comfortable. We lucked out with great weather which always helps! I would like to see this hotel add a small business center so we could at least print out boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good restaurants within a short drive. Prices are fair with good quality and portion size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super sheller
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Apr 30, 2012

great weekend sanity saver!

Super location,excellent staff! Will do it again using this location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI Honeymooners
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Florida Honeymoon

We booked this hotel on a friend's recommendation. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We only have a few complaints; there was some construction going on next door, so hammering started right away in the morning (couldn't be helped). The tiki bar at this hotel was nice, not very big (not enough seating at times) and was only open until 6pm. We would have like it to stay open longer so we could have enjoyed a cocktail after a day of sightseeing. We loved that this hotel was right on the beach and that the staff set out lounge chairs every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the boat trips around the island. We took a sunset dolphin cruise. The company picked us up in front of the hotel for free and brought us back after. Worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
806shadow
Business
phila
Apr 23, 2012

a vacation to relax

the holiday inn at sanibel island was very clean and the staff was helpful with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellie12
Business
Edina MN
Apr 3, 2012

Location, Location, Location...

The HI Sanibel is no better than your average hotel room. However, the location, the beach and pool with Tiki Bar make it worth it. The staff was the very accomidating and extremely helpfull, that staff was second to none as far as hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the mini fridge to hold enough food for breakfast and lunch, saves a ton of money so you can go hit the nice spots for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top