$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I had stayed longer
Tarpon Springs, FL
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic Place to Stay!

This hotel was immaculately clean, beds cozy, staff pleasant and helpful. Location great. this was one of the nicest vacations I have had. I saw several online reviews that complained that the bathrooms were small. We did not find this to be the case. Large double sink grooming area, great hot showers, lots of towels, no complaints. This hotel is beautifully landscaped, freshly painted, modern and all Florida. The restaurant food left a bit to be desired and the lobby coffee was dishwater, but there are tons of great cheap restaurants minutes away. Will return again and again. Short walk to the beach, chairs and towels provided free. Highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow was amazing, on Periwinkle Road, and the Easy Over Cafe, breakfast all day was terrific too! Both have good prices, real home cooked food, huge menus, guaranteed to please.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane Super Nana
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2014

Too expensive! Great restaurant!

Understanding that location (on Sanibel Island with beach access) and timing (Valentines Day weekend) determined the cost of the rooms here, the reality is that we spent a lot of money per night to stay in an "old style" Holiday Inn room with a view of the parking lot. They have done a great job of "updating" the facility, the staff were friendly and the pool area, Tiki Bar and beach were wonderful. During the 7 days we were there the in room wireless service seldom worked and although this was a "vacation", the reality is that now a days we rely on that service for our business needs even while on vacation. The staff were apologetic about the issue but I did not feel that they felt the same sense of urgency that I did about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great option on short notice.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleeingpolarvortexfamily
Business
Western Wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

Beach great, landscape very cute, facilites lacking

Beautiful beach front and pool area but be prepared to walk. We paid for an upgrade to pool view room and ended up with a view of the bar roof which over-looks the pool. Our hair-dryer did not work and one of our sinks was clogged the entire stay. You will need a rental car unless you plan on eating at the hotel each night. The food was marginal. If you are looking for seclusion with minimal night-life, this is the place for you. Do not bring your elderly parents or anyone who has difficulty walking because all the eating facilities are quite a hike from the rooms/pool/beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean (apart from the clogged sink). Bring flip flops to walk on the beach. I did not think it was the best bargain but the beach was pretty darn nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Periwinkle drive (the main drag) is gridlock from about 11:30 to 5:30 pm. If you have any site-seeing adventures planned off the island, leave early.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angie Shell Hunter
Business
Greenville,S.C
Nov 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Staff was great,rooms were clean.The price is a little high its not the Hilton.I guess its all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Willey
Business
Fort Pierce, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Great vacation

We had stayed at this location about 6 weeks ago and liked it so much that we came back for my birthday weekend and wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn. It would be nice if the rooms were larger. That is my onloy complaing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are eating breakfast at the hotel, go as early as possible.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyinpa
Business
pa
Nov 3, 2013

rooms need updated

staff- very friendly outside appearance- very good rooms need updated- not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Sep 1, 2013

Getaway

always great, pool was to hot on hot summer days, rooms were great, staff was friendly and helpful, location is perfect a few steps from pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc Fords Rum Bar great atmosphere great food and drinks also George and Wendy's great food and drinks

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan from FL
Business
FL
Jun 30, 2013

Nice beach vacation

Swam at the beach and pool. We also went to Boman's Beach which had great shelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow was a great place to eat.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RETIREMENT ROCKS
Business
EASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
May 25, 2013

RELAXING SANIBEL

FIRST TIME STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN IN SANIBEL. WAS A VERY NICE AND RELAXING EXPERIENCE. POOL WAS NOT CROWDED AND POOL BAR AND GRILL VERY ACCOMODATING. BEACH HAD COMPLIMENTARY LOUNGE CHAIRS AND UMBRELLAS. ROOM WAS CLEAN AND BED WAS COMFORTABLE, HAD LARGE FLAT SCREEN TV. HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MOST RESTAURANTS ARE A SHORT DRIVE AND ALL WE DINED AT WERE VERY GOOD, BOTH IN SANIBEL AND CAPTIVIA.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shell collector
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Fun in the sun on Sanibel Island

Excellent, I would go back to this hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great restaurant and great pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must rent a car, too far to walk to anything.

Back to menu Return to top