Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
150 reviews
Anniversary getaway

This was our 2nd time to spend an anniversary at HI Sanibel. The beach there is perfect...trash... See full review

  • Jean P.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Fantastic:)

Perfect location, highly recommend! Friendly staff! Nice restaurant and Tiki Bar. See full review

  • lg
  • Mar 14, 2015
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Nearby attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI, E; Tampa International, (TPA), 135.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piƱa coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Feb 27, 2014

Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very accommodating to our needs. the restaurant on property is not great, but i'm not sure if it part of holiday inn. the bar & pool area is fantastic! we have stayed here 4 or 5 times & will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane Super Nana
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2014

Too expensive! Great restaurant!

Understanding that location (on Sanibel Island with beach access) and timing (Valentines Day weekend) determined the cost of the rooms here, the reality is that we spent a lot of money per night to stay in an "old style" Holiday Inn room with a view of the parking lot. They have done a great job of "updating" the facility, the staff were friendly and the pool area, Tiki Bar and beach were wonderful. During the 7 days we were there the in room wireless service seldom worked and although this was a "vacation", the reality is that now a days we rely on that service for our business needs even while on vacation. The staff were apologetic about the issue but I did not feel that they felt the same sense of urgency that I did about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great option on short notice.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angie Shell Hunter
Business
Greenville,S.C
Nov 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Staff was great,rooms were clean.The price is a little high its not the Hilton.I guess its all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Willey
Business
Fort Pierce, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Great vacation

We had stayed at this location about 6 weeks ago and liked it so much that we came back for my birthday weekend and wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn. It would be nice if the rooms were larger. That is my onloy complaing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are eating breakfast at the hotel, go as early as possible.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyinpa
Business
pa
Nov 3, 2013

rooms need updated

staff- very friendly outside appearance- very good rooms need updated- not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Sep 1, 2013

Getaway

always great, pool was to hot on hot summer days, rooms were great, staff was friendly and helpful, location is perfect a few steps from pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc Fords Rum Bar great atmosphere great food and drinks also George and Wendy's great food and drinks

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan from FL
Business
FL
Jun 30, 2013

Nice beach vacation

Swam at the beach and pool. We also went to Boman's Beach which had great shelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow was a great place to eat.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RETIREMENT ROCKS
Business
EASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
May 25, 2013

RELAXING SANIBEL

FIRST TIME STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN IN SANIBEL. WAS A VERY NICE AND RELAXING EXPERIENCE. POOL WAS NOT CROWDED AND POOL BAR AND GRILL VERY ACCOMODATING. BEACH HAD COMPLIMENTARY LOUNGE CHAIRS AND UMBRELLAS. ROOM WAS CLEAN AND BED WAS COMFORTABLE, HAD LARGE FLAT SCREEN TV. HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MOST RESTAURANTS ARE A SHORT DRIVE AND ALL WE DINED AT WERE VERY GOOD, BOTH IN SANIBEL AND CAPTIVIA.

Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shell collector
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Fun in the sun on Sanibel Island

Excellent, I would go back to this hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great restaurant and great pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must rent a car, too far to walk to anything.

Back to menu Return to top