$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Sep 1, 2013

Getaway

always great, pool was to hot on hot summer days, rooms were great, staff was friendly and helpful, location is perfect a few steps from pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc Fords Rum Bar great atmosphere great food and drinks also George and Wendy's great food and drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan from FL
Business
FL
Jun 30, 2013

Nice beach vacation

Swam at the beach and pool. We also went to Boman's Beach which had great shelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow was a great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RETIREMENT ROCKS
Business
EASTERN PENNSYLVANIA
May 25, 2013

RELAXING SANIBEL

FIRST TIME STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN IN SANIBEL. WAS A VERY NICE AND RELAXING EXPERIENCE. POOL WAS NOT CROWDED AND POOL BAR AND GRILL VERY ACCOMODATING. BEACH HAD COMPLIMENTARY LOUNGE CHAIRS AND UMBRELLAS. ROOM WAS CLEAN AND BED WAS COMFORTABLE, HAD LARGE FLAT SCREEN TV. HAD A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MOST RESTAURANTS ARE A SHORT DRIVE AND ALL WE DINED AT WERE VERY GOOD, BOTH IN SANIBEL AND CAPTIVIA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shell collector
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Fun in the sun on Sanibel Island

Excellent, I would go back to this hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great restaurant and great pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must rent a car, too far to walk to anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missing Sanibel
Business
Illinois
May 18, 2013

Awesome location!

We have stayed at The Holiday Inn three separate times, all for a week each stay. The hotel's location is perfect! Our one and only complaint in three years was the front desk lady, Claudia. She was very rude to us. The rest of the staff is super friendly from the other front desk people, to groundskeepers and beach crew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WendieRoth
Business
Reisterstown, MD
May 12, 2013

Great Place to Stay in Sanibel

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island was excellent. Most of the front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful with any and all questions. The room was kept very clean, which is important to us. Beach chairs were readily available and we were lucky enough to get umbrellas (although, some folks had to go without). The grounds were beautiful with ponds, foliage, and hammocks on which to relax. We ate breakfast in the dining room and it was delicious! It was nice to have the poolside bar with snacks available. We'd love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erstwhile Islander
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 26, 2013

Repeater !

My wife and I have stayed for a long weekend in February at the Holiday Inn Sanibel for 5 years running . Last year we were promised that they would be doing some upgrades, and that was evident. Proximity to the beach, an improved pool bar and restaurant, and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff, many of whom have been there for all 5 years, make this a perfect spot on this idyllic island. We hope to return in 2014 !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiTravels
Business
Sedalia, MO
Feb 24, 2013

Great place on the island!

The hotel is perfectly located with beach access and great place to relax with the beach chairs and umbrellas. They even offer outdoor games, a poolside bar and hammocks. The grounds are beautifully manicured and well kept. All staff members were very friendly and helpful. Having a refrigerator and microwave in our room helped us save on our food bill. We enjoyed one meal per day out and had snacks in the room for other meals. Bigger trash cans in the room would have been nice. The beds were hard on my back would be my only complaint, but even with that our stay was FABULOUS! We will certainly book another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bubble Room on Captiva Island (a short scenic drive) is well worth it. The food is delicious, especially the desserts. It's a great fun family atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy 50th
Business
Ohio
Jan 20, 2013

Relaxing getaway

Enjoyed shelling and soaking up the sun. Hotel was close to the beach and staff was very accommodating. Nice winter getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed dining at George & Wendy's Seafood Grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top