$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
158 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
FORT MYERS, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI; Captiva Island, (TPA), 135.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Proud Father
Cleveland, OH
Sep 28, 2012

Relaxing, Great Dining, Wonderful Beach Experience

We have visited Sanibel many times before and as always our vacations including this one have always been great. I would recommend Hotel and Dining for anyone wanting a quick getaway for relaxation and escape from busy everyday routine. Only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yaya sasha
Business
Minnesota
Mar 6, 2014

Beach Perfect

Relaxing hotel on beach. Pretty and friendly. Restaurant good food. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Feb 27, 2014

Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very accommodating to our needs. the restaurant on property is not great, but i'm not sure if it part of holiday inn. the bar & pool area is fantastic! we have stayed here 4 or 5 times & will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane Super Nana
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2014

Too expensive! Great restaurant!

Understanding that location (on Sanibel Island with beach access) and timing (Valentines Day weekend) determined the cost of the rooms here, the reality is that we spent a lot of money per night to stay in an "old style" Holiday Inn room with a view of the parking lot. They have done a great job of "updating" the facility, the staff were friendly and the pool area, Tiki Bar and beach were wonderful. During the 7 days we were there the in room wireless service seldom worked and although this was a "vacation", the reality is that now a days we rely on that service for our business needs even while on vacation. The staff were apologetic about the issue but I did not feel that they felt the same sense of urgency that I did about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great option on short notice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleeingpolarvortexfamily
Business
Western Wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

Beach great, landscape very cute, facilites lacking

Beautiful beach front and pool area but be prepared to walk. We paid for an upgrade to pool view room and ended up with a view of the bar roof which over-looks the pool. Our hair-dryer did not work and one of our sinks was clogged the entire stay. You will need a rental car unless you plan on eating at the hotel each night. The food was marginal. If you are looking for seclusion with minimal night-life, this is the place for you. Do not bring your elderly parents or anyone who has difficulty walking because all the eating facilities are quite a hike from the rooms/pool/beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean (apart from the clogged sink). Bring flip flops to walk on the beach. I did not think it was the best bargain but the beach was pretty darn nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Periwinkle drive (the main drag) is gridlock from about 11:30 to 5:30 pm. If you have any site-seeing adventures planned off the island, leave early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angie Shell Hunter
Business
Greenville,S.C
Nov 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Staff was great,rooms were clean.The price is a little high its not the Hilton.I guess its all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Willey
Business
Fort Pierce, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Great vacation

We had stayed at this location about 6 weeks ago and liked it so much that we came back for my birthday weekend and wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn. It would be nice if the rooms were larger. That is my onloy complaing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are eating breakfast at the hotel, go as early as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyinpa
Business
pa
Nov 3, 2013

rooms need updated

staff- very friendly outside appearance- very good rooms need updated- not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Sep 1, 2013

Getaway

always great, pool was to hot on hot summer days, rooms were great, staff was friendly and helpful, location is perfect a few steps from pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Doc Fords Rum Bar great atmosphere great food and drinks also George and Wendy's great food and drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan from FL
Business
FL
Jun 30, 2013

Nice beach vacation

Swam at the beach and pool. We also went to Boman's Beach which had great shelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Island Cow was a great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top