Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Hotel Offers Family Fun Cross over the Sanibel Causeway, just west of Fort Myers, Florida, into paradise at the Holiday Inn® Sanibel Island Beach resort hotel. Here, guests relax beside the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico, relishing the sun, sand and stress-free environment of Sanibel Island. Our guests have all they need when they stay with us, from a great beach-front location near popular attractions, shopping and dining to the services and amenities that our hotel provides. Among Sanibel Island hotels, ours offers guests both a tropical beachfront haven and easy access to attractions such as Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum, DING Darling Wildlife Refuge and Sanibel Lighthouse. Other nearby points of interest include the Dunes and Beachview golf courses, as well as Sanibel Island Marina. Our hotel's facility is a great place to host small meetings, retreats or beachside weddings. We provide business travelers with copy and fax services, free high-speed Internet access and even catering, ensuring a stress-free stay. While on Sanibel Island, our hotel's guests enjoy prime amenities, including an outdoor pool, tennis courts, bike rentals and ping-pong. On-site dining options include the Star Bar and Starfish Grille Restaurant, which offers room service. And, our resort's gift shop, Sincerely Sanibel, offers souvenirs to help you remember your wonderful trip. We look forward to your visit!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
FORT MYERS, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI; Captiva Island, (TPA), 135.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabbMann
Business
Nashville
Mar 20, 2014

No Holiday at the Holiday Inn

Stank room from smoking even though facility smoke free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Water Wizard
Business
Littleton, CO
Mar 8, 2014

Holiday Inn Sanibel

This is an OK hotel. Breakfast is not included as it is at many Holiday Inn's. The restaurant associated with the hotel is good, but the service is very slow and it's expensive. The rooms would be very much improved if we could open the window. The location is fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yaya sasha
Business
Minnesota
Mar 6, 2014

Beach Perfect

Relaxing hotel on beach. Pretty and friendly. Restaurant good food. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lover of beaches and shel
Business
Queens. NY
Feb 27, 2014

Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very accommodating to our needs. the restaurant on property is not great, but i'm not sure if it part of holiday inn. the bar & pool area is fantastic! we have stayed here 4 or 5 times & will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane Super Nana
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2014

Too expensive! Great restaurant!

Understanding that location (on Sanibel Island with beach access) and timing (Valentines Day weekend) determined the cost of the rooms here, the reality is that we spent a lot of money per night to stay in an "old style" Holiday Inn room with a view of the parking lot. They have done a great job of "updating" the facility, the staff were friendly and the pool area, Tiki Bar and beach were wonderful. During the 7 days we were there the in room wireless service seldom worked and although this was a "vacation", the reality is that now a days we rely on that service for our business needs even while on vacation. The staff were apologetic about the issue but I did not feel that they felt the same sense of urgency that I did about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great option on short notice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleeingpolarvortexfamily
Business
Western Wisconsin
Jan 30, 2014

Beach great, landscape very cute, facilites lacking

Beautiful beach front and pool area but be prepared to walk. We paid for an upgrade to pool view room and ended up with a view of the bar roof which over-looks the pool. Our hair-dryer did not work and one of our sinks was clogged the entire stay. You will need a rental car unless you plan on eating at the hotel each night. The food was marginal. If you are looking for seclusion with minimal night-life, this is the place for you. Do not bring your elderly parents or anyone who has difficulty walking because all the eating facilities are quite a hike from the rooms/pool/beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean (apart from the clogged sink). Bring flip flops to walk on the beach. I did not think it was the best bargain but the beach was pretty darn nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Periwinkle drive (the main drag) is gridlock from about 11:30 to 5:30 pm. If you have any site-seeing adventures planned off the island, leave early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angie Shell Hunter
Business
Greenville,S.C
Nov 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Staff was great,rooms were clean.The price is a little high its not the Hilton.I guess its all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Willey
Business
Fort Pierce, FL
Nov 12, 2013

Great vacation

We had stayed at this location about 6 weeks ago and liked it so much that we came back for my birthday weekend and wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn. It would be nice if the rooms were larger. That is my onloy complaing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are eating breakfast at the hotel, go as early as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyinpa
Business
pa
Nov 3, 2013

rooms need updated

staff- very friendly outside appearance- very good rooms need updated- not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanibel Super Sheller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Pleasant beachfront resort

Friendly staff, clean rooms and just steps from the beach. Although I wasn't hugely impressed with the onsite restaurant, as a regular Sanibel Island visitor, I tend to go to my favorite restaurants anyway and would advise others to go to other local restaurants as well. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value for the money and would recommend it and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow, Doc Ford's - excellent restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top