$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Youngest Sister
Business
Staten Island
Jun 9, 2009

Nice quiet beach, relaxing pool area.

Nice beach with lounge chairs already on it. Great location to shopping and restaurants. Friendly service in Courtneys restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short distance to all restaurants on Sanibel Island and short drive to Captiva Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gulfport, FL
Jun 7, 2009

Great girls weekend!

We loved the locations, right on the beach. Restaurants and bike rental places were very close and inexpensive. The hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. We had a minor water issue that was literally corrected within 10 minutes of calling the front desk. We were also very pleased when the staff allowed us to check in early and start our vacation. This as the perfect relaxing weekend getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed our bike ride. Billy's Bike rental only changed $5 for a two hour rental. We were able to see more in two hours by riding than if we had walked and avoided having to find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, PA
May 28, 2009

Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

The hotel staff really made the stay wonderful. Despite the weather which was rainy, the staff was upbeat, cheerful and very helpful. They remembered us and took an interest in making our stay wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great grocery store which made a lot of wonderful food to eat along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aldrich
Business
Belvidere, IL
May 23, 2009

Best bang for the buck

We've stayed at this hotel twice now and absolutely love it. It's not the biggest, most fancy hotel on the beach, but definitely the best bang for the buck. Despite the horrible weather we had this week, we rented bikes, cruised the island and had a wonderful time at all the happy hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2009

Nice, no frills

This is a nice budget place to stay. The location is great, and the room was comfortable -- nothing fancy. We only had 2 issues with the place, which may or may not be an issue for other travelers. We would have preferred a place with a balcony, since we traveled with a small child which kept us hotel bound every night. You can just pull chairs onto the walkway if that's an issue, though. However, the hotel is set up kind of silly -- there will be 2 non-smoking rooms, then 2 smoking rooms. So, people on both sides of us would sit out on the walkway smoking like chimneys every night, which was very unpleasant. We can't stand the smoking, so we probably wouldn't stay here again until our daughter is a bit older, but once she will be up later at night we would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
practical
Business
Cocoa, FL
May 11, 2009

Peace and tranquillity

Our stay was May 3 and 4, This hotel is very practical. Just a short walk to the pool and beach. As we walked from our room to the beach, the view of palms and gulf were breathtaking. Coconut palms, and sharing time together in a hammock was wonderful, light breeze and beautiful beach was awesome. No complaints.. room has microwave, small frig, and coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It seemed as though everything closed early, only one restaurant was open after 9pm the Jacaranda. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee Wisconsin
May 2, 2009

Very nice

We enjoyed the beach very much. Sanibel is beautiful. Wish we would have had more time. I got bronchitis right after we arrived so didn't have time or energy to do some things I wanted to do. Next trip back I'll definately go to the Shell Museum and spend more time @ Ding Darling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

great family getaway

The staffs are very helpful: We planned to visit Thomas Edison's lab before we headed to airport, but struggled with our luggage. They help us by contacting a very helpful taxi driver who dropped us at Edison's lab in the morning and picked up our luggage from the Holiday Inn in the afternoon and then picked up us from the Lab and sent us to Airport. We saved a lot of money and time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the on site restaurant is pretty good ( breakfast and dinner) and kids can get free kid meal with adult regular food ordering.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pani Holly
Business
Milwaukee WI
Apr 22, 2009

Sanibel

The weather was great. We had been to Sanibel once before and loved it. Similar experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmbeachgardens
Nov 16, 2008

Great location

Location was great, beach just a few steps away. Hotel staff courteous and helpful. Room comfy great mattress and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sanibel cafe great breakfast. Terrific menu, good service and great food. Coffe was exceptional. Good prices. Island Cow was good also. Menu with almost everything you could think of to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top