$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
weekend getaway

Hotel was very nice and convenient to the beach. The staff was also helpful and courteous. A great... See full review

  • sray
  • Jul 14, 2014
Loving Sanibel!

my wife & i totally enjoy this holiday inn! perfect location, great room, great staff, very... See full review

  • lover of beaches and shel
  • Feb 27, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Hotel Map

26.4354 -82.0462
Nearby airports
FORT MYERS, (MCO), 175.00, MI; SW Florida International, (RSW), 20.50, MI; Captiva Island, (TPA), 135.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 16, 2009

Great location!!!

Our family went to Sanibel for the weekend. We had a wonderful time! The beach is great! The kids had fun collecting all sorts of shells. The pool (on the small side) was lots of fun too. The rooms are fine. We spent most of our time at the beach & pool so the rooms weren't the main thing we were concerned about. That said, they were clean & plenty big for the 4 of us. There's a small fridge which was great for drinks, lunch meat, etc so that way we didn't have to eat out at every meal. For the location & price, we'll definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop by a grocery store & pick up some drinks, snacks, & items to make your own meals. We brought enough food to eat breakfast & lunch in our room. We went out to dinner & didn't mind paying the extra money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sanibel Fan
Business
Akron, Ohio
Aug 15, 2009

Peaceful and Refreshing

In August 2009, my husband and I were in Miami for other business and we decided to stay at Holiday Inn Sanibel for a much overdue time alone. This was my third visit and his first. The rooms were spotless and decorated in fresh carribbean colors. The grounds were lush and the oversized hammock nestled between a small grove of palm trees makes you wish you could stay forever. There are a lot of little shops on Sanibel but we spent most of our time near the beach which is only steps away. Complimentary beach chairs are nice but there are no umbrellas to rent. You can purchase one at one of the local shops and it is worth the price as the sun really gets hot. Lots and lots of shells too. We looked at other hotels and beaches and this was by far the best on the Island. Ask for a room on the second floor to avoid any potential glances into your room from passersby. Oh yes - rent a bycycle and tour the island. Simply beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We were not at all impressed by the Island Cow. It always seemed to be busy so we thought it must be good. Went early in the evening to avoid the rush and were extremely dissapointed. The food was average in quality but very expensive. The service was terrible and we were constantly shooing off all the flies that seemed to be everywhere. I don't think they were meant to go with the cow theme but who knows. Go to Island Pizza instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 10, 2009

fun trip

Overall the stay at Sanibel Holiday Inn was fine. No drunks, not a lot of wild children (except maybe mine)and the hotel was very nice. It would be nice if Sanibel would allow a few fast food places, it gets expensive eating out with three kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sempo
Business
Boca Raton Florida
Jul 26, 2009

EXCELLENT

Everyone was very helpful thank you for a great stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The timbers was an excellent dinner. ans usual the island cow a must for lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, fl
Jul 16, 2009

The Perfect place

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here in the last year, and it was great. We booked a room that was less expensive since it did not face the gulf, which is a bonus because we are in a quiter area not near the pool. The hotel and staff were great. The hotel was very clean and the rooms/beds were awesome. The hotel is right on the beach and my kids and I fished by wading out. We caught 50-70 nice size fish (whiting and catfish) in 3 days. Hotel staff was great- allowed early check in and late check out so it was like having an extra day. I am very picky and not afraid to speak up to poor service but this place was perfect. To save $$, we ate breakfast (simple- pop tarts, donuts) in the roo . For lunch, recommend Schnappers hots, for dinner, seafood at Mc T's. Overall, best vacation in years

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbo, et al....
Business
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Jul 11, 2009

Great place on a fabulous island!

Lots of time on the beach, great restaurant and pool. Plenty of rest and relazation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ormond Beach, FL
Jun 29, 2009

Holiday Inn - Sanibel

Would have preferred a room with a Gulf view, but got the impression all had Gulf views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Doc Ford's Sanibel Rum Bar and Grill. Food and service were most excellent!!! We missed the author who owns the resaurant (Randy Wayne White, but will definitely go back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Fl.
Jun 12, 2009

Annivesary get away

Friendly hotel staff. Beach chairs available(free), beautifull clean surroundings, available bike rentals. Overall everything I expected from an island get away without leaving the states.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking for nightlife(clubs ect) none to be found exept if you leave the island. Plenty of restaurants and shops, they all close early. Go with a plan for daily activities there is plenty to do just got to plan ahead. Every time you enter the island there is a $6.00 toll for entry only not when exiting. Overall beautifull place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Youngest Sister
Business
Staten Island
Jun 9, 2009

Nice quiet beach, relaxing pool area.

Nice beach with lounge chairs already on it. Great location to shopping and restaurants. Friendly service in Courtneys restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short distance to all restaurants on Sanibel Island and short drive to Captiva Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gulfport, FL
Jun 7, 2009

Great girls weekend!

We loved the locations, right on the beach. Restaurants and bike rental places were very close and inexpensive. The hotel staff was very accommodating and professional. We had a minor water issue that was literally corrected within 10 minutes of calling the front desk. We were also very pleased when the staff allowed us to check in early and start our vacation. This as the perfect relaxing weekend getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed our bike ride. Billy's Bike rental only changed $5 for a two hour rental. We were able to see more in two hours by riding than if we had walked and avoided having to find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top