$177 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 1231 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel, FL 33957

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
163 reviews
Fantastic:)

Perfect location, highly recommend! Friendly staff! Nice restaurant and Tiki Bar. See full review

  • lg
  • Mar 14, 2015
very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price See full review

  • Big 1 Daddy
  • Nov 18, 2014
Deluxe beach resort offers great value for family vacations
Holiday Inn gives guests a lot for their money at this intimate beachfront resort, without the resort fees. Comfortable rooms are well appointed for vacationers who are minding their wallet with free beach chairs, tennis, Internet and a beachfront pool lending extra bang for the buck at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Highlights
  • No resort fees
  • Complimentary beach chairs
  • Complimentary parking
  • Beachfront pool and tennis
  • Kids under 12 eat free

Rooms
Each of the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island's 98 guest rooms and suites has a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Complimentary wireless Internet, voicemail, alarm clock radios, premium cable, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and premium cable TV are standard in all units at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island.

Dining
The Tiki Bar offers light meals and beverages on the beach or at the pool daily. Courtney's on Sanibel serves breakfast and dinner.

Recreation
Free beach chairs, use of tennis courts and ping pong on the beach make the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island a great value on the beach.

Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking

Attractions
  • Sanibel Island Marina (1.4 mi/2.24 km)
  • Dunes golf course (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge (5.2 mi/8.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet
  • Copy and fax service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Starfish Grille
The Starfish Grille serves breakfast, lunch,on the beach at the Star Bar, dinner, and cocktails in a casual island setting. Experience the best dining the island has to offer. Sushi is our special two nights a week. Our Palm Room can be booked for wedding
The Star Bar
Our poolside Star Bar offers our Sanibel Island resort's guests delicious drinks, from margaritas to piña coladas. Favorites like cheeseburgers and hot dogs, pizza and sandwiches are also available. Be sure to ask for a menu of the drink specials!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I had stayed longer
Tarpon Springs, FL
Oct 29, 2012

Fantastic Place to Stay!

This hotel was immaculately clean, beds cozy, staff pleasant and helpful. Location great. this was one of the nicest vacations I have had. I saw several online reviews that complained that the bathrooms were small. We did not find this to be the case. Large double sink grooming area, great hot showers, lots of towels, no complaints. This hotel is beautifully landscaped, freshly painted, modern and all Florida. The restaurant food left a bit to be desired and the lobby coffee was dishwater, but there are tons of great cheap restaurants minutes away. Will return again and again. Short walk to the beach, chairs and towels provided free. Highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Cow was amazing, on Periwinkle Road, and the Easy Over Cafe, breakfast all day was terrific too! Both have good prices, real home cooked food, huge menus, guaranteed to please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy T.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Girl's trip

Location was great. We thought the price was a bit steep for the size of the room & the view we had was the parking lot. Also, the room needed updating. Restaurant was good. Pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lg
Business
N/A
Mar 14, 2015

Fantastic:)

Perfect location, highly recommend! Friendly staff! Nice restaurant and Tiki Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pmckee
Business
Troy, IL
Nov 26, 2014

Quiet escape

We had a wonderful time here in Sanibel and loved riding our bikes through the beautiful community. We were a bit worried when it seemed our hotel was far away from others, but that made it even better. It was so quiet and the beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big 1 Daddy
Business
Chicago
Nov 18, 2014

very nice

Hotel is clean and in great location. Staff very friendly. Room kind of high price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raymond Vien
Business
St Louis, MO
Oct 18, 2014

mistake with reservation

we had a reservation for queen size beds, however we were only given a room with full size beds. We were only staying 4 nights but this made our sleeping arrangements somewhat uncomfortable. When we asked about this they said they would check in to what happened with the reservation . We were not given any compensation or discount for the mistake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great place for seafood what was a short drive on sanibel was called Cips place. wonderful local fresh catch !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reluctant traveler T
Business
Fairhaven, MA
Oct 17, 2014

Nice spot

we had a room overlooking the pool and beach, we enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rented a boat for the day on Captiva had a great time exploring,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amandalaurenxo
Business
Fort lauderdale, FL
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice

This hotel was right on the beach and had it's own tikki bar so it was very convenient to just sit and relax. I will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try going to fort myers for eating out because almost every restaurant on Sanibel is extremely expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AuntiNita
Business
Naples, Fl.
Aug 8, 2014

holiday

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to get to, and it was right on the beach. We had breakfast daily in the dining room. Better than most. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you come with children, there is a refrigerator and microwave in each room. That would be a big money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventure loving family
Business
Lenexa, KS
Aug 5, 2014

Long Family Weekend

The hotel was on the beach, which is what we wanted. The pool was nice and the tiki bar had a friendly staff. The hotel as a whole had very nice people working there. We were hoping for a little more for our money, but we were not disappointed at all. We knew we were getting a hotel room, not a suite! Great location central to all the activities on Sanibel and Captiva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All the restaurants we tried were very good around the hotel, and in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SANIBEL ISLAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Crow
Business
Sanibel Islamd, Florida
Jul 27, 2014

Experience Island Time

The hotel grounds are lush and tropical with many flowering plants. The beautiful beach and its aqua water is a very short walk from the hotel complex. Staff was helpful and friendly. The tiki bar at the pool is a great place to take a beach break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Periwinkle Place shopping center has many unique stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top