$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

3 stars
611 Destiny Drive, Ruskin, FL 33570
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
157 reviews
clean and beautiful sandy beach resort

while visiting relatives in nearby sun city center, florida we always enjoy staying at Little... See full review

  • tomcare
  • Nov 9, 2013
nicest hotel we've ever stayed at

The room was stunning and we had a nice view from our balcony. While we did not use any extras that... See full review

  • Bean222
  • Nov 8, 2013
Acres of residential properties on banks of the Little Manatee River
The Resort and Club at Little Harbor is part of the residential village in Ruskin known as Little Harbor. The community, filled with Anglo-Caribbean architecture and lush tropical landscaping, offers restaurants, lounge, tiki bar, secluded beach, marinas and recreational amenities. Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, the The Resort and Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA three diamond resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres and surrounded by the tranquil waters of Florida's harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay.
Highlights
  • 10,000-square-foot spa and fitness facility
  • Fishing pier, children's playground, shuffleboard court and horseshoe field
  • Canoe, kayak and tube on the banks of the Little Manatee River

 

Rooms

The Resort and Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations, perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups. Guest accommodations include standard, deluxe and junior suites, as well as new studio, one-, two- and three-bedroom condominiums and town homes. Guests can enjoy views of Tampa Bay or marinas, harbors and nature preserves. All rooms have an iron with ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator. A spacious work desk, free high-speed Internet access and 32-inch flat screen TV with free premium channels are also included. Bathrooms feature granite counter tops and private balconies or patios.

Features

Guests can play basketball, beach volleyball or tennis on one of three tennis courts at the The Resort and Club at Little Harbor. The entire family will enjoy the 250-foot fishing pier, children's playground, shuffleboard court, horseshoe field and fitness center. Boaters have access to 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship's store, plus boat trailer parking with nearby flats and deep sea fishing. Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants and relax at the beachside Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, seafood and sandwiches seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner with live entertainment outside Friday through Sunday evenings. The Beach Club is the property's signature restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, lounge and tiki bar, plus an expansive pool and deck area overlooking Tampa Bay. Sunset Grill Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails. For a taste of local flavor, try the conch fritters or shrimp skewers.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (45 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (PIE) (45 minutes)
  • Sarasota/Bradenton Airport (SRQ) (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Florida Aquarium  (30 miles)
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Busch Gardens
  • Salvador Dali museum
  • Museum of Science & Industry
Business
  • 11,000 square-foot conference center
  • Accommodates small- to medium-sized meetings, conferences and special event banquets, from 20 to 200 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Resort and Club at Little Harbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Resort and Club at Little Harbor Rooms

Standard Water View
Bedding option- 2 doubles. Room includes Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Balcony, Patio, Access via exterior corridors, Complimentary newspaper, Air conditioning, Telephone, Internet access - dial-up, Internet access - surcharge, Voice mail, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Electronic/magnetic keys, Rollaway beds, Cribs (infant beds).
Junior Suite
Bedding option- 2 queen beds (or a room with one king bed and two twins available upon request). Room includes Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Balcony, Patio, Access via exterior corridors, Complimentary newspaper, Air conditioning, Telephone, Internet access - dial-up, Internet access - surcharge, Voice mail, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Electronic/magnetic keys, Rollaway beds, Cribs (infant beds).
Deluxe Room
Bedding option-2 queens. Some rooms have partial water views. Room includes Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Balcony, Patio, Access via exterior corridors, Complimentary newspaper, Air conditioning, Telephone, Internet access - dial-up, Internet access - surcharge, Voice mail, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Electronic/magnetic keys, Rollaway beds, Cribs (infant beds).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrenchFloridianFoodie
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Very disappointing

The Junior Suite was not worth the $100 or so we paid for it. We wanted a King and got a Double Queen. It was noisy: we could hear people walking in the room above and drunks fighting outside. There was a dead bug on the floor, then a small live one in the bathroom, followed by a giant 2" cockroach the next evening. All housekeeping did was chase it under the bed, spray a can, and leave. So we spent the night with the roach. The light switch didn't turn on any of the lamps in the room, we had to hunt for switches, and the lampshades were stained. The bathroom was not clean and the fixtures were rusty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hotcheese
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 31, 2011

Not worth it!!

First of all the pictures shown are not of the regular rooms like the "deluxe" but of the condos.The deluxe rooms look like motel rooms and smells very strong like soap ( my eyes started burning) so we then paid an additional 50 bucks to upgrade to a condo. The condo looks nice BUT when we turned the water on, the room stunk like rotten eggs since they use well water which hasn't been run in a while. We had to open the window and leave for a couple hours for the room to air out. The entire time we couldn't stand to run the water so we bought water gallons to use. WORST TRIP EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jakk
Business
Melbourne, FL
Mar 12, 2012

Weird, Creepy Place

****Would not recommend staying here to anyone.****** We booked a room for a 3 night getaway in the suites section of the club. Driving through Ruskin to get to the club should have been an indication that we were in for an odd experience; there is absolutely nothing to do in Ruskin; no shops, no restaurants, no nothing. A friend from Tampa later told us that Ruskin is known for tomatoes and not much else so that speaks volumes of the area. This place is in the middle of nowhere. The building where the suites are located was very nice as it was 5 stories with waterfront views and seemingly nice pools. When checking in, we drove by the Inn section of the club which was a two story motel looking facility which I assume has typical hotel style rooms but didn't look all that appealing. On top of these locations there are 3 story town homes/timeshares that have a number of permanent residents. You will absolutely love this hotel if you are over the age of 60. We are a lot younger and felt extremely out of place as we were the only young couple there; the other folks there seemed nice but genuinely shocked to see us, one lady even stared at us for a good 5-10 minutes in the most creepy fashion ever. So we avoided going to the pool after that. We tried the beach at the club, except it wasnt much of a beach - more that they dumped sand and dirt into the bay to make it resemble a beach. It was probably 100 feet long and 10 feet wide - definitely not what we were expecting at all. Upon our return from the pool/"beach" we were welcomed into our room with an extremely creepy looking baby crib. We are not with child nor have a baby so this was extremely odd as we did not request it. Pushed it out into the hall where it sat for the remainder of our stay. We never saw a staff person on our floor; come to think of it we never saw or heard anybody on our floor. The room was pretty decent; full kitchen, queen bed, couch and sitting area, flatscreen tv. Pillows were a bit hard and sheets felt plasticy and of very low quality. In order to stock our fridge with food for 4 days (the club doesnt offer any complementary meals and the restaurant on site was rather price and full of seafood) we had to drive a good 20 minutes to Sweetbay - there was one about 5 minutes away in Ruskin, but it was very sketchy looking. We spent our trip driving to st pete beach and siesta key since we wanted to make the best of our trip, and used our room as a sleeping and showering location. We were very unimpressed with our stay and we were absolutely fed up with the place when we were rudely awoken at 6:30am the morning we were set to leave by the ceiling fan light above our bed turning on. Thought it wasn't a big deal so we turned it back off, only for it to turn back on 20 minutes later scaring us terribly as nothing natural turned it on. Called the front desk and they didn't even know there was a light above our bed. So we packed our things and checked out at 7:30am since we wanted nothing else to do with the place; it was certainly the low point of our trip. After staying there, I have absolutely no idea why ANYONE would want to stay here when there are a bazillion other places in amazing locations such as St Pete, Clearwater, Tampa, Siesta Key, Sarasota, Bradenton only an hour away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Stay somewhere else - like bradenton, sarasota, tampa, st pete, clearwater, siesta key.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CourtneyAnne77
Business
Cape Coral, Fl
Jun 18, 2012

ROACHES, EVERYWHERE! DIRTY, STAY AWAY!

I chose this Inn because it looked cute and was a good price. The rooms looked like they had been renovated recently as well. The rooms had indeed been given new furniture sometime recently, but it is still in a very old VERY DIRTY building. The rooms smell disgusting, like mold. I noticed as soon as we opened the door. I hoped it wouldn't smell so bad once the air was running for awhile. 6 hours later, it still smelled moldy/musty. We ran up to the store and I bought an air freshner (it helped a bit). When taking a shower the first night, I saw there was mold all along the ceiling above the shower. I had also noticed mold along the edge of the shower and the tile. I'm not a clean freak or anything...but it was so noticeable. It was gross. I tried to ignore it. When I went to brush my teeth before bed, the was a huge ROACH crawling on my toothbrush. NO JOKE, on the toothbrush! I grew up in Florida and am not deathly afraid of bugs, but this was so disgusting. My husband tried to kill it and it ran inbetween the counter and the wall. It was gone. I couldn't just go to bed knowing it was there. I went to the front desk to talk to them. On the way down the other side of the hall (I had entered from the opposite side of the hall previously because my room and where I parked was closest to the hallway door) I saw at least ten other roaches. Seriously, at least ten, in the hallway. Some were dead and some were not. They were just hanging out in the hallway infront of guest rooms and such. Also, I need to note this is an inside hallway. By the time I got to the front desk, I was so disgusted and creeped out!! Longstory short, the front desk person basically said they have bug problems in the "old building" (which is the "inn"). She did not seem surprised at all. They did upgrade us to the "Resort at Little Harbor" for free. This is a brand new building that is a block or so away from the Inn. It was SO nice. I'd highly recommend paying extra for the resort. DO NOT STAY AT THE DIRTY ROACH INN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sunset Grill's dinner was very good (I had the mango chicken), but the breakfast buffet was DISGUSTING. The eggs were microwaved and everything was cold. It's not worth the $10 each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
farinae
Business
Princeton , fl
Nov 11, 2012

Unpleasant stay

The night we arrived while unpacking we found that we weren't alone. A HUGE roach came out walking on the wall from behind the bed head rest l,,,,grrrr I chased it.. jumped on the floor to hide under the bed and when I knee down and I see the thick layer of dirt on the carpet and a another two giant roaches already dead laying upside down under the bedside table I knew what to expect. The bed sheets has see through holes. they seems to be clean but worn out. TV sucks, Small refrigerator counter top hanging loose. hard o find electrical outlets, thick layer of dust found in places where are not transited. Place have a good potential but need serious remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worst clapp stay ever
Business
Tampa,fla
Apr 22, 2013

Horrible

Expensive, nothing to do, unknowledgeable staff, unaccomadating, no internet, horrible room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Often a traveler.
Business
near Carmel Indiana
Jun 28, 2010

Bait & Switch Resort! Upgrade fees! .

Bait & Switch Resort!! This is NOT [...] fault rather the Resorts. The resort gave [...] pictures of a TOP quality 6 floor Resort but once you arrive, your room is in a 2 level, bug infested motel without elevators. To stay in the quality resort, that is pictured, you MUST pay an upgrade fee at the time of check in. We had other friends there for a wedding & all were charged the additional fee and it seems there is no set price. Some were charged between $10 and $30. per night plus taxes. Once we upgraded, the resort refused to give anyone, not booked through them, a water view room or a 2 bed room. [...]the resort refused to budge on the additional fee & said a manager was not there. It seems the resort wants everyone to book directly through them to recoup the fees they pay [...]. All family members who booked directly through the resort received water view rooms as pictured & their rooms were top rated, definitely 5 star but they also paid top dollar!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Free row boats, shuffle board, beach on site, pool & bath robes in all rooms... NOTE: The survey below was for the resort before we paid the upgrade fee. The 2 story bldg. the resort tried to put us prior to paying the upgrade fee (bait & switch)looked like something that was rented by the "hour" and definitely had bugs and mold in some rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
williamsport, md
Mar 19, 2010

Rooms badly in need of updating

The resort itself was nice, but the room was tacky and dated. The curtain was torn and the furnishing looked over 25 years old! This was not a 3-star room, not even close. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Manatee Viewing Center, Apollo Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Up state NY
Apr 18, 2011

NO good

Mostly what was missing was a elevator..two 65 year old women up the stairs with heavy suit cases. Also almost no shade to get out of the sun.. The new part is amazing. the old part where the deluxe rooms are . Are not so nice.. Food ok. Service not there at all. They are to over worked to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Food 5 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Resort and Club at Little Harbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeverlyM
Business
Ruskin, FL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Average

Staff were very kind and helpful. Hotel needed a bit of updating but the view was nice. Great sunsets...and the food at the restaurant was great! Wonderful Chef and Staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Fishing with Captain Rob!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top