$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Beachcomber Resort and Villas

3 stars
View map of 1200 S. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
646 reviews
Awesome mini vacation trip.

located right on the beach this hotel offers relaxing atmosphere and many amenities. Very pleasant... See full review

  • Simon K.
  • Jun 24, 2015
Week end trip

The location cannot be beat. I loved Stingers across the street, good food and prices. See full review

  • Woody D.
  • Jun 9, 2015

Beachcomber Resort and Villas in Pompano Beach features a private beach and two outdoor pools in addition to several on-site dining options. From a well-lit work-space to complimentary wireless Internet access and an in-room safe, Beachcomber guests enjoy a variety of amenities.

With more than 1,050 square feet of meeting space that includes two meeting rooms, the hotel can accommodate functions ranging from 10 to 100 guests.

For those who wish to upgrade to an ocean-view villa or suite, a wet bar and kitchen area with refrigerator and microwave are included. The hotel also features two swimming pools, free passes to a local gym and free towel service.

Location
Beachcomber Hotel is located in the Pompano Beach area just north of Fort Lauderdale. This region is known for its revitalized historic Downtown and long, sweeping shore, as well as its characterful name - taken from the abundant pompano fish that shimmer off the coastline. Nature lovers can visit the Fern Forest Nature Center, which is just 15 minutes away by car and nurtures swamp forestry, pinelands and fallow fields, as well as housing a variety of exhibits. Alternatively, the Beachway Shopping Center at Pompano Beach provides retail therapy with both individual boutiques and bigger chains. Be sure to try local seafood dishes in Fort Lauderdale, with nearby restaurants including Sea Watch on the Ocean and the Seaside Grill. 
Highlights

The resort is located right on the sandy shores of the Atlantic Ocean and boasts 300 feet of private beach. Minutes away from Interstate 95 and the Florida Turnpike, the resort is 35 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA).

Local attractions include Fort Lauderdale and Miami nightlife, Port Everglades, Sun Life Stadium and American Airlines Arena. Dining options are also plentiful and include the Ocean Grill Restaurant and Beach Butler service from an electronic call device.

Room service and children's menus are also available, and the Tropical Tiki Bar serves up specialty frozen drinks, cold beer and creative cocktails.

Policies
If poolside eats and drinks weren't enough, the Beach Butler Service lets you call your own personal server from a cabana on the sand - all you have to do is push a button and those margaritas will keep on coming. Those who want their stay to feel as exclusive as a celebrity getaway can retreat to one of the private villas among the palms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beachcomber Resort and Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Beachcomber Resort and Villas Rooms

European Room
With 1 queen bed, this economy priced room is smaller than our typical standard room. Free high speed wireless internet access, complimentary coffee maker and coffee, in-room safe, Flat screen cable TV, pay per view movies, alarm clock/radio, voice mail, hair dryer, iron/board. Cozy no balcony and not water view. All rooms are non smoking.
Ocean View room - 1 king bed
With 1 king bed; located in the main hotel tower, with large semi private balcony, partial ocean view that overlooks main pool area, free high speed wireless access, microwave and mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, safe, hairdryer, Flat screen cable TV, pay per view movies, alarm clock/radio, voice mail, iron and board. All rooms are non smoking.
Oceanfront Room - 2 double beds
With 2 double beds that directly faces the beach and ocean. Free high speed wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker with complimentary coffee, Flat Screen cable T.V. with pay per view in room movies, hairdryer, & alarm clock/radio, iron/board. All rooms are non smoking.
Ocean View room - 2 double beds
With 2 double beds; located in the main hotel tower, with large semi private balcony, partial ocean view that overlooks main pool area, free high speed wireless access, microwave and mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, safe, hairdryer, Flat screen cable TV, pay per view movies, alarm clock/radio, voice mail, iron and board. All rooms are non smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have a 1066 square foot meeting room that can be divided into 2 rooms. The combined space can accommodate meetings of up to 100 persons seated theater style or 60 persons for a seated meal funtion. We also can hold weddings on our beach and have a large outside courtyard for catered events that can seat 250 persons and can be tented.

Dining

Tiki Bar
Poolside Tiki Bar serving your favorite tropical frozen specialty drinks in a casual laid back atmosphere
Ocean Grill Lounge
Warm and inviting atmosphere serving beer, wine, and full liquor bar. Open during high/winter seasonHappy hour 5-7 PM daily. During the high season, entertainment Thursday thru Saturday evenings.
Ocean Grill
In door dining room with floor to ceiling windows with a vista of our lushly landscapped main pool area against a backdrop of the beach and ocean. Open at 7 AM for breakfast. For lunch and dinner we offer an all day dining menu featuring American fare; enjoy appitizers like conch fritters, smoked fish dip & chicken wings. We also make our own hand tossed pizza, freshly prepare salads, burgers, sandwiches and wraps and we offer nightly dinner specials. Full liquor bar service is available.
Outside Patio Dining Area
We'll gladly serve your favorite drinks and/or anything featured the Ocean Grill's all day dining menu outside at our poolside patio dining area. We will also serve you while you lounge on our beach; just press the button on the Beach Butler that is strapped to your beach chaise lounge and one of our servers will come to place and deliver your order.
Room Service
We will deliver anything you want from the menu we feature at the Ocean Grill to your room during the Ocean Grill's normal hours of operation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
646 out of 646
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eurojetcgn
Business
Köln, Deutschland
Nov 5, 2011

Construction Holidays

We came the fith time to the hotel and liked it, although the last two times there was renovation going on. Upon arrival we got our beachfront-room and were told there was again some renovation going on. We could not acess our balcony, 'cause there was construction material stowed. In the morning there were construction-workers looking in our bed and room and worked on the balcony. We got another room ( not oceanfront) after complaining, but the whole ten days there was construction all over the place, dirty, noisy only one elevator working and we had to be out of the room the whole day to avoid the noise. In the end we got a reduction of 30% for the First night which was a real joke! There was no mentioning of construction on the internet-page at all. After a long trip from Europe for a nice beach-holiday, this is what you need the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HLS BJM
Business
Bay Area, CA.
Nov 21, 2011

Bad Staff, Smallest Room Ever

To start off, yes this hotel is on the ocean but the European room we stayed at was the size of our queen sized bed and they charge you to use the lounge chairs on the beach. The water pressure was horrible, the room had a strange smell, there was one working elevator and there was loud construction going on that took up some of the parking lot that caused you to have to park across the busy Hwy 1. The person who worked nights there at the front desk was extremely rude and offered no help when I complained about these problems (she offered to upgrade me to the ocean view rooms at an extra $30/night when the website price difference was only $10/night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest 16
Business
san ramon, ca
Jun 14, 2012

worse worse worse

I booked this hotel because I don’t believe 3 stars hotel can be this awful!!! Even read reviews before book it!!! First I got a room that smell like broken toilet that my 4yrs daughter said: this smell disgusting. Then front desk gives us a smoke room with ‘no smoke’ sign on the door, even worse smell!!! Finally give us a room with dead roaches’ ants all over!!! And front desk keep saying that we got up grade. We got bigger room which isn’t what we looking for, we owe big home, now we just need a clean room for trip. Haven’t mention inside room lots things don’t work and I so tried to talk to front desk. However, we only stay for 3 nights, I just booked other 4 nights with other

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTBindy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 18, 2013

Horrible!!

This place is gross and the front desk staff is horrible!!! Our room was leaking from the rain and front desk told us that since we booked through an "online" travel agency that they could not help us. I have NEVER given a bad review in my life but, I just could not stay quiet on this one. This place is a huge dissapointment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

there is nothing much to walk to, so rent a car!

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CBGB
Business
new jersey
May 26, 2014

Never Again!

Rooms smell... burned my throat so I transferred to another room with a balcony so I could get rid of my headache; for an extra 45 dollars per night I had another room. The only thing good about the place was the nice pool and the awesome restaurant! The last night I stayed a party in a room near to me had a loud party but security took care of that...I do not recommend if you want to rest...I didn't!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
salt lake city
Jul 5, 2009

was a small room

i did not enjoy the room it was old and at the bottom by the ground room was so small i got one king bed and can hardly walk around. i ask at the the front desk for another room i was told that they were book they did not accomodate me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 3, 2007

Hospitality vs Cleanliness

This Hotel has a lot of potential. It was pleasing to look at. The staff is very friendly and polite. But I found it confusing. When you step into the lobby it looks outdated. I did not find it fresh or clean smelling. When we checked into our room the windows needed to be cleaned and the carpet was dirty and spotted. When we complained they gave us another room. The room was bigger with a balcony and a beautiful view. But the carpet was worse and the chair next to the bed had stains on it. The loungers on the balcony also needed cleaning. Some do it yourself supplies would have done the trick. I saw no effort in this area. The water leaked constantly in the bathroom. There were also a few stains on the wall. The carpet being dirty was a big deal to me. I lost the comfort and the secure feeling of being in a (resort) environment. I left wondering what is a resort? Oh and the clincher was, my husband found a bug in the salt shaker. Right after we finished eating breakfast. We just prayed and tried to make the best of it. My husband and I just wanted to get away and relax. I had to suffer through, because I did not want to spend my time arguing over the telephone. I wanted to warn everyone I saw. It was hard to see new people checking in. Especially people with kids. Children live on the floor. This was an experience that I will never forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flanagans was excellent and so was the waiters. Also Joes restaurant.

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BeachyOne
Business
Chicago suburb
Mar 22, 2009

Avoid..avoid..avoid

Where do I begin..we had requested an early check in and arrived around noon. No room available, we were told-check in half an hour. Guests arriving after us were being checked in, but our room "was not ready." Three hours later, we were shown to our room. It was tiny, stuffy and old-and it was next to the maids closet with the hall trash chute. The bathroom tile was covered in mildew-gross. So I asked the manager to move us. She was exceptionally rude and at first said there was nothing else available, but after consulting her computer, grudgingly agreed to show us another room. The "other" room was even worse, with a small double bed and a plank of raw plywood for a "desk" This is an old hotel gimmick, to show the worst room in the place when someone complains. Did I mention that according to the restaurant manager later that day, the hotel was only 40% full?? Needless to say, we were stuck with the mildewy tile, since we had prepaid and I did not want to risk not receiving a refund. This place is clearly operating on a shoestring--they ran out of towels at the pool, and our room was NEVER MADE UP UNTIL 3:00 each day. The only positive thing to say is the beach location is quite nice, and the pool is acceptable. Luckily when you're at the beach, you are not spending a lot of time in the room, but NEVER again would I stay at this dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ClasEJJ
Business
Stockholm Sweden
Jan 26, 2011

Nice location but in bad shape

The room I had not been updated in ages. It was damp since the aircond did not work properly and when entering you could smell mould. since we did not spend much time at the hotel it was just for sleep. With such a nice location you have to keep it up! One thing that was really disturbing was that my noice cancelling eraphones were taken or stolen from my room. I use it while flying so I did not miss them until I was about to leave. I reported it and they found it strange and promised to investigate it. I have not heard from them since... I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Water taxi and see the whole of Fort Lauderdale from the canals. It is reasonable in price (USD 20 for a day pass) and you can hop on and off as you like. The staff really give you a nice guided tour.

Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2007

UNHAPPY

I WAS AT THIS RESORT FOR THE 1ST TIME. THE ROOM WAS CATEGORIZED AS A EUROPEAN STYLE. IT WAS LIKE STAYING IN A CARDBORD BOX. VERY VERY SMALL. BATHROOM WAS OLD AND DIRTY. WHEN WE CHECKED IN AT HOTEL AND SEEN ROOM WAS LITTLE ASKED TO UPGRADE AND THEY ALLEGED THERE WAS NO AVAILABILITY. FINALLY ON OUR 3RD DAY WE ASKED AGAIN FOR A UPGRADE AND THEY PUT US IN DIFFERENT ROOM. IT WAS A BIGGER HOWEVER IT WAS NOT THE QUAILTY OF ROOM THAT I WAS USED TO STAYING IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEST PART OF THE STAY WAS THAT THE HOTEL WAS LOCATED RIGHT ON BEACH. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS AND GREAT BEACH.

Back to menu Return to top