$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

The Cove On Ormond Beach

3 stars
145 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Good stuff

This was a great experience. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, the locale, and the... See full review

  • Ocala Rocks
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great place for families with kids or without

We went there during my son's spring break. Everything was perfect, rooms are clean, spacious, well... See full review

  • Bella More
  • Apr 10, 2014
Oceanfront, all-condo resort near Daytona Beach is family destination

Loyal patrons return to The Cove on Ormond Beach year after year for its friendly service, spacious condo-style accommodations and peaceful setting well north of the more bustling Daytona strip. Guests flock to the wide, 23-mile long beach for sunning, swimming, walking and bike riding.  Nearby are golf courses, shopping, a water park and a scenic state park offering fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a quick drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shops, restaurants, attractions
  • Oceanfront location on 23-mile beach
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Oceanfront activity deck with tube slide
  • Some condos have ocean views
Rooms

Guests feel right at home inside the inviting one- and two-bedroom condos at The Cove on Ormond Beach. The spacious condos offer fully-equipped kitchens and private balconies, many with sweeping ocean views. Also included are flat-screen TV with cable, DVD players, wireless Internet access (fees apply) and sleeper sofas. Rooms are decorated with a charming, inn-style decor, with soft yellow walls and eclectic furnishings.

Features

The beach is the headliner at The Cove on Ormond Beach – and for good reason. The 23-long mile beach is wide, scenic and peaceful, the ideal setting for a family vacation. Spend days lounging, walking, swimming or biking on the sand. Cool off in the ocean or vibrant pool area, where kids delight in the two-story tube slide.

The resort is surrounded by restaurants, clubs and attractions on both directions.  Go kayaking, canoeing or fishing at the nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a nearby course for 18 holes. A few miles south is a water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater and restaurants.

Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.2 mi/129 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (5 mi/8 km)
  • Ocean Center (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Florida Tennis Center (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.4 mi/113.3 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.6 mi/113.6 km)
  • Disney World (84.4 mi/135.8 km)
Business
  •  High-speed wireless Internet (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • A resort fee of $10 USD plus tax per day will be charged for both the north and south towers. This fee includes Wi-Fi access, local calls, in-room safe deposit box, parking slot for one vehicle (no RV or trailer), beach towels, beach amenities, weekday daily newspapers at the lobby, business centre (Internet access, printer and fax) and daily coffee/hot tea (in north tower).
  • All units are non-smoking.
  • Parking limited to one space per unit.
  • No RVs or Trailers.
  • You must be at least 21 with valid ID to check into this hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2884 -81.0376
Area served
Ormond Beach,FL. Parking limited to one space per unit. Sorry, no RVs or Trailers allowed. Must be 21 with valid ID to check-in.
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach, FL (DAB-Daytona Beach Intl.)
Area description
Located just minutes from Daytona Beach and Daytona International Speedway; The Cove On Ormond Beach is the perfect ocean front getaway. Just north of Daytona Beach. Parking limited to one space per unit. Sorry, no RVs or Trailers allowed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cove On Ormond Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Cove On Ormond Beach Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom/ two bath unit. King in master and two doubles in second OR Queen in master and queen in second room, Both units with premium bedding, living area with queen sofa sleeper, TVs, dvd player, full kitchen, dining area, and Private balcony. ( max 6)
Studio
Queen Murphy bed, kitchen, dining area, private balcony, bath/shower, TV/dvd.(max 2)
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom queen in master with premium bedding, living room with queen sofa sleeper, full kitchen, TVs, dvd player, Private balcony. ( max 4 )

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Cove On Ormond Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cape Cod Bob
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Jan 19, 2014

Going downhill

We have been coming to this resort for several years and this in by far the worst experience we have had. New ownership may be to blame or maybe the previous owners let the place go but we found many maintenance problems which were fixed after we complained except for a poor mattress that squeaked whenever we turned over. The sofabed mattress was also uncomfortable. One big problem that has persisted over the years is the noise from chairs in the units over us. If only the resort would put felt pads on the chair legs it would reduce the noise when slid on the tile floors. Also there are new front desk personnel who did not explain the extra charges such as an additional credit card hold of $100 for incidentals and a daily resort fee of $8.95 per day. We will probably not return next year unless major improvements are made by the new owners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ormond Beach and Daytona Beach is excellent for walking. There are also many fine restaurants and stores in the area.

Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Me that's all u need
Ocala fl
Aug 14, 2014

Family outting for birthday

Things could have been way better I waited an hour before my kids had tubes to float on the amenities and I. Never received a receipt from my stay and still don't have my deposit money on my account yet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mrschult
Roseville, MI, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Very Disapointing

The stay was very disappointing. We chose this hotel because of the rating and the positive comments about the pool. The pool was under construction and not available during our stay, we were not offered any discount, their "indoor pool" is the size of an oversized hot tub. Our "luxury" room w/ private balcony had a beautiful view of the 50 air conditioners on the north tower, very obstructed view of the ocean, not exactly what I would call luxury. When asked about my stay I said I was disappointed that there was no pool and the comment I recieved was "well we have the beach" gee thanks! Oh and you will get asked to do a time share tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Feb 25, 2011

Let's Go To Beach and Smell Trash

We have a large family so we love the fact that we have a full kitchen and the hotel has a safe enough atmosphere that the older kids can kind of do as they please. The indoor pool had far too much chlorine and the lazy river type pool was a tad small. There were never enough chairs out by the pool unless you woke up at 7am and saved it all day. The worst part about the stay was I had a bit of a beach front view from the corner but we stayed directly above the dumpsters. When I think about it I can still smell it. It made it worse because my oldest had a concussion from falling while surfing (which is an expected beach injury, so no fault to the hotel) the trash being dispensed into the dumpster woke us up every morning pretty early, and when I am on vacation I do not want to be woken up, besides it really bothered my daughter with the concussion. Also for the amount that I paid for the room, I would really would like some room service, bell service and housekeeping. The rooms are really nice, but looking at it from the front, it doesn't give that WOW experience that something with these ratings should. I have stayed at the Cove for years but the staff has gotten a tad rude and would not recommend it to anyone and do not plan on staying there again. I much rather stay at a Days Inn for the service I received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Holly Ann
Silver Springs, FL
Jan 20, 2014

Awful

Upon check-in they had our reservation but no room. They sent us to a $60 a night hotel that I would not let a dog stay in. 2 1/2 hrs. later they finally got us a room at an upscale resort but due to the timing we had to cancel our dinner reservation and were still a 1/2 late for the show we had tickets for. It was my husbands B-Day an needless to say this ruined the night for us. I'm not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RayCyn
Ormond Beach, Florida
May 16, 2012

Great location / Ambivalent Customer Attitude / Poor Housekeeping

My wife and I spent a week at the Cove in their "Luxary" South Tower. This is suppose to be a "non-smoking" building however when we checked in and entered or room it had a fairly strong stale cigarette smell. Our call to the front desk resulted in two unkept women from the hotel cleaning staff casually shuffle their way to our unit and immeditaly declare "we don't smell nottin"! Nonetheless they began spraying the curtains, furniture and any other random area they could think of. So now our unit smelled of stale cigerettes and industrial orange scent. My next step was to call the manager but was only told "you got no options. what you got (our rental unit) is what you got and there's nothing more we can do." No effort to bring in an air cleaner and no offer to move us to another unit - I guess it didn't matter to them since they knew we didn't have any realistic option of going somewhere else. My wife and I spent the afternoon unpacking our clothes and belonging and only later that evening noticed that the souls of our feet were black with the dirt and filth from the tile floors of the kitchen and bathroom - discusting but no use in complaining. So the rest of the vacation we wore sandals in our unit and kept sheets between us and the sofa couch and chair. Recommendation to all: Check out the Royal Floridian Resort Hotel. Its 3 properties north of the Cove and a much better value and CLEAN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
roadbeast
long island ny
Dec 15, 2013

Average getaway for a resort stay

Beds seemed smaller then queen size! Bedroom was small and the livingroom couch was worn out. Also, they have the nerve to charge $7.99 plus tax daily service fee for parking and etc. They hit me with a surprising bill at check out! Ive made many purchases with resorts and exchanges and never had to pay this type of fee. However, the beach front and location was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missing Clothing
Dallas, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Mediocre, at best

I had several items stolen during my stay and the hotel staff didn't really seem to care. Also, having to pay extra to have your room cleaned is not likely going to get my return business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
24 Mom
Maryland
Jul 11, 2009

Decent accomodations for a family

The villa was nice. We stayed in the south tower, in a 2 bedroom villa. We had plenty of space and it was clean. The kids loved the pool, but don't believe the hype about enforcing the "no saving pool chairs" rule. You absolutely have to be poolside by 9am at the latest to ensure you get even one chair, nevermind for your entire party. I sat by the pool at 8:45am, and watched several dads come down (not even in bathing suits), lay their towels down to claim some space, and then go back inside the buildings and not come back out (with the entire family) for an hour and a half! So, keep that in mind. I also didn't like that you couldn't take the beach umbrella's down towards the surf, nor the beach chairs. Since we flew down to Florida, we didn't have our normal beach stuff, I had to sit on the sand while the kids played in the surf, and my husband (who needs to sit under an umbrella and not in direct sunlight) had to sit 100 + feet away. I saw other establishments who allowed their beach equipment further up on the beach. This is definately a family place. There are a lot of children and teenagers. When I noted it was noisy above, it was basically because teens were allowed to run amok in the hallways. Nothing major. The staff is friendly. I liked our accomodations. The flat TVs in the villas are awesome and the villas are well stocked with kitchen supplies. It was a decent ride Daytona Beach and the surrounding areas. Everything about the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Stonewood Tavern & Grill was awesome. Terrific food and drinks and friendly to families with children (but not noisy). Great atmosphere.

Review of The Cove On Ormond Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lora mama-o
Cleveland, TN
May 22, 2009

" The nice but stricked "

I enjoyed the hotel except that you had to go outside the building to smoke. It is 175.00 fine to smoke even on your balcony. It rained most of our trip and they really need to improve the game room most games were broken and no hot tub inside just outside. It would be nice if they had the n. and s. tower connected so you do not have to get drenched in storms to use the game room in north tower or swim in the indoor pool in south tower. They also ,when its pretty outside, play music from the hotel that isnt to everyones liking, espeacially if you like to sleep in. other than that it is a nice place and very clean beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

daytona lagoon is a wonderful place to go, there is something for everyone. The charlie Horse Resteraunt was very good and affordable.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search