$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
View map of 205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
101 reviews
awesome couple trip!!

perfect hotel. staff was very friendly and they have the best coffee ever!! See full review

  • K j b
  • Apr 6, 2015
Girls getaway to Ormond Beach

This hotel was great! As a Best Western rewards member, I was able to get an upgrade to an... See full review

  • Megan F.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Sunshine, sandcastles at Castillo Del Sol oceanfront in Ormond Beach
Appropriately named the “Sun Castle,” sun, sand and a breathtaking ocean are the main attractions at this Ormond Beach hotel. Several miles north of Daytona Beach, Ormond is quieter and less crowded, but still close to attractions and entertainment. Guests flock to the 23-mile beach for sunning and swimming. Nearby are golf courses, shopping, and a state park with fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a short drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Convenient access to the Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier, Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail, Ponce Inlet Lighthouse
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The charming guest rooms at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol are housed in a yellow, seven-story structure just steps from the beach. Many have balconies with sweeping ocean views. Among the room features are pillowtop beds, satellite television and free high-speed wireless Internet access. For a special indulgence, reserve a suite or ocean view room with fully equipped kitchens, or an oceanfront efficiency with a DVD Player, kitchenette and dining area.
Features
The beach in front of the Best Western Castillo del Sol stretches for miles in both directions. Spend lazy days soaking up the sun while the kids build sandcastles and splash in the surf. The hard-packed sand is suited for bike riding, walking or jogging. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and attractions. Go kayaking or fishing at nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a local golf course. Less than five miles south is the Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater.
Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.3 mi /18.2 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.3 mi/129.2 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Tomoka State Park (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Marine Science Center (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.5 mi/113.4 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.7 mi/113.8 km)
  • Disney World (84.5 mi/136 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFT,KITCHN,BALCONY,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,WHIRLPOOL,BALCONY,PARLOR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LANAI,POOL-SUN DECK,KITETT,MICFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Le Crepe
0.05 mile(s) from Le Crepe, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Julians
0.04 mile(s) from Julians, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.07 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Pizza Hut
0.10 mile(s) from Pizza Hut, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
LuLu's Oceanside
0.25 mile(s) from LuLu's Oceanside, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House
5.00 mile(s) from Chart House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Rain
3.00 mile(s) from Rain, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: dinner,
Genovase's Italian
0.05 mile(s) from Genovase's Italian, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Ruby Tuesday
0.09 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Carribean Jacks
4.00 mile(s) from Carribean Jacks, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 101
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Millas
Business
South Florida
Aug 24, 2014

Needs TLC but will give a 2nd chance

The room was clean and so was the bathroom, but the mold and mildew in the shower were apparent, the carpet was old and the hotel overall is run down. The pool was fine. The fact that it is right in front of the water is what makes this a place to stay. We only stayed for the night for an event, we didn't eat the breakfast but we noticed they served hot as well as cold food. We think we will stay for a weekend with the kids and try it out, but we are hesitant. Nice view but you have to go to the balcony window to see it. The beach seemed nice, we've never been to the Daytona Beach area. You usually get what you pay for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at The Crab Stop II, amazing food, nice people. 933 West International Speedway Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rrray ray
Business
Tennessee
Jun 22, 2014

Beware!

The first night we got to the hotel we came into our room to discover that our air conditioner wasn't working properly. We called the front desk and left for dinner. When we returned the air conditioner still had not been fixed. I called the front desk again only to be told that the maintenance guy had replaced our whole unit. I told the girl at the desk that I don't think that had been done since the unit was still not blowing cool air. She didn't seem happy but told me that she'd send the maintenance guy back up. Within 10 minutes the maintenance guy had brought us a new unit and apologized that he had forgotten to come back and replace it. Not a big deal, but a slight inconvenience. Overall the room was fine. The beds were very comfortable, good pillows, and hot water in the bathroom. The carpets felt very dirty and I tried not to walk around without shoes on because of it. We did have $11 in quarters (for laundry) stolen out of our room by a housekeeper I assume. When we informed the front desk we were pretty much told too bad and that we could call the police if we wanted, but the hotel would not be doing anything about it. The rooms have safes in them. I suggest using them for all of your valuables! We didn't think to lock $11 in quarters up- I guess someone was really desperate! Breakfast was a joke. Frozen French toast, a machine that made pancakes, eggs, sausage, and cereal. The good news is Dunkin donuts and IHOP are right across the street! I won't be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tsimmons
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Feb 14, 2014

On the beach

For the price, it was a good value. The air conditioning unit (it appeared fairly new) quit working one evening - reported it to the desk first thing in the morning as we were leaving - still not working when we returned around 4 pm. Had to call a second time to have it repaired. It is their standard not to wash the ceramic coffee mugs orthe coffee pot on a daily basics - I would have thought that would be a daily housekeeping standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Betty's A1A Cafe - great food at a reasonable price - the clam chowder is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teffy72
Business
Tenn
Sep 22, 2013

Awesome!

There was 3 of us staying in the room and the only complaint we had was, we never had the right amount of towels. But the breakfest was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh B. College student22
Business
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Apr 10, 2013

Great staff, location, and clean!

I normally don't write reviews, simply put I just don't typically care enough. But the staff here deserve to be recognized. I stayed there for a week during my university's spring break and I cannot complain what so ever. Every morning we were greeted with smiles, the house cleaning was great and friendly every morning as well. The breakfast is standard sort of chain stuff, but if you want anything more there is an iHop literally 5 minute walk away. The hotel has their own section of the beach feet away and a hotel pool if the water is too cold for you. All in all, it was an amazing experience here. If you want something "ritzy" this might not be the place for you. But if you want something standard with great service, and you're working on a budget this is your place to be hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lemisa
Business
Florida
Dec 21, 2012

Hotel

It was a good experience, I would stay here again and i would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
akron,oh
Mar 27, 2011

not bad

not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
May 22, 2009

great views

room was nice. had efficiency, very roomy. great views from balcony. steps to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
May 22, 2009

great views

room was nice. had efficiency, very roomy. great views from balcony. steps to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 5, 2007

very nice room

The beds were very comfortable in the ocean front effiency. Lighting for use of mirrors could be better. Bathroom was small but usable. Very good view. One elevator not working but not a problem since not many at this time of year in hotel. No charge for parking as at some hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top