$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
83 reviews
Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to... See full review

  • Lady Candy
  • Dec 9, 2013
Stairs

Very busy hotel with the Labor Day weekend. The ice machines were overwhelmed with so many guests... See full review

  • Stair Climber
  • Sep 2, 2014
Sunshine, sandcastles at Castillo Del Sol oceanfront in Ormond Beach
Appropriately named the “Sun Castle,” sun, sand and a breathtaking ocean are the main attractions at this Ormond Beach hotel. Several miles north of Daytona Beach, Ormond is quieter and less crowded, but still close to attractions and entertainment. Guests flock to the 23-mile beach for sunning and swimming. Nearby are golf courses, shopping, and a state park with fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a short drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Convenient access to the Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier, Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail, Ponce Inlet Lighthouse
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The charming guest rooms at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol are housed in a yellow, seven-story structure just steps from the beach. Many have balconies with sweeping ocean views. Among the room features are pillowtop beds, satellite television and free high-speed wireless Internet access. For a special indulgence, reserve a suite or ocean view room with fully equipped kitchens, or an oceanfront efficiency with a DVD Player, kitchenette and dining area.
Features
The beach in front of the Best Western Castillo del Sol stretches for miles in both directions. Spend lazy days soaking up the sun while the kids build sandcastles and splash in the surf. The hard-packed sand is suited for bike riding, walking or jogging. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and attractions. Go kayaking or fishing at nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a local golf course. Less than five miles south is the Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater.
Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.3 mi /18.2 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.3 mi/129.2 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Tomoka State Park (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Marine Science Center (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.5 mi/113.4 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.7 mi/113.8 km)
  • Disney World (84.5 mi/136 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFT,KITCHN,BALCONY,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,WHIRLPOOL,BALCONY,PARLOR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LANAI,POOL-SUN DECK,KITETT,MICFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Le Crepe
0.05 mile(s) from Le Crepe, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Julians
0.04 mile(s) from Julians, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.07 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Pizza Hut
0.10 mile(s) from Pizza Hut, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
LuLu's Oceanside
0.25 mile(s) from LuLu's Oceanside, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House
5.00 mile(s) from Chart House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Rain
3.00 mile(s) from Rain, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: dinner,
Genovase's Italian
0.05 mile(s) from Genovase's Italian, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Ruby Tuesday
0.09 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Carribean Jacks
4.00 mile(s) from Carribean Jacks, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north bend
Jun 22, 2009

welcome view and staff

The view was awesome. We watched dolphins and schools of fish swim from our balcony. Pelicans flew above and below us while having our morning coffee. Steps to the ocean with life guards watching over us and steps to the pool. Staff, especialy [...] were VERY helpful and informative to activities and directions. Our stay was one we will always remember as going to our home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kennedy Space center a great alternative to Disney. Concert at the Band Shell and fireworks were awesome. The flea market was alot of fun with really good produce. Especialy the watermelon. Of course the beach. The lifeguards were tremendous!!! What dedications and concern they showed!!!! Really nice that the hotel had a rinse off station coming back from the beach. So many really nice features all working together to make our stay wonderful!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2010

Clean, quiet and friendly

Helped us get up to our room. Very prompt with questions and helped us with concierge type information

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the Racing North Turn Resturant. Great food at a reasonable price with great ocean views. Daily entertainment every evening with no cover

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs o
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 28, 2012

seafront location

Lovely big family room with own kitchen area. This came in very handy for cold drinks and snacks. The room overlooked the beach which was a lovely location. Would recommend this to anyone to get away for a few days to the beach. Brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Volusia shopping mall only 10 mins away. Ask reception for directions and they give you a map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Candy
Business
Williamston, SC
Dec 9, 2013

Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to front desk to be most helpful and friendly. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to accommodate us. The underground parking was an unexpected amentity. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Will definitely stay here again when we visit Daytona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, FL
Aug 31, 2009

No Complaints

My husband and I went for our anniversary and only stayed one night, but it was great. The room was very clean and the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Ontario Canada
May 2, 2009

Great Reno Rooms and Beach Location

Great customer service. Helped us change the room to what we wanted. All rooms are great and renovated with wireless internet. We had ocenfront rooms, great views. Only thing that was not perfect were the balconies - small and open, no privacy. But the beach and the private hotel yard is just steps away, and we did not spend time on a balcony anyway. We were charged for the breakfast, not quite sure was it included or not, but rooms have nice small kitchen, and we found some organic ingredients in the Publix store that is few minutes away, and few other natural food stores nearby, and were preparing our own organic breakfasts later. Great location, right on the beach, quit beach with some hotels and many private residences nearby, great for walking. Also, new plazas with shops, cafes, restaurants and stores are just minutes - walking distance in both oposite directions, and Ormond Beach is just 3 miles far from Daytona Beach. Easy drive or walk or there is a public transportation for people without car. We rented a car and moved around a lot. Parking was included in the fee as well as the internet. Great stay, would go there again! Perfect for the price we paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pubix store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocala, Fl
Jul 21, 2011

EXCELLENT FAMILY GETAWAY

We love our summer weekend. Staff at front desk was awesome as well the housekeeping. Rooms were clean and big. We had an extra person coming with us in the last minute and the staff was very flexible in giving us a rolling bed. Our children were happy at the pool and beach area. The hotel was full but we didn't have any problems in using accomodations before and after check in and check out. The boardwalk is around 5 min driving,but that is why stay in this place. Because you dont have to fight crowds in the beach to keep an eye on your children. I will sure return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

enjoy all day and after 5 go to the boardwalk, it's a lot of entertainment and outside shows for all the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nc
Sep 26, 2009

unbeatable location and very nice place

great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waco, tx
Jul 5, 2011

ormond beach

awesome great value i enjoyed it as it was our anniversary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sebastian
Nov 12, 2008

GREAT LOCATION , FANTASTIC VIEW

This Best Western was almost brand new. The rooms were very clean and the service was great. We had a balcony and it overlooked the ocean. We found some really good eating places very close by.And the real topper was the price. This was only a one day vacation but it was just what we needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great place to eat was the Stonewood Tavern and Grill. Don't let the name fool you. The food was great and they have food for all tastes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top