$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
83 reviews
Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to... See full review

  • Lady Candy
  • Dec 9, 2013
Stairs

Very busy hotel with the Labor Day weekend. The ice machines were overwhelmed with so many guests... See full review

  • Stair Climber
  • Sep 2, 2014
Sunshine, sandcastles at Castillo Del Sol oceanfront in Ormond Beach
Appropriately named the “Sun Castle,” sun, sand and a breathtaking ocean are the main attractions at this Ormond Beach hotel. Several miles north of Daytona Beach, Ormond is quieter and less crowded, but still close to attractions and entertainment. Guests flock to the 23-mile beach for sunning and swimming. Nearby are golf courses, shopping, and a state park with fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a short drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Convenient access to the Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier, Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail, Ponce Inlet Lighthouse
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The charming guest rooms at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol are housed in a yellow, seven-story structure just steps from the beach. Many have balconies with sweeping ocean views. Among the room features are pillowtop beds, satellite television and free high-speed wireless Internet access. For a special indulgence, reserve a suite or ocean view room with fully equipped kitchens, or an oceanfront efficiency with a DVD Player, kitchenette and dining area.
Features
The beach in front of the Best Western Castillo del Sol stretches for miles in both directions. Spend lazy days soaking up the sun while the kids build sandcastles and splash in the surf. The hard-packed sand is suited for bike riding, walking or jogging. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and attractions. Go kayaking or fishing at nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a local golf course. Less than five miles south is the Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater.
Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.3 mi /18.2 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.3 mi/129.2 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Tomoka State Park (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Marine Science Center (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.5 mi/113.4 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.7 mi/113.8 km)
  • Disney World (84.5 mi/136 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

29.2868 -81.0369
Area served
Port Orange, Jacksonville, Key West, Miami, Altamonte Springs, Tampa, Orlando, Atlanta, Cocoa Beach, Deltona, Fort Myers, Palm Coast, Daytona Beach, Fort Lauderdale, St Augustine, Naples, Daytona Beach Shores, Sanford, Gainsville
Nearby airports
(DAB), 8.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFT,KITCHN,BALCONY,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,WHIRLPOOL,BALCONY,PARLOR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LANAI,POOL-SUN DECK,KITETT,MICFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Le Crepe
0.05 mile(s) from Le Crepe, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Julians
0.04 mile(s) from Julians, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.07 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Pizza Hut
0.10 mile(s) from Pizza Hut, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
LuLu's Oceanside
0.25 mile(s) from LuLu's Oceanside, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House
5.00 mile(s) from Chart House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Rain
3.00 mile(s) from Rain, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: dinner,
Genovase's Italian
0.05 mile(s) from Genovase's Italian, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Ruby Tuesday
0.09 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Carribean Jacks
4.00 mile(s) from Carribean Jacks, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DDYY8
Business
Chicago
Jan 25, 2014

Is that Best Western?

I thought we were going to Best Western chain hotel but was disappointed. It's an old building with some renovations. Hotel personnel was friendly to us. Maybe that's management who does not pay enough attention to so important details ( bugs, non working heating in a room we stayed , rusty metal parts,terrible internet service, dust and dirt...) The best they have is the ocean view. When we got cold and had to stay for 3 days in a room the ocean view kept us positive. Never thought that while spending vacation in Florida you can dream about your apartment in cold Chicago...I don't know what but something is missing in that hotel. It's like we live now in a 21st century and this hotel is from the middle of 20th century...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The French Bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kc1116
Business
Macungie Pa
Mar 9, 2011

STAY AWAY!!!

Do yourself and your family a favor, Stay some place else!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisafitz
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Filthy

Won't let me post review. Hotel was filthy and rooms reeked of cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Charlie Horse was an excellent choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CMOM
Business
Bristol, CT
Nov 2, 2013

Ormond Beach vacation

Hotel needs to be renovated. Mattresses poor and difficult to sleep. View of the ocean was the best part of the stay. Easy access to the beach. Continental breakfast was helpful on a budget. Staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Steve's Famous Diner has great food. It is homemade comfort food. Also Charlie Horse is another good restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love the sunshine
Business
Michigan
Feb 3, 2012

Not that nice

The bed was not very comfortable. The styling was very dated. The deck was not cleaned and there were bird droppings on the railing. Parking was difficult. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a delicious Ice Cream store called Hershey's. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple on needed vacation
Business
henderson, ky
Apr 15, 2013

Not what we were expecting

When we arrived at hotel and checked into our room, it is not what we expected. the room was surface clean. walked into bathroom, there was dirty washcloth hanging from shower rod. Each day we had to call frontdesk to ask for house keeping to bring towels and washclothes to room. Either they had cleaned room did not leave towels, or not cleaned room yet, at 2 in the afternoon. One day I was in the shower when they knocked on door to clean, I asked for them to come back in few minutes, the lady said she couldn't, it was her last room to clean for day. It was noon! Not happy with the housekeeping.. Breakfast was good. Nice deck for sunbathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Toothfairyfouru traveler
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Sep 2, 2013

Mini vaca

The only reason I did not leave to look for another hotel was our staying there only one night and having limited time. Our front door did not close properly, had to force it shut. The balcony door lock did not work. The room had an over all feel of not being clean. I was not happy. There was a frito chip on the bathroom floor and a pool of water the the corner. The bed skirts were very messily put on. All of this contributed to my questioning how well the room was cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
akron,oh
Mar 27, 2011

not bad

not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rrray ray
Business
Tennessee
Jun 22, 2014

Beware!

The first night we got to the hotel we came into our room to discover that our air conditioner wasn't working properly. We called the front desk and left for dinner. When we returned the air conditioner still had not been fixed. I called the front desk again only to be told that the maintenance guy had replaced our whole unit. I told the girl at the desk that I don't think that had been done since the unit was still not blowing cool air. She didn't seem happy but told me that she'd send the maintenance guy back up. Within 10 minutes the maintenance guy had brought us a new unit and apologized that he had forgotten to come back and replace it. Not a big deal, but a slight inconvenience. Overall the room was fine. The beds were very comfortable, good pillows, and hot water in the bathroom. The carpets felt very dirty and I tried not to walk around without shoes on because of it. We did have $11 in quarters (for laundry) stolen out of our room by a housekeeper I assume. When we informed the front desk we were pretty much told too bad and that we could call the police if we wanted, but the hotel would not be doing anything about it. The rooms have safes in them. I suggest using them for all of your valuables! We didn't think to lock $11 in quarters up- I guess someone was really desperate! Breakfast was a joke. Frozen French toast, a machine that made pancakes, eggs, sausage, and cereal. The good news is Dunkin donuts and IHOP are right across the street! I won't be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tsimmons
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Feb 14, 2014

On the beach

For the price, it was a good value. The air conditioning unit (it appeared fairly new) quit working one evening - reported it to the desk first thing in the morning as we were leaving - still not working when we returned around 4 pm. Had to call a second time to have it repaired. It is their standard not to wash the ceramic coffee mugs orthe coffee pot on a daily basics - I would have thought that would be a daily housekeeping standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Betty's A1A Cafe - great food at a reasonable price - the clam chowder is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top