$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
View map of 205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D family travel agent
Business
New Baltimore, MI
Apr 3, 2013

A couple of days at the beach

Good hotel for the price. Clean. Breakfast was typical complimentary breakfast. Only stayed two nights which was perfect for us. Would have stayed at a condo w/kitchenette if we would have stayed for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive a little south on Atlantic Avenue to find mini-golf, restaurants & beach shops. It's just about a mile away. Or you could drive about 10 minutes to see the Speedway & other dining/shopping options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisafitz
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Filthy

Won't let me post review. Hotel was filthy and rooms reeked of cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Charlie Horse was an excellent choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterswife
Business
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Beach

Breakfast was great!! The room was nice but the kitchen supplies were sparse so I had to go our & buy things for our short stay to use in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BikerDaddy
Business
South Carolina
Mar 20, 2013

Bike Week

Rooms are clean and everything works. The lobby staff is friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff could be a little more flexible. When asked to come to come back in a little while because we were not ready they said no. It was now only because they had things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lemisa
Business
Florida
Dec 21, 2012

Hotel

It was a good experience, I would stay here again and i would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PaPa2012
Business
Wylie, Texas
Dec 19, 2012

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was clean, but not spotless. Beds seemed a little dated. Great view of the ocean and a fair value at pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naketa
Business
orlando,, florida
Dec 4, 2012

great place to relax

my husband and i just needed to getaway. just wanted some place to spend a relaxing weekend at the beach and this place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hpy Cupl
Business
Florida
Nov 13, 2012

Good Couples Getaway

The fire pit was a good touch. Although the other hotels around us had shuffleboard and hot tubs, this one had a large pool and a large sunbathing area. The front desk crew was very pleasant; the housekeeping staff, not so much. Understand the difference between "oceanvw" and "oceanft." I missed it and thought we were getting an oceanfront view. It cost me $10 more per night to upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the coupons at the hotel to get $ off meals and gift shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs o
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 28, 2012

seafront location

Lovely big family room with own kitchen area. This came in very handy for cold drinks and snacks. The room overlooked the beach which was a lovely location. Would recommend this to anyone to get away for a few days to the beach. Brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Volusia shopping mall only 10 mins away. Ask reception for directions and they give you a map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tidermom
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 14, 2012

Great location, nice room, good value

We were very pleased with our room - it had been recently updated with granite counters in the bathroom. We also had a sink, counter and refrigerator. The balcony did have a good view of the ocean. The TV was old, but we barely used it. The pool area was clean with plenty of places to sit. The beach is just down a few stairs with a lifeguard close by. The breakfast was fine but the pancake maker was broken and not fixed during our stay.The location was great - quieter than bigger beaches, which is our preference. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a great place to eat just over the bridge in Ormond Beach called Hulls - it had fantastic seafood at a decent price, We actually returned a second time to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top