$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
83 reviews
Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to... See full review

  • Lady Candy
  • Dec 9, 2013
Stairs

Very busy hotel with the Labor Day weekend. The ice machines were overwhelmed with so many guests... See full review

  • Stair Climber
  • Sep 2, 2014
Sunshine, sandcastles at Castillo Del Sol oceanfront in Ormond Beach
Appropriately named the “Sun Castle,” sun, sand and a breathtaking ocean are the main attractions at this Ormond Beach hotel. Several miles north of Daytona Beach, Ormond is quieter and less crowded, but still close to attractions and entertainment. Guests flock to the 23-mile beach for sunning and swimming. Nearby are golf courses, shopping, and a state park with fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a short drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Convenient access to the Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier, Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail, Ponce Inlet Lighthouse
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The charming guest rooms at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol are housed in a yellow, seven-story structure just steps from the beach. Many have balconies with sweeping ocean views. Among the room features are pillowtop beds, satellite television and free high-speed wireless Internet access. For a special indulgence, reserve a suite or ocean view room with fully equipped kitchens, or an oceanfront efficiency with a DVD Player, kitchenette and dining area.
Features
The beach in front of the Best Western Castillo del Sol stretches for miles in both directions. Spend lazy days soaking up the sun while the kids build sandcastles and splash in the surf. The hard-packed sand is suited for bike riding, walking or jogging. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and attractions. Go kayaking or fishing at nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a local golf course. Less than five miles south is the Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater.
Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.3 mi /18.2 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.3 mi/129.2 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Tomoka State Park (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Marine Science Center (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.5 mi/113.4 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.7 mi/113.8 km)
  • Disney World (84.5 mi/136 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

29.2868 -81.0369
Area served
Port Orange, Jacksonville, Key West, Miami, Altamonte Springs, Tampa, Orlando, Atlanta, Cocoa Beach, Deltona, Fort Myers, Palm Coast, Daytona Beach, Fort Lauderdale, St Augustine, Naples, Daytona Beach Shores, Sanford, Gainsville
Nearby airports
(DAB), 8.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFT,KITCHN,BALCONY,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,WHIRLPOOL,BALCONY,PARLOR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LANAI,POOL-SUN DECK,KITETT,MICFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Le Crepe
0.05 mile(s) from Le Crepe, Full Service, French, Open for: dinner,
Julians
0.04 mile(s) from Julians, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Burger King
0.07 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Pizza Hut
0.10 mile(s) from Pizza Hut, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
LuLu's Oceanside
0.25 mile(s) from LuLu's Oceanside, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House
5.00 mile(s) from Chart House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Rain
3.00 mile(s) from Rain, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: dinner,
Genovase's Italian
0.05 mile(s) from Genovase's Italian, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Ruby Tuesday
0.09 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Carribean Jacks
4.00 mile(s) from Carribean Jacks, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naketa
orlando,, florida
Dec 4, 2012

great place to relax

my husband and i just needed to getaway. just wanted some place to spend a relaxing weekend at the beach and this place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterswife
Business
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Beach

Breakfast was great!! The room was nice but the kitchen supplies were sparse so I had to go our & buy things for our short stay to use in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BikerDaddy
Business
South Carolina
Mar 20, 2013

Bike Week

Rooms are clean and everything works. The lobby staff is friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff could be a little more flexible. When asked to come to come back in a little while because we were not ready they said no. It was now only because they had things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lemisa
Business
Florida
Dec 21, 2012

Hotel

It was a good experience, I would stay here again and i would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PaPa2012
Business
Wylie, Texas
Dec 19, 2012

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was clean, but not spotless. Beds seemed a little dated. Great view of the ocean and a fair value at pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naketa
Business
orlando,, florida
Dec 4, 2012

great place to relax

my husband and i just needed to getaway. just wanted some place to spend a relaxing weekend at the beach and this place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hpy Cupl
Business
Florida
Nov 13, 2012

Good Couples Getaway

The fire pit was a good touch. Although the other hotels around us had shuffleboard and hot tubs, this one had a large pool and a large sunbathing area. The front desk crew was very pleasant; the housekeeping staff, not so much. Understand the difference between "oceanvw" and "oceanft." I missed it and thought we were getting an oceanfront view. It cost me $10 more per night to upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the coupons at the hotel to get $ off meals and gift shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs o
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 28, 2012

seafront location

Lovely big family room with own kitchen area. This came in very handy for cold drinks and snacks. The room overlooked the beach which was a lovely location. Would recommend this to anyone to get away for a few days to the beach. Brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Volusia shopping mall only 10 mins away. Ask reception for directions and they give you a map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tidermom
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 14, 2012

Great location, nice room, good value

We were very pleased with our room - it had been recently updated with granite counters in the bathroom. We also had a sink, counter and refrigerator. The balcony did have a good view of the ocean. The TV was old, but we barely used it. The pool area was clean with plenty of places to sit. The beach is just down a few stairs with a lifeguard close by. The breakfast was fine but the pancake maker was broken and not fixed during our stay.The location was great - quieter than bigger beaches, which is our preference. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a great place to eat just over the bridge in Ormond Beach called Hulls - it had fantastic seafood at a decent price, We actually returned a second time to eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunni
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 10, 2012

Good Room -

The staff and the amenities were good - however average for this type of hotel. They did have a problem with the satellite tv channels which made my NASCAR watching husband upset and we retreated to a local tavern to watch the race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Active Couple
Business
Naples, FL
May 6, 2012

Traveling solo for rest, relaxation and reflection

This hotel was right on the beach, close to Daytona. It beats right in Daytona. A lot more quiet, and relaxing. Had trouble with the vending machines and there aren't many restaurants within walking distance so bring some snacks/drinks with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you have your own drinks and/or snacks as there is no restaurant on site and the vending machines aren't reliable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top