$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
View map of 205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ocala, Fl
Jul 21, 2011

EXCELLENT FAMILY GETAWAY

We love our summer weekend. Staff at front desk was awesome as well the housekeeping. Rooms were clean and big. We had an extra person coming with us in the last minute and the staff was very flexible in giving us a rolling bed. Our children were happy at the pool and beach area. The hotel was full but we didn't have any problems in using accomodations before and after check in and check out. The boardwalk is around 5 min driving,but that is why stay in this place. Because you dont have to fight crowds in the beach to keep an eye on your children. I will sure return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

enjoy all day and after 5 go to the boardwalk, it's a lot of entertainment and outside shows for all the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie 2
Business
Rochester, New Hampshire
Apr 18, 2013

Family Wedding

The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. We asked for a lower level and they gave it to us. We also had asked for a handicapped room to accommodate my mom, unfortunately didn't have one. Hard for her to maneuver around on the high beds, and low toilet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
this is a hassel
Business
ny
Apr 18, 2013

good location

motel was located on beach, and just a short distance from resturant and a small mall. nice overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
couple on needed vacation
Business
henderson, ky
Apr 15, 2013

Not what we were expecting

When we arrived at hotel and checked into our room, it is not what we expected. the room was surface clean. walked into bathroom, there was dirty washcloth hanging from shower rod. Each day we had to call frontdesk to ask for house keeping to bring towels and washclothes to room. Either they had cleaned room did not leave towels, or not cleaned room yet, at 2 in the afternoon. One day I was in the shower when they knocked on door to clean, I asked for them to come back in few minutes, the lady said she couldn't, it was her last room to clean for day. It was noon! Not happy with the housekeeping.. Breakfast was good. Nice deck for sunbathing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Empty Nester james
Business
Jacksonville
Apr 15, 2013

Couple retreat

Just needed to get away for the weekend. Had a great time! The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
log899
Business
Holland, MI
Apr 12, 2013

Good family spring break

We had a good experience staying at this hotel. It started out a little rough. We got there at 2:30 after driving for 2 days to see if we could get in our room 30 minutes early. We didn't end up getting into our room until 5, 2 hours after check in which was frustrating. After that we didn't have any problems. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. They had a great selection for breakfast every morning. The pool was nice and there was easy access to the beach. There was free parking and we never had trouble finding a spot. The location was good for us being right on the ocean. There were lots of restaurants near by, however only one or two were within walking distance. Overall it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh B. College student22
Business
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Apr 10, 2013

Great staff, location, and clean!

I normally don't write reviews, simply put I just don't typically care enough. But the staff here deserve to be recognized. I stayed there for a week during my university's spring break and I cannot complain what so ever. Every morning we were greeted with smiles, the house cleaning was great and friendly every morning as well. The breakfast is standard sort of chain stuff, but if you want anything more there is an iHop literally 5 minute walk away. The hotel has their own section of the beach feet away and a hotel pool if the water is too cold for you. All in all, it was an amazing experience here. If you want something "ritzy" this might not be the place for you. But if you want something standard with great service, and you're working on a budget this is your place to be hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy and Daughter
Business
Charlotte
Apr 6, 2013

Typical Beach Hotel

Location was the best attribute. Hotel was dated and had very limited parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP located across the street offered a much better alternative for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D family travel agent
Business
New Baltimore, MI
Apr 3, 2013

A couple of days at the beach

Good hotel for the price. Clean. Breakfast was typical complimentary breakfast. Only stayed two nights which was perfect for us. Would have stayed at a condo w/kitchenette if we would have stayed for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive a little south on Atlantic Avenue to find mini-golf, restaurants & beach shops. It's just about a mile away. Or you could drive about 10 minutes to see the Speedway & other dining/shopping options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisafitz
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Filthy

Won't let me post review. Hotel was filthy and rooms reeked of cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Charlie Horse was an excellent choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterswife
Business
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Beach

Breakfast was great!! The room was nice but the kitchen supplies were sparse so I had to go our & buy things for our short stay to use in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top