$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
78 reviews
Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to... See full review

  • Lady Candy
  • Dec 9, 2013
Nice location, Nice view

very nice view from balcony. breakfast is okay. Kids have wonderful time waling on beach. See full review

  • waterleaf
  • Dec 9, 2013
Sunshine, sandcastles at Castillo Del Sol oceanfront in Ormond Beach
Appropriately named the “Sun Castle,” sun, sand and a breathtaking ocean are the main attractions at this Ormond Beach hotel. Several miles north of Daytona Beach, Ormond is quieter and less crowded, but still close to attractions and entertainment. Guests flock to the 23-mile beach for sunning and swimming. Nearby are golf courses, shopping, and a state park with fishing, kayaking and canoeing. The Daytona speedway is a short drive away. Within 85 miles are destinations such as Kennedy Space Center, Disney theme parks and Universal Studios.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Convenient access to the Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier, Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail, Ponce Inlet Lighthouse
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The charming guest rooms at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol are housed in a yellow, seven-story structure just steps from the beach. Many have balconies with sweeping ocean views. Among the room features are pillowtop beds, satellite television and free high-speed wireless Internet access. For a special indulgence, reserve a suite or ocean view room with fully equipped kitchens, or an oceanfront efficiency with a DVD Player, kitchenette and dining area.
Features
The beach in front of the Best Western Castillo del Sol stretches for miles in both directions. Spend lazy days soaking up the sun while the kids build sandcastles and splash in the surf. The hard-packed sand is suited for bike riding, walking or jogging. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and attractions. Go kayaking or fishing at nearby Tomoka State Park, or head to a local golf course. Less than five miles south is the Daytona Lagoon water park and Ocean Walk Shoppes, which boasts a 10-screen movie theater.
Transportation
  • I-95 (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Daytona International Airport (11.3 mi /18.2 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (80.3 mi/129.2 km)
Attractions
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Tomoka State Park (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (16.3 mi/26.2 km)
  • Marine Science Center (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Universal Studios (70.5 mi/113.4 Km)
  • Kennedy Space Center (70.7 mi/113.8 km)
  • Disney World (84.5 mi/136 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

29.2868 -81.0369
Area served
Altamonte Springs, Orlando, Daytona Beach, Key West, Atlanta, Port Orange, Jacksonville, Sanford, Fort Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Tampa, Gainsville, Daytona Beach Shores, Naples, Palm Coast, Deltona, Cocoa Beach, St Augustine, Miami
Nearby airports
(DAB), 8.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCEANFT,KITCHN,BALCONY,HI SPEED NET,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,OCEANVW,BALCONY,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVIEW,WHIRLPOOL,BALCONY,PARLOR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LANAI,POOL-SUN DECK,KITETT,MICFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Pizza Hut
0.10 mile(s) from Pizza Hut, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Peach Valley Cafe
0.05 mile(s) from Peach Valley Cafe, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch,
Rain
3.00 mile(s) from Rain, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: dinner,
Ruby Tuesday
0.09 mile(s) from Ruby Tuesday, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Bone Fish
0.06 mile(s) from Bone Fish, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Asian Buffet
0.09 mile(s) from Asian Buffet, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Charlie Horse
0.06 mile(s) from Charlie Horse, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Stonewood Grill
0.04 mile(s) from Stonewood Grill, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chart House
5.00 mile(s) from Chart House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
LuLu's Oceanside
0.25 mile(s) from LuLu's Oceanside, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
log899
Holland, MI
Apr 12, 2013

Good family spring break

We had a good experience staying at this hotel. It started out a little rough. We got there at 2:30 after driving for 2 days to see if we could get in our room 30 minutes early. We didn't end up getting into our room until 5, 2 hours after check in which was frustrating. After that we didn't have any problems. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a balcony with a great view of the ocean. They had a great selection for breakfast every morning. The pool was nice and there was easy access to the beach. There was free parking and we never had trouble finding a spot. The location was good for us being right on the ocean. There were lots of restaurants near by, however only one or two were within walking distance. Overall it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh B. College student22
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Apr 10, 2013

Great staff, location, and clean!

I normally don't write reviews, simply put I just don't typically care enough. But the staff here deserve to be recognized. I stayed there for a week during my university's spring break and I cannot complain what so ever. Every morning we were greeted with smiles, the house cleaning was great and friendly every morning as well. The breakfast is standard sort of chain stuff, but if you want anything more there is an iHop literally 5 minute walk away. The hotel has their own section of the beach feet away and a hotel pool if the water is too cold for you. All in all, it was an amazing experience here. If you want something "ritzy" this might not be the place for you. But if you want something standard with great service, and you're working on a budget this is your place to be hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy and Daughter
Charlotte
Apr 6, 2013

Typical Beach Hotel

Location was the best attribute. Hotel was dated and had very limited parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP located across the street offered a much better alternative for breakfast.

Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D family travel agent
New Baltimore, MI
Apr 3, 2013

A couple of days at the beach

Good hotel for the price. Clean. Breakfast was typical complimentary breakfast. Only stayed two nights which was perfect for us. Would have stayed at a condo w/kitchenette if we would have stayed for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive a little south on Atlantic Avenue to find mini-golf, restaurants & beach shops. It's just about a mile away. Or you could drive about 10 minutes to see the Speedway & other dining/shopping options.

Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisafitz
Albany, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Filthy

Won't let me post review. Hotel was filthy and rooms reeked of cigarette smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Charlie Horse was an excellent choice for dinner.

Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterswife
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Beach

Breakfast was great!! The room was nice but the kitchen supplies were sparse so I had to go our & buy things for our short stay to use in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BikerDaddy
South Carolina
Mar 20, 2013

Bike Week

Rooms are clean and everything works. The lobby staff is friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff could be a little more flexible. When asked to come to come back in a little while because we were not ready they said no. It was now only because they had things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lemisa
Florida
Dec 21, 2012

Hotel

It was a good experience, I would stay here again and i would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PaPa2012
Wylie, Texas
Dec 19, 2012

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was clean, but not spotless. Beds seemed a little dated. Great view of the ocean and a fair value at pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
naketa
orlando,, florida
Dec 4, 2012

great place to relax

my husband and i just needed to getaway. just wanted some place to spend a relaxing weekend at the beach and this place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search