$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

3 stars
View map of 205 S Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
this is a hassel
ny
Apr 18, 2013

good location

motel was located on beach, and just a short distance from resturant and a small mall. nice overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tsimmons
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Feb 14, 2014

On the beach

For the price, it was a good value. The air conditioning unit (it appeared fairly new) quit working one evening - reported it to the desk first thing in the morning as we were leaving - still not working when we returned around 4 pm. Had to call a second time to have it repaired. It is their standard not to wash the ceramic coffee mugs orthe coffee pot on a daily basics - I would have thought that would be a daily housekeeping standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Betty's A1A Cafe - great food at a reasonable price - the clam chowder is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DDYY8
Business
Chicago
Jan 25, 2014

Is that Best Western?

I thought we were going to Best Western chain hotel but was disappointed. It's an old building with some renovations. Hotel personnel was friendly to us. Maybe that's management who does not pay enough attention to so important details ( bugs, non working heating in a room we stayed , rusty metal parts,terrible internet service, dust and dirt...) The best they have is the ocean view. When we got cold and had to stay for 3 days in a room the ocean view kept us positive. Never thought that while spending vacation in Florida you can dream about your apartment in cold Chicago...I don't know what but something is missing in that hotel. It's like we live now in a 21st century and this hotel is from the middle of 20th century...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The French Bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocean loverroom
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Dec 12, 2013

nice,clean

friendly staff. Pool in shade by noon. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
waterleaf
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 9, 2013

Nice location, Nice view

very nice view from balcony. breakfast is okay. Kids have wonderful time waling on beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Candy
Business
Williamston, SC
Dec 9, 2013

Excellent Hotel

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and found the entire staff from maintenance to cleaning to front desk to be most helpful and friendly. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to accommodate us. The underground parking was an unexpected amentity. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Will definitely stay here again when we visit Daytona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CMOM
Business
Bristol, CT
Nov 2, 2013

Ormond Beach vacation

Hotel needs to be renovated. Mattresses poor and difficult to sleep. View of the ocean was the best part of the stay. Easy access to the beach. Continental breakfast was helpful on a budget. Staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Steve's Famous Diner has great food. It is homemade comfort food. Also Charlie Horse is another good restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gunnye
Business
Conyers, Ga.
Oct 3, 2013

Vacation

Overall a good exp. Room could have been cleaner & tub should have been cleaned daily. Pigeon droppings were on patio & chairs, not good. Love bugs were a nuisance but it was the season. Free breakfast was not good. No micro. to heat pastry. Great view of ocean! Good value for room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teffy72
Business
Tenn
Sep 22, 2013

Awesome!

There was 3 of us staying in the room and the only complaint we had was, we never had the right amount of towels. But the breakfest was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Wiz 10
Business
El Paso TX
Sep 13, 2013

Great location

Close to the beach, all you need and the price is right .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Toothfairyfouru traveler
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Sep 2, 2013

Mini vaca

The only reason I did not leave to look for another hotel was our staying there only one night and having limited time. Our front door did not close properly, had to force it shut. The balcony door lock did not work. The room had an over all feel of not being clean. I was not happy. There was a frito chip on the bathroom floor and a pool of water the the corner. The bed skirts were very messily put on. All of this contributed to my questioning how well the room was cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top