$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thatsall
Couples
Florida, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Very nice

Very nice & comfortable. Front desk staff helpful @ onset of stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Chick
Family
Maryland, USA
Jan 8, 2012

It was ok for a night or two

Hotel was fine except on the 2nd night, we woke up at 4 in the morning with ants all over the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KWB1
Couples
Newark, DE, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Classy

This hotel is a cut above others we have stayed in. Appearance and staff were outstanding! Will stay at a Wyndham from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J.P.
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Nice 3-star hotel

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend. It's location is great as it's down the street from Universal Studios (we were in town for Halloween Horror Nights) and has half a dozen fast food places right in front of it (good for those who wake up too late to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast). The hotel itself is nice. But there were two things that put me off. The staff member that initially checked me in took about 10 minutes to do so; she seemed to be the new person the other staff member later referenced. Anyway, she assigned me a room on the first floor that was intended for a handicapped person; just a little odd for the girlfriend and I who preferred to have a tub in the bathroom. Plus, right outside the window is the parking lot. We had our room switched to another; the new room was on the third floor, room 301. 301 was comfortable because it was at the end of the hall which felt better in terms of privacy. Here's the other big issue... Unfortunately, the room smelled like someone had been chain smoking in there. After a couple minutes in the room, we couldn't tell anymore but it was unpleasant regardless. This room had a king bed just as how I had booked it and a sofabed. The sofabed seemed to retain most of the odor so we kind of avoided it. And sometimes we could smell weed in our room; seemed like the guests in the room across from ours were the culprits. That wasn't the hotel's fault but I found it unpleasant nonetheless. The amenities were fine. Plenty of towels in the bathroom, working fridge and a working microwave (well, I assume it worked because we didn't use it). AC unit by the window was working fine, too.) The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything great. It was the standard cereal, milk, muffins and waffle maker stuff. They had juice and water available but none of it was great. Same went for the bagels. I could eat it no problem but my girlfriend didn't enjoy it at all. So the hotel itself is in a prime location, it looks nice, and the rooms look nice but I wish the room didn't smell and the breakfast had been better. And oh yeah, Sunday morning the cleaning lady walked in because someone had take our 'Please do not disturb' sign off our room door. That was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad and Lindsay
Couples
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great location and price

We had a great time...this hotelbis in a wonderful location and has a great breakfast, a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is awesome and served till 10am!!!

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReviewGirl
Couples
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Hotel stay

We only stayed for one night, but it was a clean room with a fridge and close to entertainment. It had everything we needed and was a comfortable and clean room. If you plan on getting breaksfast, get there early.The breaksfast area gets crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uncle
Tallahassee, FL, USA
Sep 6, 2011

How cold could a room get

Overall Wingate was a good Hotel. Close to Universal Studios, decent breakfast. The room was relatively nice and clean however...the air conditioning was either on and as cold as the arctic or off and hot as it was outside. No in-between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

decent restaurants in the vicinity but you have to drive. Don't try ordering the Pizza from the flyer they left under the door...longest wait I ever have had...finally hung up.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dulcita
Family
Miami
Aug 26, 2011

Great Hotel had a perfect minivacation

Staff were great, clean rooms and a very good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi's Gwamma
Couples
Fort Myers
Aug 14, 2011

Almost perfect for the price

I was very pleasantly surprised checking in here. I am very particular when it comes to hotels but in this economy, you have to look for better deals. For the area, close to everything especially if you know your way around, the price couldn't be beat. It was nice and clean, the room was large and had everything you need including the mini fridge and microwave. Great coffee pods and comfy beds. The only thing I had a problem with at all was the air conditioner, it would stay on all day but at night it would turn off and on. When it was off the room got warm for a bit and for me that is a problem. I need an arctic room to sleep in. It's an aging lady thing. I would recommend this place to anyone who doesn't have to sleep in Alaska.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For food, this place is great. Just east on Kirkman you have Tijuana flats or a little further up on Kirkman; you get the best soul food I have had since my childhood days in Georgia. Check out Mama Nems, line can be long to get in, but totally worth it.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dulcita
Family
Miami
Jul 26, 2011

Good place to stay a few nights.

The hotel in general is good, staff is great, the breakfast is very good but they need a bigger place to fit everybody,did not like the pool too much is not very coozy. Overall yes it is a good place to stay a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top