$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Glen
Business
Glen Allen, Virginia
Jun 8, 2012

A Nice Place to Unwind

I found this hotel to be convenient to tourist attractions without being smack in the middle of all that business and hipper activity. It was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. I did find the rooms to be somewhat "old" in regards to carpet, furniture, etc... but it felt clean and the staff did a good job cleaning the room daily. The room also came equipped with a microwave, refrig and key entry safe for valuables. The breakfast bar left a little to be desired but deserves a fair to average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 1/2 mile west from the hotel are two very good restaurants within the same strip mall: a mexican restaurant and Bubbalou's Boddacious BarBque. Both places were delicious! I would highly recommend them if you're looking to go where tourist do not abound and it's not the same chain restaurants you are used to patronizing. This hotel is also fairly close to the Premium Outlets which was a nice bonus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PhilGreen14
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
May 29, 2012

Great stay and value for universal parks experience

Very nice place. Lots to do close by. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Just a bit over a mile walk from universal studieos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rajt
Business
Thousand Oaks, ca
Mar 12, 2012

decent hotel

it was nice clean hotel, family oriented, the Jacuzzi didn't work well, the gym was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWO2
Business
California, USA
Jan 31, 2012

GREAT LOCATION -

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS WERE CLEAN, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND COURTIOUS AND THE PRICE WAS RIGHT NO COMPLAINTS. I WAS ON BUSINESS BUT I SAW FAMILIES THERE AND THEY SEEMED TO ENJOY IT AS WELL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thatsall
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Very nice

Very nice & comfortable. Front desk staff helpful @ onset of stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Chick
Business
Maryland, USA
Jan 8, 2012

It was ok for a night or two

Hotel was fine except on the 2nd night, we woke up at 4 in the morning with ants all over the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KWB1
Business
Newark, DE, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Classy

This hotel is a cut above others we have stayed in. Appearance and staff were outstanding! Will stay at a Wyndham from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoMismo
Business
Puerto Rico
Nov 1, 2011

Windgate at Universal

Great location if your plan is going to Universal Studios. Only one shuttle to Universal at 8:55AM. Good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Universal Studios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.J.P.
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Nice 3-star hotel

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend. It's location is great as it's down the street from Universal Studios (we were in town for Halloween Horror Nights) and has half a dozen fast food places right in front of it (good for those who wake up too late to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast). The hotel itself is nice. But there were two things that put me off. The staff member that initially checked me in took about 10 minutes to do so; she seemed to be the new person the other staff member later referenced. Anyway, she assigned me a room on the first floor that was intended for a handicapped person; just a little odd for the girlfriend and I who preferred to have a tub in the bathroom. Plus, right outside the window is the parking lot. We had our room switched to another; the new room was on the third floor, room 301. 301 was comfortable because it was at the end of the hall which felt better in terms of privacy. Here's the other big issue... Unfortunately, the room smelled like someone had been chain smoking in there. After a couple minutes in the room, we couldn't tell anymore but it was unpleasant regardless. This room had a king bed just as how I had booked it and a sofabed. The sofabed seemed to retain most of the odor so we kind of avoided it. And sometimes we could smell weed in our room; seemed like the guests in the room across from ours were the culprits. That wasn't the hotel's fault but I found it unpleasant nonetheless. The amenities were fine. Plenty of towels in the bathroom, working fridge and a working microwave (well, I assume it worked because we didn't use it). AC unit by the window was working fine, too.) The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything great. It was the standard cereal, milk, muffins and waffle maker stuff. They had juice and water available but none of it was great. Same went for the bagels. I could eat it no problem but my girlfriend didn't enjoy it at all. So the hotel itself is in a prime location, it looks nice, and the rooms look nice but I wish the room didn't smell and the breakfast had been better. And oh yeah, Sunday morning the cleaning lady walked in because someone had take our 'Please do not disturb' sign off our room door. That was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad and Lindsay
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great location and price

We had a great time...this hotelbis in a wonderful location and has a great breakfast, a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is awesome and served till 10am!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top