$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TooDusty
Business
Nowhere man
Feb 23, 2013

Room needed a good cleaning

First room we were given had defective a.c. unit were given another room which was much better. Room was extremely dusty and smelled musty without th a.c. on high. The bureaus and night table were covered with dust even after having staff clean the room. WiFi was terrible, could not stay connected. Breakfast was okay, need additional toasters and waffle makers, rude guests were more of an issue. Shuttle to Universal was okay, but there should be a return to the hotel at lunch time. There is a return shuttle too late in the afternoon. Sorry, would not stay there in the future A lounge would be a welcome addition for the adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reunion attender
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 30, 2013

some good, some bad

Booked a King room and only had 2 double beds available "due to mechanical problems". When we arrived in room w/2 doubles, tried to call front desk but the phone didn't work. Breakfast was handy and staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jan 21, 2013

Great weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I were looking for a location close to Universal Studios and we were not disappointed. The hotel is clean, the staff was courteous. The breakfast wasn't the best, but it was good enough for families on a budget. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elliebelle
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 15, 2013

weekend escape

the lighting in the room did not for/ the phones did not work/ there were two holes in the curtains/ the tub was advertised as a "spa" tub when in fact, it was not and the nonslip covering was peeling up and dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Dad
Business
Philadelphia, Pa.
Jan 3, 2013

Easy Location

We used the hotel as a base for a 2 day trip to Universal. The Staff was helpful. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. Most importantly, it was about a mile from Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girly girl516
Business
Long Island, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Couple getaway

I was a little afraid when i first book it but once i got there, everything from the staff to the cleanliness for the room was great! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OccasionalTraveler
Business
The Midwest, USA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel with a couple of caveats...

The Wingate is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel located about 1/2 mile from Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure. The managers were helpful and readily available to answer questions. The room was spacious, and the massaging shower head in the bathroom was a good perk. My wife and I enjoyed the free hot breakfast. The only disappointing thing about the hotel is that we did not get early admission to the Harry Potter rides for staying there. Online, we read that staying in a Universal partner hotel would get us early admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that only people who booked through Universal received early admission. The hotel did have a nice bus service that took us to the parks just before opening and picked us up near closing time. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book this hotel through Universal if you want any of the special deals advertised on the Universal site, like early admission to Harry Potter. If you book the hotel on your own, you will not get the advertised perk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myfirst
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2012

universal

The ac was on low when we arrived so the room had wet carpet smell the moisture also left the beds feeling damp. Once the AC was put on it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose j
Business
Colombia
Aug 23, 2012

perfect to be in universal

Great hotel, perfect place if you are going to visit universal studios. 5 minutes in car/taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal studios - island of adventure - citywalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
readingrach
Business
Rose Hill, Kansas
Aug 10, 2012

Outstanding value! An extremely pleasant surprise!!

This hotel is an amazing value. Very nice inside, appears recently updated with granite countertops, etc. Very helpful and friendly staff, responded promptly when we arrived back from a hot day at a local amusement park to find our A/C had been out all day. It was quickly fixed. Other than that, our stay was perfect. This place even gives you a pretty good, hot breakfast as part of the already low rate we paid. We didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that. Room was very clean, with comfy pillows and beds. Beautiful lobby-even the hallways and elevators were climate controlled, unlike some places we've stayed before. This is a must-stay place for families looking for affordable accomodations in Orlando!!! A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to Universal Studios, be sure to get the express passes, which you can purchase from a kiosk in the hotel lobby! They are expensive but will save you a TON of time, as you won't have to wait in the long lines at the rides and attractions! Take extra clothes and waterproof shoes along to the park if you plan to go on any of the great water rides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top