$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girly girl516
Long Island, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Couple getaway

I was a little afraid when i first book it but once i got there, everything from the staff to the cleanliness for the room was great! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OccasionalTraveler
The Midwest, USA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel with a couple of caveats...

The Wingate is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel located about 1/2 mile from Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure. The managers were helpful and readily available to answer questions. The room was spacious, and the massaging shower head in the bathroom was a good perk. My wife and I enjoyed the free hot breakfast. The only disappointing thing about the hotel is that we did not get early admission to the Harry Potter rides for staying there. Online, we read that staying in a Universal partner hotel would get us early admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that only people who booked through Universal received early admission. The hotel did have a nice bus service that took us to the parks just before opening and picked us up near closing time. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book this hotel through Universal if you want any of the special deals advertised on the Universal site, like early admission to Harry Potter. If you book the hotel on your own, you will not get the advertised perk.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myfirst
New York
Aug 31, 2012

universal

The ac was on low when we arrived so the room had wet carpet smell the moisture also left the beds feeling damp. Once the AC was put on it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to universal studios

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose j
Colombia
Aug 23, 2012

perfect to be in universal

Great hotel, perfect place if you are going to visit universal studios. 5 minutes in car/taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal studios - island of adventure - citywalk

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
readingrach
Rose Hill, Kansas
Aug 10, 2012

Outstanding value! An extremely pleasant surprise!!

This hotel is an amazing value. Very nice inside, appears recently updated with granite countertops, etc. Very helpful and friendly staff, responded promptly when we arrived back from a hot day at a local amusement park to find our A/C had been out all day. It was quickly fixed. Other than that, our stay was perfect. This place even gives you a pretty good, hot breakfast as part of the already low rate we paid. We didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that. Room was very clean, with comfy pillows and beds. Beautiful lobby-even the hallways and elevators were climate controlled, unlike some places we've stayed before. This is a must-stay place for families looking for affordable accomodations in Orlando!!! A++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to Universal Studios, be sure to get the express passes, which you can purchase from a kiosk in the hotel lobby! They are expensive but will save you a TON of time, as you won't have to wait in the long lines at the rides and attractions! Take extra clothes and waterproof shoes along to the park if you plan to go on any of the great water rides.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosannamj
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jul 26, 2012

Great location! Great staff!! Not very Eco friendly:(

Great stay!!! It was 5 minutes away from Universal, great restaurants near hotel and the staff were super friendly! The only downer was the hot breakfast... Not great and they gave us styrofoam plates and cups!! At least use paper plates!!! Overall my family and I had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Glen
Glen Allen, Virginia
Jun 8, 2012

A Nice Place to Unwind

I found this hotel to be convenient to tourist attractions without being smack in the middle of all that business and hipper activity. It was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. I did find the rooms to be somewhat "old" in regards to carpet, furniture, etc... but it felt clean and the staff did a good job cleaning the room daily. The room also came equipped with a microwave, refrig and key entry safe for valuables. The breakfast bar left a little to be desired but deserves a fair to average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 1/2 mile west from the hotel are two very good restaurants within the same strip mall: a mexican restaurant and Bubbalou's Boddacious BarBque. Both places were delicious! I would highly recommend them if you're looking to go where tourist do not abound and it's not the same chain restaurants you are used to patronizing. This hotel is also fairly close to the Premium Outlets which was a nice bonus.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PhilGreen14
Fredericksburg, Virginia
May 29, 2012

Great stay and value for universal parks experience

Very nice place. Lots to do close by. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Just a bit over a mile walk from universal studieos

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rajt
Business
Thousand Oaks, ca
Mar 12, 2012

decent hotel

it was nice clean hotel, family oriented, the Jacuzzi didn't work well, the gym was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWO2
Business
California, USA
Jan 31, 2012

GREAT LOCATION -

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS WERE CLEAN, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND COURTIOUS AND THE PRICE WAS RIGHT NO COMPLAINTS. I WAS ON BUSINESS BUT I SAW FAMILIES THERE AND THEY SEEMED TO ENJOY IT AS WELL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top