$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick R
Business
Seatlle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Comfortable room, near to Universal

Room was comfortable and large with two queen size beds, Shuttle to Universal was on time and driver was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtnee013
Business
Burlington, North Carolina
May 1, 2013

Friend getaway

Overall this hotel was really nice and it was in the perfect locaton. If I plan another trip to Orlando Florida I will check out Wingate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.Higgs
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Pretty good overall

The breakfast wasn't bad. It was all pretty standard hotel breakfast stuff(eggs, sausage, a few breads and pastries, cereal, and waffles). We didn't make use of the gym or pool, but the business center was handy for buying/printing tickets since their kiosk for the Universal parks was out of order. The hotel is only a few minutes away from Universal and maybe 20 minutes for Disney's Magic Kingdom. There are a couple fast food places and an IHOP next door and a Carabba's just down the street. The staff was friendly, though we never really had any interaction aside from checking in and out. The room looked very nice, just like the pictures. The bed was a bit soft for us but all in all I can't say much negative about the room itself. I guess the shower curtain had been ripped along the top a bit and it would have been nice if the coffee maker were big enough to make more than a cup at a time, but that's really just nitpicking. I only gave an average score for cleanliness because we found a couple hairs on the pillows when we first got there and the room had a strong odor when we arrived. We couldn't tell if it was smoke, strong cleaning agents or a combination, but it wasn't enough for us to complain or ask to switch rooms. Fortunately the smell had faded over time and we didn't notice it from the second day on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jul 9, 2013

Relaxation & Shopping

My boyfriend and I took our first trip together this winter and stayed here so we could be closer to Universal Studios. The room was very clean and the bed very comfy. The staff was curteous and helpful. We are still raving about our trip and plan on returning to this hotel this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Literally across the street from Universal Studios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Von Doom
Business
Defuniak Springs, Florida
Oct 26, 2013

Not bad

Hotel is very close to Universal. They also have a free shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up from Universal,which will save you some $ on parking. Your also within walking distance of three restaurants and not too far from Wal-Mart. My only gripes are ,breakfast was just par and for some reason quite a few of the card locks di not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JVIL
Business
Alexandria,VA
Nov 23, 2013

Great Location

Great location. Everything is close by-Universal Studios, restaurants, shopping. My only complaint was that the drain in the shower was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas De Brazil on International Drive is a great restaurant. Also, Bob Marleys and Emerils at City Walk Universal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassie's Mom
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Dec 2, 2013

Thanksgiving Stay

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The location was great - easy access from I-4, easy to get to Universal Studios, but without all the noise and congestion of International Drive. Room was clean and comfy. The free continental breakfast was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
albriz
Business
fort myers fl
Dec 28, 2013

good value, good peopleg

good value, great location, decent breakfast. the front desk person was very nice. close to universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoUSF
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jan 26, 2014

Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without being in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is right next door to this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palm bay, fl
Apr 11, 2010

Great family fun

ver comfortable rooms, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top