$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
109 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoUSF
Tampa, Fl
Jan 26, 2014

Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without being in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is right next door to this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good location, good price, good value

The staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was good enough. You can have bagels, eggs (omelet), sausage or bacon, make waffles, and have pastries or fruit. The rooms were okay but I hate hotel windows that won't open. First day it was a bad smell and the air circulation was poor. From second day it was no smell but still not enough fresh air. They could at least make windows such a way that they open a few inches just to get some fresh air in. The housekeepers did a good job keeping the rooms clean. The hotel was within walking distance of several good little bars (Ale house) and restaurants and a Walgreens for snacks and drinks. The workout facility is really small with just a couple of machines and some free weights. There is an indoor jacuzzi and an outdoor pool. But the weather was very cold (50 - 60 degree) and I did not use it. It was a business trip, I was busy and did not go Universal Studio or other parks but Universal Studio is within walking distance from hotel. There is a shuttle to Universal but I never used it. Overall it was a good place to stay and good value for the money. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
palm bay, fl
Apr 11, 2010

Great family fun

ver comfortable rooms, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tennessee
Oct 30, 2010

Great location for Universal Studios

Everyone was very friendly and especially helpful when I left my phone charger in the room. The room was very clean and the bed very comfy. This hotel is within walking distance to Universal Studios if you don't feel like paying the outrageous price of parking at the park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReviewGirl
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Hotel stay

We only stayed for one night, but it was a clean room with a fridge and close to entertainment. It had everything we needed and was a comfortable and clean room. If you plan on getting breaksfast, get there early.The breaksfast area gets crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Apr 3, 2010

The location is accessible

The location of the hotel is accessible to different points of interest. There are lots of restaurants and fast food stores within the area. However, they should change the menu for breakfast. I stayed in the hotel for 4 days but for 3 consecutive days, they served the same breakfast. Lastly, one of the staff in the front desk, a male, I think the manager was not that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosannamj
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jul 26, 2012

Great location! Great staff!! Not very Eco friendly:(

Great stay!!! It was 5 minutes away from Universal, great restaurants near hotel and the staff were super friendly! The only downer was the hot breakfast... Not great and they gave us styrofoam plates and cups!! At least use paper plates!!! Overall my family and I had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
May 27, 2010

Better than expected

The accommodations were very nice. The room was clean and inviting; the bath facilities spacious. Staff was very willing to assist when needed and the complimentary breakfast was delicious with a variety of items to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jan 21, 2013

Great weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I were looking for a location close to Universal Studios and we were not disappointed. The hotel is clean, the staff was courteous. The breakfast wasn't the best, but it was good enough for families on a budget. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.Higgs
Texas
May 18, 2013

Pretty good overall

The breakfast wasn't bad. It was all pretty standard hotel breakfast stuff(eggs, sausage, a few breads and pastries, cereal, and waffles). We didn't make use of the gym or pool, but the business center was handy for buying/printing tickets since their kiosk for the Universal parks was out of order. The hotel is only a few minutes away from Universal and maybe 20 minutes for Disney's Magic Kingdom. There are a couple fast food places and an IHOP next door and a Carabba's just down the street. The staff was friendly, though we never really had any interaction aside from checking in and out. The room looked very nice, just like the pictures. The bed was a bit soft for us but all in all I can't say much negative about the room itself. I guess the shower curtain had been ripped along the top a bit and it would have been nice if the coffee maker were big enough to make more than a cup at a time, but that's really just nitpicking. I only gave an average score for cleanliness because we found a couple hairs on the pillows when we first got there and the room had a strong odor when we arrived. We couldn't tell if it was smoke, strong cleaning agents or a combination, but it wasn't enough for us to complain or ask to switch rooms. Fortunately the smell had faded over time and we didn't notice it from the second day on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search