$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rajt
Business
Thousand Oaks, ca
Mar 12, 2012

decent hotel

it was nice clean hotel, family oriented, the Jacuzzi didn't work well, the gym was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Glen
Single
Glen Allen, Virginia
Jun 8, 2012

A Nice Place to Unwind

I found this hotel to be convenient to tourist attractions without being smack in the middle of all that business and hipper activity. It was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. I did find the rooms to be somewhat "old" in regards to carpet, furniture, etc... but it felt clean and the staff did a good job cleaning the room daily. The room also came equipped with a microwave, refrig and key entry safe for valuables. The breakfast bar left a little to be desired but deserves a fair to average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 1/2 mile west from the hotel are two very good restaurants within the same strip mall: a mexican restaurant and Bubbalou's Boddacious BarBque. Both places were delicious! I would highly recommend them if you're looking to go where tourist do not abound and it's not the same chain restaurants you are used to patronizing. This hotel is also fairly close to the Premium Outlets which was a nice bonus.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myfirst
Family
New York
Aug 31, 2012

universal

The ac was on low when we arrived so the room had wet carpet smell the moisture also left the beds feeling damp. Once the AC was put on it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to universal studios

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reunion attender
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 30, 2013

some good, some bad

Booked a King room and only had 2 double beds available "due to mechanical problems". When we arrived in room w/2 doubles, tried to call front desk but the phone didn't work. Breakfast was handy and staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TooDusty
Family
Nowhere man
Feb 23, 2013

Room needed a good cleaning

First room we were given had defective a.c. unit were given another room which was much better. Room was extremely dusty and smelled musty without th a.c. on high. The bureaus and night table were covered with dust even after having staff clean the room. WiFi was terrible, could not stay connected. Breakfast was okay, need additional toasters and waffle makers, rude guests were more of an issue. Shuttle to Universal was okay, but there should be a return to the hotel at lunch time. There is a return shuttle too late in the afternoon. Sorry, would not stay there in the future A lounge would be a welcome addition for the adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Arlington
Jun 13, 2010

nice hotel for the price

Pleanty of restuarants in the area. Liked that we had a microwave and mini-frig in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleanty of restuarants within walking distance.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston,Tx
Jul 6, 2010

a great getaway

We were only there to do the amusement parks. They were very helpful with the arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Tampa, Fl
Apr 2, 2010

weekend getaway

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Location is great if your going to universal or sea world. Free wifi, parking, and you can purchase tickets for parks in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Indiana
Nov 2, 2010

Good hotel for the money

My friend and i stayed there while in Orlando to visit Universal studios. Our stay was pleasant and like you would find at any hotel and was a good deal. The only thing that bothered me was that the maids would come in to replace towels and clean. The didn't replace all the dirty towels with clean ones, the hand towel had the same bbq sause mark on it the ENTIRE stay. It made me wonder what else might not be as clean as we think...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for inexpensive walk to Universal it's not bad.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottebarnett
Single
Redford MI
Dec 20, 2010

Average--Nothing Bad--Would Stay Again

Everything was okay. There was nothing spectacular. My room was clean, and a special request regarding its cleaning was honored. The fitness room had only one treadmill (with nowhere to put a water bottle or phone) in addition to three other cardio machines. Breakfast selection was limited but edible. The place was quiet and felt safe. I was on the third (out of four) floor, and the water pressure was fine, with hot water available quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's an IHOP across the parking lot from the hotel, and there are a KFC, Taco Bell, and Waffle House all within sight of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top