$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
111 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PhilGreen14
Fredericksburg, Virginia
May 29, 2012

Great stay and value for universal parks experience

Very nice place. Lots to do close by. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Just a bit over a mile walk from universal studieos

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Dec 12, 2010

It was just ok!

the location was good but the room has its own issues. First, they put me in one handicapped room, which I thought it was not appropriate in the first place. Second, the hotel sheets had stains on them. Hotel staff were nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ben & Amanda
Amery, WI
Mar 19, 2010

Steer Clear of the Wingate by Wyndham

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. In our reservations we asked for a non-smoking room when we walked into the room it smelled horribly like smoke, so we went to the front desk and expressed that we had asked for a non-smoking room and our room was definitely a smoking room and they told us because we booked through a third party they couldn't switch the room that they placed us in. Not only did we have a smoking room but every time we went to flush the toilet is sounded like it was going to blow up! Also, the water in the shower never got hot it got mildly warm but that's about it. The sink water was hotter than the shower water. The second day there we came back to our hotel around 6:00 p.m. and the room service hadn't even finished our room, we didn't even have room service the rest of our trip. There was a safe in the closet you could use but there wasn't a key to the safe. They had a channel guide with what would be on the TV and the five channels that we wanted to watch weren't on the TV even when they were listed on the guide, we called the front desk and said the TV must not be auto programmed but they didn't know how to do it. Whenever we had a problem with something it seemed like there was always kids that were on the staff. The continental breakfast was terrible, there was one waffle maker for the 15 people that would be having breakfast in the morning and had a very limited selection of items. For such a tourist area they had a little hot tub for the guests. Their "gym" was a complete joke, it had one treadmill, two bikes, and a stair stepper; you can't even call that a gym. There was not a screen in the window if we would of brought a young child they could've just jumped right out of our two story window. Our room was on the end of the hallway so going to the elevator would of taken longer than the stairs since they were right across the hallway from us, we took the opened the door after coming back from dinner and climbed the stairs just to find out the door to our floor wouldn't open; matter of fact, none of the doors would open. You could get into the stairs but couldn't get to any of the floors, only could go outside. The only good thing about this hotel was that it had a good location, but I would of rather chose one of the other two hotels that were right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios was the best attraction that we went to during the whole vacation. Recommended for all ages!

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. B
Fresno, CA
Feb 12, 2014

Anything that could go wrong, did.

Where do I start. This hotel is beautiful to look at, foyer is luxurious rooms, hallways etc. however beneath the nice exterior is a disastrous interior. I was moved 3 times, first time due to a loud techno party directly beneath my room, also room had been left partially cleaned with towels soaking up ice in fridge and utensils left on desk, totally unacceptable, staff were very good about it and have to commend them. Second room, REEKED of bleach, to the extent my eyes started watering after a few hours even though aircon full on. This room also had an added bonus of the light switch being connected to the TV. If you turned off the switch your TV also turned off. Off to the third room this one was relatively ok, no bleach no nightclub however, 4 power switches did not work, curtains had tears in them, bedding was placed crookedly, bedside phone non operational, food and large amount of food crumbs/debris left in crevices underbed, all trivial but indicates staff uncaring about cleanliness, was told this was not a full service hotel? Swipe cards failed to open my room door 4 times, each time had to have them redone. Fitness room is a joke. Is a hot/stuffy closet, one treadmill that has a frayed belt, no weights, no aircon. Hotel needs major overhaul, don't be fooled how nice it looks. Breakfast was good. Was also told that manager (Rogi) would contact me within the week re: all these problems but no contact so far 3 weeks later. Would like a partial refund but they obviously don't care about their guests just their money. Don't go here unless nothing else available, only good thing were the staff I dealt with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
blairpeace
Florida
Mar 25, 2014

weekend getaway

the hotel is not as nice as it looks in the picture! MY ROOMS CEILING HAD UNFINISHED PLASTER AND THE CURTAINS WERE SLASHED AND THE JACUZZI WAS SMALL AND DINGY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe restaurant city walk very good

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elliebelle
tampa, fl
Jan 15, 2013

weekend escape

the lighting in the room did not for/ the phones did not work/ there were two holes in the curtains/ the tub was advertised as a "spa" tub when in fact, it was not and the nonslip covering was peeling up and dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J77ortiz
Smith Station Al
Apr 26, 2013

Not good

I stayed for 2 days and there was no water on the entire building. No vending machine on the entire hotel. Some of the staff was not friendly. I was expecting much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
overratedhotel
America
Jul 21, 2013

Very Rude and unhelpful Front Desk worker

Experienced a extremely unhelpful staff member at the front desk on the morning of July 17th 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uncle
Tallahassee, FL, USA
Sep 6, 2011

How cold could a room get

Overall Wingate was a good Hotel. Close to Universal Studios, decent breakfast. The room was relatively nice and clean however...the air conditioning was either on and as cold as the arctic or off and hot as it was outside. No in-between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

decent restaurants in the vicinity but you have to drive. Don't try ordering the Pizza from the flyer they left under the door...longest wait I ever have had...finally hung up.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
everywhere
Feb 17, 2011

ok in orlando

visited universal. staff was nice; room was fair; a/c unit VERY loud and intermittent. mattress too firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bosco61
Florida
Feb 24, 2014

Universal visit

Great location to Universal. A/C did not work at first but was quickly fixed by maintenance. Standard size room and was clean. Breakfast was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search