$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWO2
Business
California, USA
Jan 31, 2012

GREAT LOCATION -

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS WERE CLEAN, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND COURTIOUS AND THE PRICE WAS RIGHT NO COMPLAINTS. I WAS ON BUSINESS BUT I SAW FAMILIES THERE AND THEY SEEMED TO ENJOY IT AS WELL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OccasionalTraveler
The Midwest, USA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel with a couple of caveats...

The Wingate is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel located about 1/2 mile from Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure. The managers were helpful and readily available to answer questions. The room was spacious, and the massaging shower head in the bathroom was a good perk. My wife and I enjoyed the free hot breakfast. The only disappointing thing about the hotel is that we did not get early admission to the Harry Potter rides for staying there. Online, we read that staying in a Universal partner hotel would get us early admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that only people who booked through Universal received early admission. The hotel did have a nice bus service that took us to the parks just before opening and picked us up near closing time. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book this hotel through Universal if you want any of the special deals advertised on the Universal site, like early admission to Harry Potter. If you book the hotel on your own, you will not get the advertised perk.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kp mama
detroit,mi
Jun 17, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was good plenty of staff and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of dinning within 10 min walk

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mannytoch
Bronx, NY
May 9, 2010

A wonderful weekend trip!!

This was the honeymoon we were not able to take. The staff were friendly and helpful.The complimentary breakfast buffet was nice, and they had a good selection. We went to Universal Studios which was about a 20 minute walk. There were places to dine in the area. Overall we came to relax and we were able to do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Apr 13, 2010

Fantastic couples getaway

This hotel was great and conveniently located to EVERYTHING!!! While on my stay I drove 1.5 hours to the Hard Rock Cafe Casino in Tampa, visited Walt Disney World (25 minutes away), Sea World (20 minutes away), and Universal studios which is (5 minutes away) you can walk there. Dining included everything from IHOP (across the parking lot), KFC, Boston Market, Denny's, Five Guys, Outback, Olive Garden, and so many more that I am forgetting are all within minutes from the hotel. Wal-mart is also about 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The hotel was quiet, the bed slept comfortably, and served continental breakfast in the morning. The service from hotel staff was quick and efficient. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. I definitely plan to stay here again and recommend this hotel to future guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U. A. G.
Auburn, AL
Jan 3, 2010

Nice stay!

Our overall stay was good. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean although the TV was a bit old. Internet connectivity was good. They could improve on breakfast. We stayed there for 4 days and after 2 days, we got kind of bored with the breakfast- same items being served everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good location, good price, good value

The staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was good enough. You can have bagels, eggs (omelet), sausage or bacon, make waffles, and have pastries or fruit. The rooms were okay but I hate hotel windows that won't open. First day it was a bad smell and the air circulation was poor. From second day it was no smell but still not enough fresh air. They could at least make windows such a way that they open a few inches just to get some fresh air in. The housekeepers did a good job keeping the rooms clean. The hotel was within walking distance of several good little bars (Ale house) and restaurants and a Walgreens for snacks and drinks. The workout facility is really small with just a couple of machines and some free weights. There is an indoor jacuzzi and an outdoor pool. But the weather was very cold (50 - 60 degree) and I did not use it. It was a business trip, I was busy and did not go Universal Studio or other parks but Universal Studio is within walking distance from hotel. There is a shuttle to Universal but I never used it. Overall it was a good place to stay and good value for the money. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Dad
Philadelphia, Pa.
Jan 3, 2013

Easy Location

We used the hotel as a base for a 2 day trip to Universal. The Staff was helpful. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. Most importantly, it was about a mile from Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dulcita
Miami
Aug 26, 2011

Great Hotel had a perfect minivacation

Staff were great, clean rooms and a very good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Apr 13, 2010

Fantastic couples getaway

This hotel was great and conveniently located to EVERYTHING!!! While on my stay I drove 1.5 hours to the Hard Rock Cafe Casino in Tampa, visited Walt Disney World (25 minutes away), Sea World (20 minutes away), and Universal studios which is (5 minutes away) you can walk there. Dining included everything from IHOP (across the parking lot), KFC, Boston Market, Denny's, Five Guys, Outback, Olive Garden, and so many more that I am forgetting are all within minutes from the hotel. Wal-mart is also about 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The hotel was quiet, the bed slept comfortably, and served continental breakfast in the morning. The service from hotel staff was quick and efficient. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. I definitely plan to stay here again and recommend this hotel to future guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top