$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
111 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mason Hill
Illinois
Mar 6, 2010

Fantastic hotel. I loved the stay!

The room was very clean and well equiped with high quality furniture and a very comfy king size bed. It was also nice and quiet. The staff was excellent. I will definitely look for a Wyndham hotel whenever I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Texas de Brazil restaurant. Pretty expensive but the food was incredible. If you like to eat a lot of top cut beef, it is the place for you. Make sure you know what something costs beforte ordering. They have some pretty expensive extras.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sandwich, MA
Mar 25, 2010

Excellent Stay, Very Friendly Staff

Our stay was wonderful. The staff was great and helped us with our every need. They were friendly and cheery. The free breakfast was wonderful and delicious. The hotel has an awesome location right across the street from Universal and even has a free shuttle a few times a day to the park. We took advantage of this instead of paying 14.00 to park. They offer you to even purchase tickets right in the lobby before you go, so you don't have to wait in line. I would stay at this hotel again and I'm actually going back to this one hopefully in August for another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal was awesome and if you buy the 2 park pass you will have a lot of fun.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Footloose and Fancy Free
Cedar Rapids, IA
Mar 25, 2010

Wonderful, relaxing stay!

We were in the Orlando area for a wedding. We stayed a few extra days of R & R. The bed was very comfortable ~ this is a BIG deal to me! :-) The room was so quiet! For all we knew, we were the only ones there. One night there was even a Lacrosse team staying there with us! We would have never known had we not seen them all at breakfast. The complimentary breakfast offered a nice variety of hot items, pastries, juices, and cereal. We would definitely stay at this hotel on a future visit to the area. Their front desk clerks were very helpful. Especially [...]! He was great! Very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando Florida
Nov 1, 2009

All

N/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast Ohio
Mar 17, 2011

Best staff ever

Friendly and prompt service. Couldn't get the TV to turn on at first and called to the desk; repairman arrived within minutes and fixed it by changing outlet that it was plugged into. Front desk extremely helpful with directions to Universal and with making taxi arrangements to the airport. The only problem was with the Universal Studios kiosk to purchase park tickets. Front desk contacted customer services at Universal and we were able to pick up the tickets at the will call kiosk at the park. They also notified Universal the the kiosk was in need of repair. The room was perfect for the short time we spent in the room. We were able to walk to Universal, but the actual park was closer to 1.2-1.5 miles rather than the 0.5 miles that I was led to believe when I booked the room. We walked to and from the park all but coming back the last day, and the cab fare was less than $10 including tip. The complimentary breakfast was great, plenty of food; waffles were the best. The room was clean, air conditioner and plumbing worked perfectly. No complaints here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There isn't an in house restaurant, but there are plenty within walking distance. We came solely to go to Universal, and Citywalk has many venues. Also along the way there are restaurants for every taste and budget.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Aunt and Sister Sofia
Bronx, NY
Apr 26, 2011

Fabulous Universal Getaway

The location, free buffet breakfast were a great deal. The place itself was immaculate espacially for the price. My family and I were very happy with the choice, have recommended to friends as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal is close by, but you're better off driving so as not to tire yourself so early in the day.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomoUSF
Tampa, Fl
Jan 26, 2014

Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without being in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is right next door to this hotel

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 25, 2009

Great location and nice stay.

Great location and a very nice room. Their breakfast leaves a little to be desired, but we weren't there for food. The room was clean, large, and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick drive to Universal Studios.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramblingrose
kansas city, mo
Jul 25, 2009

pleasant stay

Went there for a mini vacation. This hotel was centrally located near Universal Studios, Sea World, Kennedy Space Center, Epcot, Disney, etc. Had a fantastic time visiting the tourist draws. The hotel was comfortable, clean (for the most part) and the service at the front desk was quite friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You can enjoy City Walk at Universal Studios for only $3 parking! There are restaurants, clubs and lots of other entertainment within the area. It was a great value and a terrific time!

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sapphire 900
Oklahoma City, OK
Apr 13, 2010

Hospitality was great!

I was greeted PROMPTLY with a genuine smile and they let me check in early. The staff was courteous and attentive. The cleaning attendants were precious and cleaned my room very well. I received very timely wake up calls and whatever else I asked for. They called me by my name which was very personable.It was my first time traveling to Orlando but I felt very secure in their hotel. I was within in walking distance of several places, (example) the drug store, gas stations and eateries... was even close enough to walk to Universal Studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search