$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VikingVikes
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 10, 2013

Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting at 8:45 in the morning, so you can save some money on car parking. And it is about 12 minutes away from Disney Land parks.There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel as well. We stayed in a King bed room and it was a huge room with lots of space and it had 2 TVs in them as well. Room was really comfy and cleaning was done well in time. Overall, this hotel made my stay at Orlando a more memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In 2 miles, there is a P F Changs restaurant which is my favorite. If you like Chinese food, do plan to make a stop here :).

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, Nv
Oct 10, 2010

Texas to Florida trip

I really enjoyed the Hotel. I wish they would have told us the hours of operation for the parks change consistently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is cheaper to get a cab for one person then it is to drive. $5.50 each way. parking is $15. During the nights of Horror in October the Hours of Operation for both Universal Studio parks change and can be different from each other.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, Michigan
Oct 31, 2010

Fantastic and fabulous

The pool and whirlpool were wonderful. The room was better than expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was excellent for what we received. The only thing I would like to see is a little variety in the breakfast items served daily. The food was very good, but the same things served each day - not a criticism, only a suggestion. Loved it all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios, CityWalk, Haunted Halloween Night XX, Flea Markets

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Aunt and Sister Sofia
Bronx, NY
Apr 26, 2011

Fabulous Universal Getaway

The location, free buffet breakfast were a great deal. The place itself was immaculate espacially for the price. My family and I were very happy with the choice, have recommended to friends as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal is close by, but you're better off driving so as not to tire yourself so early in the day.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast Ohio
Mar 17, 2011

Best staff ever

Friendly and prompt service. Couldn't get the TV to turn on at first and called to the desk; repairman arrived within minutes and fixed it by changing outlet that it was plugged into. Front desk extremely helpful with directions to Universal and with making taxi arrangements to the airport. The only problem was with the Universal Studios kiosk to purchase park tickets. Front desk contacted customer services at Universal and we were able to pick up the tickets at the will call kiosk at the park. They also notified Universal the the kiosk was in need of repair. The room was perfect for the short time we spent in the room. We were able to walk to Universal, but the actual park was closer to 1.2-1.5 miles rather than the 0.5 miles that I was led to believe when I booked the room. We walked to and from the park all but coming back the last day, and the cab fare was less than $10 including tip. The complimentary breakfast was great, plenty of food; waffles were the best. The room was clean, air conditioner and plumbing worked perfectly. No complaints here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There isn't an in house restaurant, but there are plenty within walking distance. We came solely to go to Universal, and Citywalk has many venues. Also along the way there are restaurants for every taste and budget.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Virginia
Pompano Beach, Fla.
Nov 27, 2010

Really good vacation spot.

It was a wonderful 3 days, we when to spend Thansgiving with my grandaugher that live close to Universal, because she could not come home this year, so we all decided to go there. With me there where 3 more rooms occupied, one by a couple from North Carolina (friends) one by my youngest daughter & her daughter and another one by my oldest daughter mother inlaw, so we all had a very good reunion, also when to Universal on friday all day. All it was a wonderful experience, we had already stay at this hotel couple more times before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrington, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Excellent Stay

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and re-stocked daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mason Hill
Illinois
Mar 6, 2010

Fantastic hotel. I loved the stay!

The room was very clean and well equiped with high quality furniture and a very comfy king size bed. It was also nice and quiet. The staff was excellent. I will definitely look for a Wyndham hotel whenever I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Texas de Brazil restaurant. Pretty expensive but the food was incredible. If you like to eat a lot of top cut beef, it is the place for you. Make sure you know what something costs beforte ordering. They have some pretty expensive extras.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Jul 11, 2009

Reasonable rates & friendly staff

All motel staff were VERY friendly and accomodating. Breakfast is above average! Double queen room was very nice for the price. Roomy size and plush towels. No complaints whatsoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not located with all the other convention center hotels, but you miss all the congestion too!

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, Nv
Oct 10, 2010

Texas to Florida trip

I really enjoyed the Hotel. I wish they would have told us the hours of operation for the parks change consistently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is cheaper to get a cab for one person then it is to drive. $5.50 each way. parking is $15. During the nights of Horror in October the Hours of Operation for both Universal Studio parks change and can be different from each other.

Back to menu Return to top