$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
111 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Great Location

Close to the Interstate and attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was just... See full review

  • CKOS
  • Oct 7, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 111
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sossy
Business
Virginia
Sep 15, 2014

mini vacation

Hotel was nice. Close to all the activities we planned. Breakfast was just okay. Suggest changing the menu items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
blairpeace
Business
Florida
Mar 25, 2014

weekend getaway

the hotel is not as nice as it looks in the picture! MY ROOMS CEILING HAD UNFINISHED PLASTER AND THE CURTAINS WERE SLASHED AND THE JACUZZI WAS SMALL AND DINGY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe restaurant city walk very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VikingVikes
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 10, 2013

Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting at 8:45 in the morning, so you can save some money on car parking. And it is about 12 minutes away from Disney Land parks.There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel as well. We stayed in a King bed room and it was a huge room with lots of space and it had 2 TVs in them as well. Room was really comfy and cleaning was done well in time. Overall, this hotel made my stay at Orlando a more memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In 2 miles, there is a P F Changs restaurant which is my favorite. If you like Chinese food, do plan to make a stop here :).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Von Doom
Business
Defuniak Springs, Florida
Oct 26, 2013

Not bad

Hotel is very close to Universal. They also have a free shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up from Universal,which will save you some $ on parking. Your also within walking distance of three restaurants and not too far from Wal-Mart. My only gripes are ,breakfast was just par and for some reason quite a few of the card locks di not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
overratedhotel
Business
America
Jul 21, 2013

Very Rude and unhelpful Front Desk worker

Experienced a extremely unhelpful staff member at the front desk on the morning of July 17th 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jul 9, 2013

Relaxation & Shopping

My boyfriend and I took our first trip together this winter and stayed here so we could be closer to Universal Studios. The room was very clean and the bed very comfy. The staff was curteous and helpful. We are still raving about our trip and plan on returning to this hotel this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Literally across the street from Universal Studios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.Higgs
Business
Texas
May 18, 2013

Pretty good overall

The breakfast wasn't bad. It was all pretty standard hotel breakfast stuff(eggs, sausage, a few breads and pastries, cereal, and waffles). We didn't make use of the gym or pool, but the business center was handy for buying/printing tickets since their kiosk for the Universal parks was out of order. The hotel is only a few minutes away from Universal and maybe 20 minutes for Disney's Magic Kingdom. There are a couple fast food places and an IHOP next door and a Carabba's just down the street. The staff was friendly, though we never really had any interaction aside from checking in and out. The room looked very nice, just like the pictures. The bed was a bit soft for us but all in all I can't say much negative about the room itself. I guess the shower curtain had been ripped along the top a bit and it would have been nice if the coffee maker were big enough to make more than a cup at a time, but that's really just nitpicking. I only gave an average score for cleanliness because we found a couple hairs on the pillows when we first got there and the room had a strong odor when we arrived. We couldn't tell if it was smoke, strong cleaning agents or a combination, but it wasn't enough for us to complain or ask to switch rooms. Fortunately the smell had faded over time and we didn't notice it from the second day on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jan 21, 2013

Great weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I were looking for a location close to Universal Studios and we were not disappointed. The hotel is clean, the staff was courteous. The breakfast wasn't the best, but it was good enough for families on a budget. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girly girl516
Business
Long Island, New York
Nov 13, 2012

Couple getaway

I was a little afraid when i first book it but once i got there, everything from the staff to the cleanliness for the room was great! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OccasionalTraveler
Business
The Midwest, USA
Sep 24, 2012

Nice hotel with a couple of caveats...

The Wingate is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel located about 1/2 mile from Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure. The managers were helpful and readily available to answer questions. The room was spacious, and the massaging shower head in the bathroom was a good perk. My wife and I enjoyed the free hot breakfast. The only disappointing thing about the hotel is that we did not get early admission to the Harry Potter rides for staying there. Online, we read that staying in a Universal partner hotel would get us early admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. However, when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that only people who booked through Universal received early admission. The hotel did have a nice bus service that took us to the parks just before opening and picked us up near closing time. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book this hotel through Universal if you want any of the special deals advertised on the Universal site, like early admission to Harry Potter. If you book the hotel on your own, you will not get the advertised perk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top