$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Inexpensive

Went and stayed with a friend. It was a perfect location! Close enough to clubs downtown without... See full review

  • MomoUSF
  • Jan 26, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.486 -81.4582
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.6 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockland county, NY
Feb 26, 2011

It was just ok

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for just one night. We did the Universal parks in the short time we had. The hotel was easy to find because of our GPS, if not it might be a little difficult. When we checked in, we received a 2 double bed room instead of the King size we reserved. When I told front desk, they said they were all booked up and couldn't promise the bed size, only the accommodation. Not good. The rooms weren't anything special and the TV in the room was horrible. And the shuttle they said they had for the morning only ran at one time which was 2 hours before the park opened. The good things though were that staff was friendly and the hotel had a decent size complimentary breakfast in the morning. It also was a nice 2-3 min drive from Universal so that made not having shuttle not that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockland county, NY
Feb 26, 2011

It was just ok

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for just one night. We did the Universal parks in the short time we had. The hotel was easy to find because of our GPS, if not it might be a little difficult. When we checked in, we received a 2 double bed room instead of the King size we reserved. When I told front desk, they said they were all booked up and couldn't promise the bed size, only the accommodation. Not good. The rooms weren't anything special and the TV in the room was horrible. And the shuttle they said they had for the morning only ran at one time which was 2 hours before the park opened. The good things though were that staff was friendly and the hotel had a decent size complimentary breakfast in the morning. It also was a nice 2-3 min drive from Universal so that made not having shuttle not that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
everywhere
Feb 17, 2011

ok in orlando

visited universal. staff was nice; room was fair; a/c unit VERY loud and intermittent. mattress too firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
everywhere
Feb 17, 2011

ok in orlando

visited universal. staff was nice; room was fair; a/c unit VERY loud and intermittent. mattress too firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scotty d
jacksonville,fl
Feb 13, 2011

universal studios get away

hotel and rooms were very clean.the breakfast was alright you can't beat fresh waffles.the best part about this hotel was the shuttle service to and from the hotel to universal studio as well as the city walk.my friends and i had a great time at universal studios and will definatly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrington, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Excellent Stay

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and re-stocked daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrington, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Excellent Stay

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and re-stocked daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottebarnett
Redford MI
Dec 20, 2010

Average--Nothing Bad--Would Stay Again

Everything was okay. There was nothing spectacular. My room was clean, and a special request regarding its cleaning was honored. The fitness room had only one treadmill (with nowhere to put a water bottle or phone) in addition to three other cardio machines. Breakfast selection was limited but edible. The place was quiet and felt safe. I was on the third (out of four) floor, and the water pressure was fine, with hot water available quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's an IHOP across the parking lot from the hotel, and there are a KFC, Taco Bell, and Waffle House all within sight of the hotel.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scottebarnett
Redford MI
Dec 20, 2010

Average--Nothing Bad--Would Stay Again

Everything was okay. There was nothing spectacular. My room was clean, and a special request regarding its cleaning was honored. The fitness room had only one treadmill (with nowhere to put a water bottle or phone) in addition to three other cardio machines. Breakfast selection was limited but edible. The place was quiet and felt safe. I was on the third (out of four) floor, and the water pressure was fine, with hot water available quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's an IHOP across the parking lot from the hotel, and there are a KFC, Taco Bell, and Waffle House all within sight of the hotel.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Dec 12, 2010

It was just ok!

the location was good but the room has its own issues. First, they put me in one handicapped room, which I thought it was not appropriate in the first place. Second, the hotel sheets had stains on them. Hotel staff were nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top