$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
View map of 5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassie's Mom
Family
Chapel Hill, NC
Dec 2, 2013

Thanksgiving Stay

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The location was great - easy access from I-4, easy to get to Universal Studios, but without all the noise and congestion of International Drive. Room was clean and comfy. The free continental breakfast was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JVIL
Friends
Alexandria,VA
Nov 23, 2013

Great Location

Great location. Everything is close by-Universal Studios, restaurants, shopping. My only complaint was that the drain in the shower was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas De Brazil on International Drive is a great restaurant. Also, Bob Marleys and Emerils at City Walk Universal.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Von Doom
Couples
Defuniak Springs, Florida
Oct 26, 2013

Not bad

Hotel is very close to Universal. They also have a free shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up from Universal,which will save you some $ on parking. Your also within walking distance of three restaurants and not too far from Wal-Mart. My only gripes are ,breakfast was just par and for some reason quite a few of the card locks di not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandra disappointed
Couples
Pembroke Pines, FL
Jul 9, 2013

Relaxation & Shopping

My boyfriend and I took our first trip together this winter and stayed here so we could be closer to Universal Studios. The room was very clean and the bed very comfy. The staff was curteous and helpful. We are still raving about our trip and plan on returning to this hotel this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Literally across the street from Universal Studios.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.Higgs
Couples
Texas
May 18, 2013

Pretty good overall

The breakfast wasn't bad. It was all pretty standard hotel breakfast stuff(eggs, sausage, a few breads and pastries, cereal, and waffles). We didn't make use of the gym or pool, but the business center was handy for buying/printing tickets since their kiosk for the Universal parks was out of order. The hotel is only a few minutes away from Universal and maybe 20 minutes for Disney's Magic Kingdom. There are a couple fast food places and an IHOP next door and a Carabba's just down the street. The staff was friendly, though we never really had any interaction aside from checking in and out. The room looked very nice, just like the pictures. The bed was a bit soft for us but all in all I can't say much negative about the room itself. I guess the shower curtain had been ripped along the top a bit and it would have been nice if the coffee maker were big enough to make more than a cup at a time, but that's really just nitpicking. I only gave an average score for cleanliness because we found a couple hairs on the pillows when we first got there and the room had a strong odor when we arrived. We couldn't tell if it was smoke, strong cleaning agents or a combination, but it wasn't enough for us to complain or ask to switch rooms. Fortunately the smell had faded over time and we didn't notice it from the second day on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtnee013
Friends
Burlington, North Carolina
May 1, 2013

Friend getaway

Overall this hotel was really nice and it was in the perfect locaton. If I plan another trip to Orlando Florida I will check out Wingate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J77ortiz
Friends
Smith Station Al
Apr 26, 2013

Not good

I stayed for 2 days and there was no water on the entire building. No vending machine on the entire hotel. Some of the staff was not friendly. I was expecting much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick R
Family
Seatlle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Comfortable room, near to Universal

Room was comfortable and large with two queen size beds, Shuttle to Universal was on time and driver was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TooDusty
Family
Nowhere man
Feb 23, 2013

Room needed a good cleaning

First room we were given had defective a.c. unit were given another room which was much better. Room was extremely dusty and smelled musty without th a.c. on high. The bureaus and night table were covered with dust even after having staff clean the room. WiFi was terrible, could not stay connected. Breakfast was okay, need additional toasters and waffle makers, rude guests were more of an issue. Shuttle to Universal was okay, but there should be a return to the hotel at lunch time. There is a return shuttle too late in the afternoon. Sorry, would not stay there in the future A lounge would be a welcome addition for the adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reunion attender
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 30, 2013

some good, some bad

Booked a King room and only had 2 double beds available "due to mechanical problems". When we arrived in room w/2 doubles, tried to call front desk but the phone didn't work. Breakfast was handy and staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top