$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

3 stars
5661 Windhover Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
111 reviews
Very good experience

This hotel is really close to Universal Studios, less than a mile and they carry shuttles starting... See full review

  • VikingVikes
  • Dec 10, 2013
Great Location

Close to the Interstate and attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was just... See full review

  • CKOS
  • Oct 7, 2014
Conveniently located off Interstate 4, this Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando is near Orlando Convention Center, downtown Orlando, Disney Theme Parks, Orlando International Airport, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, complimentary internet, outdoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. A shuttle service to local businesses is also available. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, complimentary local telephone calls, desk, ergonomic chair, newspaper, and TV. Executive suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.8 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.3 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.8 mi
  • Trainland: 3.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 4.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 4.9 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5.4 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.2 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.2 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.5 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 7.9 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.1 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.6 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.7 mi
  • CFE Arena: 17.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shawnee KS
Mar 27, 2010

Wonderful hotel, staff was very friendly

The hotel was wonderful close to Universal Studios. The only thing missing was we didn't have a rental car, which we will get next time. When we come back to Orlando we will stay at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandwich, MA
Mar 25, 2010

Excellent Stay, Very Friendly Staff

Our stay was wonderful. The staff was great and helped us with our every need. They were friendly and cheery. The free breakfast was wonderful and delicious. The hotel has an awesome location right across the street from Universal and even has a free shuttle a few times a day to the park. We took advantage of this instead of paying 14.00 to park. They offer you to even purchase tickets right in the lobby before you go, so you don't have to wait in line. I would stay at this hotel again and I'm actually going back to this one hopefully in August for another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal was awesome and if you buy the 2 park pass you will have a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Footloose and Fancy Free
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Mar 25, 2010

Wonderful, relaxing stay!

We were in the Orlando area for a wedding. We stayed a few extra days of R & R. The bed was very comfortable ~ this is a BIG deal to me! :-) The room was so quiet! For all we knew, we were the only ones there. One night there was even a Lacrosse team staying there with us! We would have never known had we not seen them all at breakfast. The complimentary breakfast offered a nice variety of hot items, pastries, juices, and cereal. We would definitely stay at this hotel on a future visit to the area. Their front desk clerks were very helpful. Especially [...]! He was great! Very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ben & Amanda
Business
Amery, WI
Mar 19, 2010

Steer Clear of the Wingate by Wyndham

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. In our reservations we asked for a non-smoking room when we walked into the room it smelled horribly like smoke, so we went to the front desk and expressed that we had asked for a non-smoking room and our room was definitely a smoking room and they told us because we booked through a third party they couldn't switch the room that they placed us in. Not only did we have a smoking room but every time we went to flush the toilet is sounded like it was going to blow up! Also, the water in the shower never got hot it got mildly warm but that's about it. The sink water was hotter than the shower water. The second day there we came back to our hotel around 6:00 p.m. and the room service hadn't even finished our room, we didn't even have room service the rest of our trip. There was a safe in the closet you could use but there wasn't a key to the safe. They had a channel guide with what would be on the TV and the five channels that we wanted to watch weren't on the TV even when they were listed on the guide, we called the front desk and said the TV must not be auto programmed but they didn't know how to do it. Whenever we had a problem with something it seemed like there was always kids that were on the staff. The continental breakfast was terrible, there was one waffle maker for the 15 people that would be having breakfast in the morning and had a very limited selection of items. For such a tourist area they had a little hot tub for the guests. Their "gym" was a complete joke, it had one treadmill, two bikes, and a stair stepper; you can't even call that a gym. There was not a screen in the window if we would of brought a young child they could've just jumped right out of our two story window. Our room was on the end of the hallway so going to the elevator would of taken longer than the stairs since they were right across the hallway from us, we took the opened the door after coming back from dinner and climbed the stairs just to find out the door to our floor wouldn't open; matter of fact, none of the doors would open. You could get into the stairs but couldn't get to any of the floors, only could go outside. The only good thing about this hotel was that it had a good location, but I would of rather chose one of the other two hotels that were right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios was the best attraction that we went to during the whole vacation. Recommended for all ages!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good location, good price, good value

The staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was good enough. You can have bagels, eggs (omelet), sausage or bacon, make waffles, and have pastries or fruit. The rooms were okay but I hate hotel windows that won't open. First day it was a bad smell and the air circulation was poor. From second day it was no smell but still not enough fresh air. They could at least make windows such a way that they open a few inches just to get some fresh air in. The housekeepers did a good job keeping the rooms clean. The hotel was within walking distance of several good little bars (Ale house) and restaurants and a Walgreens for snacks and drinks. The workout facility is really small with just a couple of machines and some free weights. There is an indoor jacuzzi and an outdoor pool. But the weather was very cold (50 - 60 degree) and I did not use it. It was a business trip, I was busy and did not go Universal Studio or other parks but Universal Studio is within walking distance from hotel. There is a shuttle to Universal but I never used it. Overall it was a good place to stay and good value for the money. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mason Hill
Business
Illinois
Mar 6, 2010

Fantastic hotel. I loved the stay!

The room was very clean and well equiped with high quality furniture and a very comfy king size bed. It was also nice and quiet. The staff was excellent. I will definitely look for a Wyndham hotel whenever I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Texas de Brazil restaurant. Pretty expensive but the food was incredible. If you like to eat a lot of top cut beef, it is the place for you. Make sure you know what something costs beforte ordering. They have some pretty expensive extras.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacknJessi
Business
Charleston, SC
Feb 28, 2010

Very Nice

went on family vacation to univeral studios and magic kingdom, for the price was very pleased with hotel, staff was really nice and very helpful with directions. It was a nice easy short drive to univeral studios and magic kingdom, also easy interstate access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios and Island of Adventures is a very short drive from hotel not even 5 mins. Perfect for vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U. A. G.
Business
Auburn, AL
Jan 3, 2010

Nice stay!

Our overall stay was good. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean although the TV was a bit old. Internet connectivity was good. They could improve on breakfast. We stayed there for 4 days and after 2 days, we got kind of bored with the breakfast- same items being served everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 25, 2009

Affordable

Breakfast was a perk. Only comlpaint is that we wanted a shuttle to and from the airport and thought this hotel had one, they didn't! The other Wingate does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Florida
Nov 1, 2009

All

N/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top