$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
413 out of 413
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ruddyann
Business
Orlando,Florida
Jul 16, 2013

Family get away

The place were too crowded need more space need more parking, parking sucks. Could not fine any ice machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax Just Married
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 4, 2013

Beware - Time Share/Vacation Club

The trip was greatly eclipsed by an unknown "90" minute presentation that actually lasted 2 hrs. This should have been mentioned on the site, so that I could make an informed decision. The presentation was not optional, which really cut into my honeymoon. When I expressed that I wasn't interested in throwing away our money on someone else's American dream shell game, the sales staff simply walked away, nearly refusing to give me my refund, which they secure at the time of registration. I'm all about capitalism, but choice trumps all. If you are considering this resort, save yourself the headache, and go to Lowes Portofino instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joseg1085
Business
Florida
Jul 31, 2013

Good

Good experience i have fun in the hotel pool. My son have a lot of fun in the pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Layla29
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 6, 2013

Staying At West gate Resort and Spa in Orlando, FL

The hotel was located in a nice and friendly environment. It was secure. The room we were assigned was not very clean. We had to ask the hotel manager to be switched to a different room. Even when we were given a new room, the bathroom was still not clean. The carpeting was old and dirty as well, with stains on it. We were expecting something more for what we had paid and looked into. Hopefully we will be offered a better hotel next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel we were placed in was walking distance to some of the world's most famous attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2910DEZ
Business
Florida
Nov 26, 2013

Beware: Renter vs. Owner room assignment ~AND timeshare hi-jacking.

My husband booked 2 nights at this “hotel” for us to be near Universal Studios- he did not know it was a timeshare property. 1.) As a "renter" vs. an owner - I believe we were given the worst possible accommodations. I’m sure they have certain rooms (the worst of the property) that they assign renters. 2.) Our room was in building 2300 - the very back of the property (the property is huge). I can't speak for the other rooms at this resort, but our (rented/booked online) room was dirty (visible dirt and dust), dark and dingy (not enough light in room and only one window, which faced out the back and had a big tree directly in front of that window. We couldn't even tell if it was raining by looking outside our one window because you couldn't see through the tree). ****I'd like to note that occupancy was probably at about 1/3, judging from the empty parking spaces at night throughout the property ; there’s no doubt that they definitely had other rooms they could have given us. At check-in the girl said, “ I only have one room to give you and it’s on the 3rd floor.” One would think that they had a full house – that was not the case, as It appeared our building only had one other guest. A more accurate statement would have been, “we only have one (online booked ) room available.” 3. Upon check-in they gave my husband the room assignment and immediately another person (employee) arrived at the check-in counter carrying a packet. We thought she was there to explain the resort facilities and to escort us to our room. Wrong!!! Instead she escorted us to another counter 10 feet away. She was the recruiter to get people to go to the timeshare meetings. I really felt like we were hijacked! Upon check-in, really??? They couldn't wait and perhaps call your room or slip an invitation under the door. Oh no...They "get you" upon arrival and literally escort (hi-jack) you to the sign-up desk. The reservation desk does not tell you -or - ask you, if you'd be willing to take a few minutes to talk to the recruiter - they just hand over your check-in information to the timeshare rep. and off you go for the “sign-up” speech!! 4.) We called the morning of check-out to ask for an 11:00 a.m. check-out instead of the usual 10:00 a.m... We were refused the 1 hour late check-out time. Could it be because we were (online/booked) people? 5.) In our rental (which was a studio) they only had glass glassware ....no paper/Styrofoam or wrapped plastic cups. In my opinion, that’s gross and disgusting! ~ A long time ago I saw a program on tv (with hidden cameras at hotels) that showed why you should “never use glass glasses in a hotel room." ~ It's because there’s no assurance that the cleaning staff did anything more that rinse them and put them back for the next unsuspecting customer. I have no doubt that the people staying in the room before me, or the cleaning staff, did NOT sanitize that glassware. Note: The actual timeshare rooms have dishwashers for sanitizing, so I’m told. But, then again, we were (online booked) people! We paid the $20 mandatory resort fee even though we didn't intend to use any of the facilities (except to park our car), and we did not visit their restaurants- I can't comment on that. The free shuttle to Universal didn't benefit us at all - the schedule to leave was not to our liking. it either left at 7:40 a.m. (even though the park doesn't open until 9 a.m.) They tell me it's because they cater to the guests that have "early admission" to the park. (or) next shuttle is at 10:45 a.m., which was too late for us one day ticker holders. Overall - I would have been happier staying at a Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn or an Embassy Suites rather than this so-called ~ “4 star hotel.”

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved Universal and it was a great time of year to be there. No lines and very pleasant weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommy to be 1986
Business
orlando
Jun 3, 2014

hair show getaway

It ended up being ok but lady that checked us in was rude then when we got in the room the toilet wouldn't stop running sink wouldn't drain ac didn't work and they had to move us to another room which they didnt really want to do but the new room was better we ended up having a good time but I won't stay at this westgate again westgate palace is waayyyyy better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton,florida
Apr 22, 2009

super location

Nice people working at westgate. Sleeper sofa was in very bad condition gave me back pain all night. Next day was not very plesent for me because of that. And it was a sleepless night for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 6, 2010

It's like sharing rooms!

The only advantage of this hotel is its location. It is near Disney World, Sea World, Universial Studio, Walmart, and Whole Food. However, I could hear almost everything from the next room and they provide every-other-day cleaning service. Also, there is no light on the middle of the ceiling. There are only two small bulbs up the head of bed. I don't want to recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cant work
Business
florida
Jun 7, 2010

would have been nice..but

was staying at location on business, checked in and after the check-in process was completed i was told there internet service did not work in the guest rooms and that i would be able to use there business center for a fee in the lobby. I selected this hotel with the ammenity of having internet access in-room to do business.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David V.
Business
Coral Springs, FL, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa Stay Experience

To begin with, when we arrived to the hotel, it took us about 25 minutes to finally talk to someone in order to check-in, even though there was no line at the front desk. There were several employees (at least six people wearing their uniform) standing behind the counter, but apparently only one person was working at the time and she was busy with a customer. When we arrived to the room, we were surprised how dirty it was. The bedspread was dirty and stained, the floor was dirty as well, and the shower had "short hairs" in more than one place on the floor and the glass door for the shower. Overall, the facilities are nice, but the hotel should pay more attention to the cleanliness of its rooms because they do not match those of a “3.5-star” rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top