$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
630 reviews
Good family resort

It was ok I had a couple of issue with the restaurants, no one did anything about it, problems with... See full review

  • lagatag
  • Jun 26, 2014
getaway was amazing

Love the jucuzzi tub, the view from any room is amazing! Staff very helpful, pools and beautiful!... See full review

  • serenity pearl
  • Jun 16, 2014
Comfortable studios and grand villas in Orlando by major attractions

Families will find a bounty of activities at Lakes Resort & Spa by Westgate Resorts, a lakefront resort just a few miles from Walt Disney World. Several heated outdoor pools and a spa only skims the surface. Multiple amenities exist, like a kid's club for children ages 2 to 12, kayak, paddle boat and fishing pole rentals and three restaurants. Not to leave theme parks out of the equation, the resort provides free scheduled shuttles to Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort, SeaWorld Orlando and Prime Outlets Orlando.

Highlights
  • Fully-furnished studios and villas near Disney theme parks
  • Kids' club for children 2 to 12
  • Seven heated outdoor pools and seven hot tubs
  • Lakeside marina and dock
  • Serenity Spa and leisure activities
  • Free shuttle to major attraction and shopping
Rooms


Lodging ranges from efficient studios to villas with one, two, three and four bedrooms. Depending on the layout, amenities might include balcony, two-chair dinettes, kitchen or kitchenette, cookware, dinnerware and silverware. A Jacuzzi, large-screen TV and pull-out sofa are standard conveniences. Guests must pay additional fees to access high-speed Internet.

Features

The Lakes Resort & Spa by Westgate Resorts functions like a mini village. A heavy roster of planned activities, from poolside bingo to s'mores by the campfire -- invite guests to socialize, while families take part in all-ages fun, including crafts, paddle boat, kayak and fishing equipment rentals. A supervised kid's club keeps the little ones occupied with board games, crafts and video games.

 

The resort also boasts a spa, marina, tennis, volleyball and basketball courts and three restaurants, including Westgate Smokehouse Grill, Sid's Deli and Pizza Hut Express.

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (13 miles)
  • Orange County Convention Center (3 miles)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (9.7 mi./15.7 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (6.2 mi./km)
  • ESPN Wide World of Sports (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • Epcot (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Downtown Disney (1.9mi./3.1 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (3.6 mi./5.8 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (9.7 mi./15.6 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet available for $9.99 for one day, three days for $24 and seven days for $49.99

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa
Each of the 1,255 Sq Ft furnished Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Villa features a king bed in the master bedroom with large jetted tub in the room, private full bathroom with stall shower, two double beds in the second bedroom, full second private bathroom with stall shower, a queen sleeper sofa in the living area with dining table and four chairs, fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar and three chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. It accommodates up to 8 people.
Studio
Each of the 493 Sq Ft furnished Studio villa features a king bed, queen sleeper sofa, private bathroom with stall shower & large jetted tub, kitchenette with sink, microwave and mini refrigerator, dining table with two chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player and balcony or patio. The Studio accommodates up to 4 people.
One Bedroom Villa
Each of the 493 Sq Ft furnished One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom villa features a king bed in the bedroom, a queen sleeper sofa in the living area, private bathroom with stall shower and single jetted tub, kitchenette with full size refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top and dishwasher, dining table with four chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player and washer/dryer. It accommodates up to 4 people.
One Bedroom Deluxe Villa
Each of the 859 Sq Ft furnished One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Deluxe Villa features a king bed in the bedroom with large jetted tub in the room, private bathroom with stall shower, a queen sleeper sofa in living area with table and four chairs, fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar and three chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. It accommodates up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4283 -81.4751
Area served
Situated on 97 tropical acres of lakefront property, Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa is located near the intersection of Interstate 4 and the Beach Line Expressway on Turkey Lake Road.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport (MCO)
Area description
The Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney's Hollywood Studios, Disney's Animal Kingdom, Universal Studios Florida, SeaWorld Orlando, Discovery Cove, Aquatica and much more.

Nearby points of interest

  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.4 mi
  • Trainland: 0.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 1.5 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 1.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 1.6 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2 mi
  • Skyventure: 2.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 2.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 3.1 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.4 mi
  • Trainland: 0.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 1.5 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 1.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 1.6 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2 mi
  • Skyventure: 2.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 2.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 3.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 4.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 5 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 8.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 9.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9.9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 10 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 10 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 10 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 11.3 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 11.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11.9 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 12 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 21.2 mi

Dining

Sid's Deli
Sid's Deli features subs, grilled sandwich, salads, snaks, a bakery and an espresso bar.It is the perfect spot for a quick bite to eat on the go. Open daily from 7am to 5pm.
Westgate Smokehouse Grill
The award-winning Smokehouse Grill offers a relaxed and casual dining setting. It features scenic lake, pool and fountain views, as well as a full-service bar and game room. Smokehouse Grill is famous for its St Louis-style ribs, which are rubbed with spices and smoked low and slow over hickory for four hours. The menu also offers generous servings of delicious grilled steaks, chicken, pork chops, fresh fish and numerous barbecue entrees. The Westgate Smokehouse Grill is open daily for breakfast and dinner. A convenient take-out and resort delivery service that features all of the menu items is available. The Smokehouse Grill also offers a children's menu as well.
Pizza Hut Express
Pizza Hut is available for pick-up or delivered direct to your suite or even poolside! Pizza Hut Express also features family-style Tuscani pastas, sides and beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (630)

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bloo
Nashville,TN
Apr 22, 2009

Pictures were misleading!

We stayed at the Westgate for two nights. I was extremely dissapointed in the room in that it smelt like an ashtray even though smoking was prohibited in the rooms! It was almost impossible to enjoy the patio as opening and closing the patio door was a task in itself. The furniture was old and worn especially the pull out couch my kids had to sleep on. It was extremely difficult to find a parking spot by the building we were staying in and felt we had walk a mile just to get back to our building after parking - this was particularly frustrating the day we checked as it was the early hours of the morning and we were all tired! My kids did enjoy the pool the saturday that we were there and thankfully we spent most of the day there rather than our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waterloo, IA
Nov 24, 2010

Beware

We went to Orlando to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived at Westgate we were exposed to a high pressure game to get us to buy a time share. They were rude and relentless, I will never stay at a Westgate resort again and would highly discourage anyone else from going there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MRYB SC
Jul 19, 2009

Aged`Facility

Complex is over-wellmimg. To many people and cars. You can't get a legal parking spot after 10pm I don't know how the local fire department overlooks the violations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Veteran Hoteler
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 14, 2010

Good Location, not much else

Crowded parking lots. Buildings right on top of each other resulting in narrow "roads" while navigating resort. Watch out for the many blind spots at the intersections while driving through!! Internet service for a fee but was NOT working anyway and apparently not working for quite some time. Gym usage was also an additional fee! Room smelled heavily of old wet carpet. Dirty pillow cases and linens. Old old outdated furniture. At least when I complained about the room I was switched to a different room. I was staying in a studio with a kitchenette. Seems the worst rooms are in building 1400. Better rooms in building 1600. There are brand new buildings in the resort off to the distance across the lake but good luck being assigned a room there as its a small minority of the buildings. I cannot recommend this resort. Maybe you'll be put into one of the top of the line rooms. (I noticed a lot of 4 and 5 star reviews and that must be the reason, rightfully so.) But who wants to go through the risk and hassle while on vacation?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy to be home
Indiana
Mar 4, 2010

Disappointed and discourged

The experience staying at this hotel was just far too uncomfortable. The obvious attempt to somehow create an atmosphere of pleasure and relaxation was immediately trumped by the commercialization of this organization. We were very cleverly manipulated to address a gentleman who wished to pursuade us to participate in a resort tour in exchange for some discount tickets. The hustle and activity in the lobby was so extreme, we could only hope to get out of there as soon as possible. When we finally found our room in the building in which we were to stay, we kinda liked it except for the fact it looked like it had been caulked together. Caulk lines everywhere. I have never seen anything like that before. I could easily overlook that though except that the staff made us uncomfortable as soon as we got there. I believe this hotel has tried too hard to create an image of something that simply does not really exist. Simplify it and maybe it works. We are an average middle class family with a modest six figure salary and we will never return. Sorry Westgate, but try catering to the real world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michdarb
Manhattan, NY
Nov 2, 2010

this hotel is a scam

The hotel is clean but should be listed as a motel. It's basic framework is that of a motel at hotel prices. It's absolutely discusting. In addition, they are really trying to sell you a timeshare. Whatever you do don't agree to breakfast! They will harass you and try to pressure you into a one time only at this moment deal. One can only assume with employees this agressive to sell you 2 weeks worth of hotel stays for over $10,000 that you can use only every other year that they r desperate for backers. Or are on the verge of going out of business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
honeymoon frustated
Boston, MA
May 21, 2009

caution with trap

terrible. In the ad they look like a 4 star hotel, but they charge fior everything - even the wifi, which in hostels are free, the same for breakfast, phones etc - they charge as they were in the 20th century!!They said the pool was open until 11PM and it was NOT. we went 3 times to try, i called 3 times and it was a joke!!When I tried to cancel my 2d day, they said they wouldn't because it was an online reservation and they didn't have anything with it. And, for the worse, they kept saying I did the reservation with ORBITZ and not [...]. I don't even KNOW ORBITZ!! I NEVER USED THIS "ORBITZ" AND I DIDN'T HAVE ANYONE TO COMPLAIN!!! When I called [...] they tried but didn't help at all.I felt robbed then and I feel robbed now. I NEVER USED ORBITZ AND THE "HOTEL" NEVER TRIED TO DO ANYTHING TO HELP ME, THEY JUST WANTED MORE MONEY FROM ME, THE "SUCKER".[...] should be more careful to let this kind of con people appear in its options. They lie, they don't treat you well, they don't do ANYTHING unless you put more money in the table, their price IS NOT WHAT THEY SAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lobster Feast at I(nternational Drive

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bloo
Nashville,TN
Apr 22, 2009

Pictures were misleading!

We stayed at the Westgate for two nights. I was extremely dissapointed in the room in that it smelt like an ashtray even though smoking was prohibited in the rooms! It was almost impossible to enjoy the patio as opening and closing the patio door was a task in itself. The furniture was old and worn especially the pull out couch my kids had to sleep on. It was extremely difficult to find a parking spot by the building we were staying in and felt we had walk a mile just to get back to our building after parking - this was particularly frustrating the day we checked as it was the early hours of the morning and we were all tired! My kids did enjoy the pool the saturday that we were there and thankfully we spent most of the day there rather than our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ana 2 the East
New Jersey
May 26, 2011

Disappointed... beyond belief

We went a couple of days in orlando to visit sea world. Over searching and comparing prices... we choose to stay here. check in was a breeze but parking was a pain . rooms need an update badly. room just didnt feel clean and bathrooms were dirty . dirty towels and dirty tubs . super disappointed in the money spent to stay here .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hotel OrlandoFL Sean Gainsville FL me CA
May 30, 2009

Had Several Problems

The hotel was in a nice location however some of the staff only spoke Spanish which was very frustrating when trying to call the front desk. The automatic front desk button lead you to customer service and then they had to transfer you. It because a real pain when I needed to have something done, Like the plumbing. When my boyfriend and I arrived at our hotel, it was real cold inside and I wanted to take a shower. The water was real cold. I was unable to take my shower and went to the bathtub to see if the water there was better. Now i am all wet trying to take a hot shower. So I told my boyfriend that the water was real cold and he said he would call the front desk to tell them we needed a plumber. We called and it took them at least 30 min if not more. I was starting to get upset that it was taking so long because my boyfriend had things planned that he wanted to take me to. so finally two men come to our hotel room they both are speaking Spanish and I have no idea what they are saying. Then one guy gets a phone call and is on the phone the whole time having this convocation in my bathroom that I want to take a shower in. Then the other guy is trying to talk to they man on the phone but he is giving him the one minute finger and all this is happening while my boyfriend and I are waiting. So finally the guy on the phone leaves, still on the phone and the guy not of the phone says were going to send a plumber to fix the boiler. He said it would be about 20 minutes before the plumber got there and was able to fix the boiler. He then said in broken English that after the plumber fixed the boiler it would be about another 20 minutes. My point is I called the front desk and said my water is not hot. They could have just sent the plumber to check on the boiler and not had to bother my boyfriend and I and it would have saved an hour of my time. After I took my hot shower and went out to eat with my boyfriend, we were ready to go to bed. So we took the bed cover off and there was only a thin sheet to sleep under. There was NO blanket to sleep under there was only to top cover which was not even thick and then a sheet. Well we were trying to turn the ac down but kept having trouble. So we had to get a blanket from the closet. We took two blankets out. The next night I called the front desk which again sent me to customer service. The man said hold on let me transfer you. I then got transferred to the front desk where no one answered. I then had to hang up and recall the front desk. So I pushed front desk and once again got customer service and said yes I need front desk. He said ok they didn't answer one moment. This was kind of funny but it should not of happened. I got transferred to another guy who was waiting to talk to the front desk as well. He was a guest at the hotel trying to get a hold of front desk. I said hello when i noticed there was someone there and he said hello as well and started talking about his room and a problem he was having. and then I said excuse me sir but I'm in room 713 trying to get a hold of the front desk. He said me to and we both laughed and hung up. So then I had to call back AGAIN even though it was kind of funny it shouldn't have happened it was real uncomfortable. So when I got the same guy for the third time, I asked him how do you guys make the beds. He told me and my bed was not made like he was saying. I told him that my bed was not made like he was saying. He paused and said well I can have someone bring you a blanket, Well we already had two blankets and we had just gotten back from Sea World and it was past midnight. I was tired and so was my boyfriend and we were not going to sit up for 30 minutes while we get another blanket. So I said don't worry about it we will pass. But I was kind of upset at that point because it took over 20 minutes just to try and get my answer about the bed situation. Right before I go to bed I go to the bathroom, Well after my 20+ minute phone call it was ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top