$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
401 reviews
Awesome Stay!!

We loved the stay so much, we actually purchased a timeshare in the building!!! See full review

  • Marvelous Mar
  • Nov 14, 2014
fantastic get away

Had a very nice stay looking forward to the next time I return to this resort See full review

  • super damian i
  • Sep 29, 2014
Comfortable studios and grand villas in Orlando by major attractions

Families will find a bounty of activities at Lakes Resort & Spa by Westgate Resorts, a lakefront resort just a few miles from Walt Disney World. Several heated outdoor pools and a spa only skims the surface. Multiple amenities exist, like a kid's club for children ages 2 to 12, kayak, paddle boat and fishing pole rentals and three restaurants. Not to leave theme parks out of the equation, the resort provides free scheduled shuttles to Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort, SeaWorld Orlando and Prime Outlets Orlando.

Highlights
  • Fully-furnished studios and villas near Disney theme parks
  • Kids' club for children 2 to 12
  • Seven heated outdoor pools and seven hot tubs
  • Lakeside marina and dock
  • Serenity Spa and leisure activities
  • Free shuttle to major attraction and shopping
Rooms


Lodging ranges from efficient studios to villas with one, two, three and four bedrooms. Depending on the layout, amenities might include balcony, two-chair dinettes, kitchen or kitchenette, cookware, dinnerware and silverware. A Jacuzzi, large-screen TV and pull-out sofa are standard conveniences. Guests must pay additional fees to access high-speed Internet.

Features

The Lakes Resort & Spa by Westgate Resorts functions like a mini village. A heavy roster of planned activities, from poolside bingo to s'mores by the campfire -- invite guests to socialize, while families take part in all-ages fun, including crafts, paddle boat, kayak and fishing equipment rentals. A supervised kid's club keeps the little ones occupied with board games, crafts and video games.

 

The resort also boasts a spa, marina, tennis, volleyball and basketball courts and three restaurants, including Westgate Smokehouse Grill, Sid's Deli and Pizza Hut Express.

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (13 miles)
  • Orange County Convention Center (3 miles)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (9.7 mi./15.7 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (6.2 mi./km)
  • ESPN Wide World of Sports (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • Epcot (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Downtown Disney (1.9mi./3.1 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (3.6 mi./5.8 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (9.7 mi./15.6 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet available for $9.99 for one day, three days for $24 and seven days for $49.99

Hotel Map

28.4283 -81.4751
Area served
Situated on 97 tropical acres of lakefront property, Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa is located near the intersection of Interstate 4 and the Beach Line Expressway on Turkey Lake Road.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport (MCO)
Area description
The Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney's Hollywood Studios, Disney's Animal Kingdom, Universal Studios Florida, SeaWorld Orlando, Discovery Cove, Aquatica and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa Rooms

Two Bedroom Villa
Each of the 1,255 Sq Ft furnished Two-Bedroom, Two-Bathroom Villa features a king bed in the master bedroom with large jetted tub in the room, private full bathroom with stall shower, two double beds in the second bedroom, full second private bathroom with stall shower, a queen sleeper sofa in the living area with dining table and four chairs, fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar and three chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. It accommodates up to 8 people.
Studio
Each of the 493 Sq Ft furnished Studio villa features a king bed, queen sleeper sofa, private bathroom with stall shower & large jetted tub, kitchenette with sink, microwave and mini refrigerator, dining table with two chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player and balcony or patio. The Studio accommodates up to 4 people.
One Bedroom Villa
Each of the 493 Sq Ft furnished One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom villa features a king bed in the bedroom, a queen sleeper sofa in the living area, private bathroom with stall shower and single jetted tub, kitchenette with full size refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top and dishwasher, dining table with four chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player and washer/dryer. It accommodates up to 4 people.
One Bedroom Deluxe Villa
Each of the 859 Sq Ft furnished One-Bedroom, One-Bathroom Deluxe Villa features a king bed in the bedroom with large jetted tub in the room, private bathroom with stall shower, a queen sleeper sofa in living area with table and four chairs, fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar and three chairs, cable TV with premium channels and DVD player, washer/dryer and balcony or patio. It accommodates up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.4 mi
  • Trainland: 0.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 1.5 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 1.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 1.6 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 2.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 3.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.4 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.4 mi
  • Trainland: 0.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 1.5 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 1.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 1.6 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 2.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 3.1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 3.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 4.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 5 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 8.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 9.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9.9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 10 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 10 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 10 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 11.3 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 11.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11.9 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 12 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.9 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 21.2 mi

Dining

Sid's Deli
Sid's Deli features subs, grilled sandwich, salads, snaks, a bakery and an espresso bar.It is the perfect spot for a quick bite to eat on the go. Open daily from 7am to 5pm.
Westgate Smokehouse Grill
The award-winning Smokehouse Grill offers a relaxed and casual dining setting. It features scenic lake, pool and fountain views, as well as a full-service bar and game room. Smokehouse Grill is famous for its St Louis-style ribs, which are rubbed with spices and smoked low and slow over hickory for four hours. The menu also offers generous servings of delicious grilled steaks, chicken, pork chops, fresh fish and numerous barbecue entrees. The Westgate Smokehouse Grill is open daily for breakfast and dinner. A convenient take-out and resort delivery service that features all of the menu items is available. The Smokehouse Grill also offers a children's menu as well.
Pizza Hut Express
Pizza Hut is available for pick-up or delivered direct to your suite or even poolside! Pizza Hut Express also features family-style Tuscani pastas, sides and beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Dec 5, 2010

Go elsewere

The room looked old. It looked like it came right out of the 50s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phyona
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

It was horrible

To begin this review, I will first state that it took over a hour to check-in bc supposedly when I book through online there is a "process" etc, this should be listed on the website; but ok that's understandable, the staff member that helped us was kind. So moving along, after all that, and an extremely exhausting day I might add, I get to my room and none of the keys work, so at 12:30am I am sitting outside the door on the concrete. My mother called from her room, they said they can't guarantee a time but someone will be out there, really? So I waited on the cold concrete with my bags until someone came. The room was absolutely freezing, I tried to turn the temperature up, it's ouldnt work, but I was so exhausted that I fell asleep freezing. I was so happy to check out and be on my home, I youths it was over, but after arriving home, ta-daaaa I get charged a fee of $22.40, for what?! Amenities they said, do they mean the cold concrete? Was that the amenity for which I was charged? Why wasn't this payment included the fee I paid? Horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
anchorage, ak
May 16, 2010

Nice location and rooms, service stinks

The location was right between sea world and universal, easy access to main roads and highways. The room was also nice and big, however way to noisy as you could hear the noise from outside all night long. The internet was down the entire week, and staff could only do one job, requiring you to go to several people to get questions answered, room keys, and towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LocalTraveler
Business
Florida
Feb 21, 2012

NOT SPACIOUS

In a two bdrm suite, barely room for four adults to move around. Not enough parking for guests, had to park illegally. Check-in line took 45 minutes, with no food service in sight. After lengthy check in, made us visit a sales promo desk, then another (VIP) desk to get directions to the room. Did not feel very VIP by the time we were done checking in. The resort is beautiful, but very cramped. Even the driving roads are narrow. Will not stay there again, even though very convenient to Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janiejane
Business
Okemos, Mi
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE

It's the little things that count when traveling and make a stay enjoyable. You won't find them here! Service at this hotel was abysmal. If you are going to Orlando for an event at the Convention Center DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel is located across the highway and not accessible to I-Drive except by taxi ($15+ one way). International Drive is the major tourist area featuring most hotels, restaurants, shopping, convention center, Sea World, with an excellent trolley system than runs the length of the road daily.. Westgate does not offer shuttles to the I-Drive area so you must take a cab. Shuttles leave only 2 times a day to Universal and Disney and at odd times. Convention transportation offered by most other hotels was only offered 2 of the 4 days of our convention. Airport shuttles do not run to this hotel so again a cab ($40-50) There are no car rental companies located at this hotel like most other hotels in the area. Shuttles regularly did not appear when expected and drivers were not clear on pick up spots. Shuttles within the property were also slow and unpredictable. Internet is sporadic and unreliable dropping my connectivity 4 or 5 times during an hour online. ONLY ONE DEVICE per room can be online at a time without paying a $10 extra fee. All lighting in the room is overhead with CFL's and impossible to moderate. Overhead reading lights were so bright it was impossible sleep if one partner wanted to sleep while the other read. Our room had lights only on one side so the desk and dinette were not lit at all. Shower pressure was weak along with a low flow non adjustable shower head that delivered a halo of water. Coffee is not provided in the room. You must ask for a coupon from the front desk daily and then take that coupon to the marketplace to exchange it for 1 coffee set up. You will pay a resort fee when you arrive and you'll be strong armed into one of those "tour" deals with the promise of vouchers and discounts. Language barriers with staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lonnie B.
Business
Gainesville, FL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Very comfortable until i was harassed.

First let me start by saying this was a very nice room with great amenities. When i checked in i was immediately pulled over to another area where i was asked if i'd be willing to attend a breakfast and fill out a survey that would take no longer then an hour. This was just so West Gate could gauge how they were doing and what they could do to improve. They offered a 50 dollar gift card for doing this. It sounded fine to me and my family as we were going to eat breakfast anyway and i was more then happy to fill out a survey to help the resort improve their level of service. In actuality this was a 3 1/2 hour nightmare of a salesman (Marcell Ray) trying to talk me into buying a time share. He was very nice up until the point when i told i wasn't interested and i just wanted to get "signed out" and receive my gift. He then wanted to know why i would sign up for a "timeshare presentation" if i never intended to purchase. After telling him that i was told it was a 1 hour survey he actually said that i should have known better and i should have known that they would not give me 50 dollars for a 1 hour survey. I then had to go through to other agents that tried to make the same sell just so i could get my 20 dollar deposit back and my 50 dollar gift card. It was a very stressful experience while my family and i were just trying to vacation and have a good time. Despite the VERY nice rooms and facilities i will NEVER stay at another West Gate resort again. Be warned. After check in if they pull you over to another desk just say no and anything they tell you is a lie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy campe3r
Business
building 100
Nov 15, 2012

Tricked" not a happy campe3r

I did not know that it was a time share and they would put us throght a 90 min nightmare. the breakfast they offered was subpar to any hotel we would have stayed at. There were no convenient amenities at the buiding we stayed at. everything was far awayincluding a subpar restaurant. this is not for two adult persons. Bring your 3 kids but do not look for amenities. Even the ants crawling in the kitchen had a better time. No thank you"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
christine dolgin
Business
miami, fl
Feb 19, 2013

dated decor

Check in took 45min because there was a huge line. Declined the time share song and dance right at check in. The room was a one bedroom/king size with kitchenette and balcony. The decor reminded us of the show 'The Golden Girls'. Very dated. Overall minimally clean with 'spots' on the old carpet. Parking near your building is very difficult in the evening. Cars were loud with music heard several times throughout the night. I don't think this place deserves 4 out of 5 stars. 2 - 2.5 stars at best. The only excellent aspect was the location near SeaWorld - very close. Could have paid the same for a more modern, updated chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dawniewonderful
Business
Rochester, MI
Mar 27, 2013

They are much too big for their own good

This is an enormous complex. We had to wait in line about 20 minutes just to get to check in and we got there about 10pm. Apparently, they gave our reserved room to somebody else and they "upgraded" our room. We were given one of their condo units. It was very cramped. My biggest complaint is there was no parking in the area for the building we were in. We had to walk quite a distance to get to our room, in the rain, and late at night. There were several employees driving around in golf carts but not one stopped to offer assistance to us as we struggled to get our luggage to the room. I even asked one employee who was just sitting there where should we park and he was no help whatsoever. I would like to mention that the lady who checked us in was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is on a lake and the room had a screened in deck and that was very nice. The price was a fair price. Overall, I think they try to put too many people in an area that just is not big enough to hold that many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mel85
Business
Orlando, Florida
Apr 9, 2013

Unhappy with stay

Our check in was easy, but we were escorted to the VIP desk where they signed us up for a timeshare meeting. The next day the meeting took 3 hours and it was a salesman pushing us to buy a timeshare. In our room there were mens leftover shavings in the sink and womens hair also left in the drain in the bathroom. The smokehouse grill was understaffed when we went there so we left after 10 minutes of not being served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top