Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lonnie B.
Business
Gainesville, FL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Very comfortable until i was harassed.

First let me start by saying this was a very nice room with great amenities. When i checked in i was immediately pulled over to another area where i was asked if i'd be willing to attend a breakfast and fill out a survey that would take no longer then an hour. This was just so West Gate could gauge how they were doing and what they could do to improve. They offered a 50 dollar gift card for doing this. It sounded fine to me and my family as we were going to eat breakfast anyway and i was more then happy to fill out a survey to help the resort improve their level of service. In actuality this was a 3 1/2 hour nightmare of a salesman (Marcell Ray) trying to talk me into buying a time share. He was very nice up until the point when i told i wasn't interested and i just wanted to get "signed out" and receive my gift. He then wanted to know why i would sign up for a "timeshare presentation" if i never intended to purchase. After telling him that i was told it was a 1 hour survey he actually said that i should have known better and i should have known that they would not give me 50 dollars for a 1 hour survey. I then had to go through to other agents that tried to make the same sell just so i could get my 20 dollar deposit back and my 50 dollar gift card. It was a very stressful experience while my family and i were just trying to vacation and have a good time. Despite the VERY nice rooms and facilities i will NEVER stay at another West Gate resort again. Be warned. After check in if they pull you over to another desk just say no and anything they tell you is a lie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy campe3r
Business
building 100
Nov 15, 2012

Tricked" not a happy campe3r

I did not know that it was a time share and they would put us throght a 90 min nightmare. the breakfast they offered was subpar to any hotel we would have stayed at. There were no convenient amenities at the buiding we stayed at. everything was far awayincluding a subpar restaurant. this is not for two adult persons. Bring your 3 kids but do not look for amenities. Even the ants crawling in the kitchen had a better time. No thank you"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
christine dolgin
Business
miami, fl
Feb 19, 2013

dated decor

Check in took 45min because there was a huge line. Declined the time share song and dance right at check in. The room was a one bedroom/king size with kitchenette and balcony. The decor reminded us of the show 'The Golden Girls'. Very dated. Overall minimally clean with 'spots' on the old carpet. Parking near your building is very difficult in the evening. Cars were loud with music heard several times throughout the night. I don't think this place deserves 4 out of 5 stars. 2 - 2.5 stars at best. The only excellent aspect was the location near SeaWorld - very close. Could have paid the same for a more modern, updated chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dawniewonderful
Business
Rochester, MI
Mar 27, 2013

They are much too big for their own good

This is an enormous complex. We had to wait in line about 20 minutes just to get to check in and we got there about 10pm. Apparently, they gave our reserved room to somebody else and they "upgraded" our room. We were given one of their condo units. It was very cramped. My biggest complaint is there was no parking in the area for the building we were in. We had to walk quite a distance to get to our room, in the rain, and late at night. There were several employees driving around in golf carts but not one stopped to offer assistance to us as we struggled to get our luggage to the room. I even asked one employee who was just sitting there where should we park and he was no help whatsoever. I would like to mention that the lady who checked us in was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is on a lake and the room had a screened in deck and that was very nice. The price was a fair price. Overall, I think they try to put too many people in an area that just is not big enough to hold that many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mel85
Business
Orlando, Florida
Apr 9, 2013

Unhappy with stay

Our check in was easy, but we were escorted to the VIP desk where they signed us up for a timeshare meeting. The next day the meeting took 3 hours and it was a salesman pushing us to buy a timeshare. In our room there were mens leftover shavings in the sink and womens hair also left in the drain in the bathroom. The smokehouse grill was understaffed when we went there so we left after 10 minutes of not being served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ruddyann
Business
Orlando,Florida
Jul 16, 2013

Family get away

The place were too crowded need more space need more parking, parking sucks. Could not fine any ice machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax Just Married
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 4, 2013

Beware - Time Share/Vacation Club

The trip was greatly eclipsed by an unknown "90" minute presentation that actually lasted 2 hrs. This should have been mentioned on the site, so that I could make an informed decision. The presentation was not optional, which really cut into my honeymoon. When I expressed that I wasn't interested in throwing away our money on someone else's American dream shell game, the sales staff simply walked away, nearly refusing to give me my refund, which they secure at the time of registration. I'm all about capitalism, but choice trumps all. If you are considering this resort, save yourself the headache, and go to Lowes Portofino instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joseg1085
Business
Florida
Jul 31, 2013

Good

Good experience i have fun in the hotel pool. My son have a lot of fun in the pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Layla29
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 6, 2013

Staying At West gate Resort and Spa in Orlando, FL

The hotel was located in a nice and friendly environment. It was secure. The room we were assigned was not very clean. We had to ask the hotel manager to be switched to a different room. Even when we were given a new room, the bathroom was still not clean. The carpeting was old and dirty as well, with stains on it. We were expecting something more for what we had paid and looked into. Hopefully we will be offered a better hotel next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel we were placed in was walking distance to some of the world's most famous attractions!

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2910DEZ
Business
Florida
Nov 26, 2013

Beware: Renter vs. Owner room assignment ~AND timeshare hi-jacking.

My husband booked 2 nights at this “hotel” for us to be near Universal Studios- he did not know it was a timeshare property. 1.) As a "renter" vs. an owner - I believe we were given the worst possible accommodations. I’m sure they have certain rooms (the worst of the property) that they assign renters. 2.) Our room was in building 2300 - the very back of the property (the property is huge). I can't speak for the other rooms at this resort, but our (rented/booked online) room was dirty (visible dirt and dust), dark and dingy (not enough light in room and only one window, which faced out the back and had a big tree directly in front of that window. We couldn't even tell if it was raining by looking outside our one window because you couldn't see through the tree). ****I'd like to note that occupancy was probably at about 1/3, judging from the empty parking spaces at night throughout the property ; there’s no doubt that they definitely had other rooms they could have given us. At check-in the girl said, “ I only have one room to give you and it’s on the 3rd floor.” One would think that they had a full house – that was not the case, as It appeared our building only had one other guest. A more accurate statement would have been, “we only have one (online booked ) room available.” 3. Upon check-in they gave my husband the room assignment and immediately another person (employee) arrived at the check-in counter carrying a packet. We thought she was there to explain the resort facilities and to escort us to our room. Wrong!!! Instead she escorted us to another counter 10 feet away. She was the recruiter to get people to go to the timeshare meetings. I really felt like we were hijacked! Upon check-in, really??? They couldn't wait and perhaps call your room or slip an invitation under the door. Oh no...They "get you" upon arrival and literally escort (hi-jack) you to the sign-up desk. The reservation desk does not tell you -or - ask you, if you'd be willing to take a few minutes to talk to the recruiter - they just hand over your check-in information to the timeshare rep. and off you go for the “sign-up” speech!! 4.) We called the morning of check-out to ask for an 11:00 a.m. check-out instead of the usual 10:00 a.m... We were refused the 1 hour late check-out time. Could it be because we were (online/booked) people? 5.) In our rental (which was a studio) they only had glass glassware ....no paper/Styrofoam or wrapped plastic cups. In my opinion, that’s gross and disgusting! ~ A long time ago I saw a program on tv (with hidden cameras at hotels) that showed why you should “never use glass glasses in a hotel room." ~ It's because there’s no assurance that the cleaning staff did anything more that rinse them and put them back for the next unsuspecting customer. I have no doubt that the people staying in the room before me, or the cleaning staff, did NOT sanitize that glassware. Note: The actual timeshare rooms have dishwashers for sanitizing, so I’m told. But, then again, we were (online booked) people! We paid the $20 mandatory resort fee even though we didn't intend to use any of the facilities (except to park our car), and we did not visit their restaurants- I can't comment on that. The free shuttle to Universal didn't benefit us at all - the schedule to leave was not to our liking. it either left at 7:40 a.m. (even though the park doesn't open until 9 a.m.) They tell me it's because they cater to the guests that have "early admission" to the park. (or) next shuttle is at 10:45 a.m., which was too late for us one day ticker holders. Overall - I would have been happier staying at a Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn or an Embassy Suites rather than this so-called ~ “4 star hotel.”

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved Universal and it was a great time of year to be there. No lines and very pleasant weather.

Back to menu Return to top