Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hauwa
New York
May 19, 2013

Lovely family reunion

I love the hotel,at first I thought it wasn't that spectacular until I went in,I was impressed with the welcome package and the pool is something that will stay in our memory for a long time especially the wam jacuzzi. I love the coziness of the room because it feels just like home.the only thing I didn't like was the pool restroom was dirty otherwise everything seems perfect.will love to come back again and will definitely recommend it to people traveling with their families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everywhere is easy to reach from the hotel

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Apr 22, 2009

Terrible Hotel

Upon entry to the hotel I realized that this was a time-share hotel. The lobby was jammed with people looking for their deal of the century. The staff was ok not overly friendly. When I discovered that the room had not been cleaned after our first night, I called the front desk to inquire why not. I was informed that cleaning the room was not done until the party checked out. The bedding was uncomfortably hard and old. I would never stay at this hotel EVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Oct 19, 2010

All they care about is sales.

[...]We were passed to 6 different people from walking in the door to getting to the room with every one of them asking us about purchasing there. The whole process took about 40 minutes to check in. There were roaches in the walkways and elevators. No ice trays in the tiny fridge. You had to go to a store on the resort site several buildings away to redeem a coupon for the sample pack of coffee if you wanted any. The hot tub was low of water and made terrible racket because of it, with barely warm temperatures and weak jets. Pool towels were tiny. Sound travels through the walls very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Really close to Universal and if you have a room overlooking the lake, you can see the fireworks from Epcot's final show.

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Jun 23, 2010

not good

Long check in time, only two people working at the check in desk. The room was small and we had trouble finding any space to park our car. Very noisy and the ice machines didn't work in our building or any of the other buildings around us. The outside door is designed that you can be locked out of your room if the other people in other room locks deadbolt which happened to us. Do not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Oct 18, 2010

SCAM!!! STAY Away

This hotel sold itself as a resort/hotel. It is a timeshare, and a terrible one to boot! Walls are paper thin, lots of loud obnoxious tenants, and very few comforts a/c shut off in the night because the adjoining room left its door ajar. One of the worst hotel experiences ever. I paid for two nights and gave up the second. So, i lost 123 dollars just not to stay there. That move speaks for itself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Exlong
Business
MO.
Jun 28, 2009

Just ok

Had several issues with with our room. No towels, trash and worst of all the parking was very bad. I called several times to the front desk but no help

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Dec 5, 2010

Go elsewere

The room looked old. It looked like it came right out of the 50s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phyona
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

It was horrible

To begin this review, I will first state that it took over a hour to check-in bc supposedly when I book through online there is a "process" etc, this should be listed on the website; but ok that's understandable, the staff member that helped us was kind. So moving along, after all that, and an extremely exhausting day I might add, I get to my room and none of the keys work, so at 12:30am I am sitting outside the door on the concrete. My mother called from her room, they said they can't guarantee a time but someone will be out there, really? So I waited on the cold concrete with my bags until someone came. The room was absolutely freezing, I tried to turn the temperature up, it's ouldnt work, but I was so exhausted that I fell asleep freezing. I was so happy to check out and be on my home, I youths it was over, but after arriving home, ta-daaaa I get charged a fee of $22.40, for what?! Amenities they said, do they mean the cold concrete? Was that the amenity for which I was charged? Why wasn't this payment included the fee I paid? Horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LocalTraveler
Business
Florida
Feb 21, 2012

NOT SPACIOUS

In a two bdrm suite, barely room for four adults to move around. Not enough parking for guests, had to park illegally. Check-in line took 45 minutes, with no food service in sight. After lengthy check in, made us visit a sales promo desk, then another (VIP) desk to get directions to the room. Did not feel very VIP by the time we were done checking in. The resort is beautiful, but very cramped. Even the driving roads are narrow. Will not stay there again, even though very convenient to Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janiejane
Business
Okemos, Mi
Feb 23, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE

It's the little things that count when traveling and make a stay enjoyable. You won't find them here! Service at this hotel was abysmal. If you are going to Orlando for an event at the Convention Center DO NOT STAY HERE. The hotel is located across the highway and not accessible to I-Drive except by taxi ($15+ one way). International Drive is the major tourist area featuring most hotels, restaurants, shopping, convention center, Sea World, with an excellent trolley system than runs the length of the road daily.. Westgate does not offer shuttles to the I-Drive area so you must take a cab. Shuttles leave only 2 times a day to Universal and Disney and at odd times. Convention transportation offered by most other hotels was only offered 2 of the 4 days of our convention. Airport shuttles do not run to this hotel so again a cab ($40-50) There are no car rental companies located at this hotel like most other hotels in the area. Shuttles regularly did not appear when expected and drivers were not clear on pick up spots. Shuttles within the property were also slow and unpredictable. Internet is sporadic and unreliable dropping my connectivity 4 or 5 times during an hour online. ONLY ONE DEVICE per room can be online at a time without paying a $10 extra fee. All lighting in the room is overhead with CFL's and impossible to moderate. Overhead reading lights were so bright it was impossible sleep if one partner wanted to sleep while the other read. Our room had lights only on one side so the desk and dinette were not lit at all. Shower pressure was weak along with a low flow non adjustable shower head that delivered a halo of water. Coffee is not provided in the room. You must ask for a coupon from the front desk daily and then take that coupon to the marketplace to exchange it for 1 coffee set up. You will pay a resort fee when you arrive and you'll be strong armed into one of those "tour" deals with the promise of vouchers and discounts. Language barriers with staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lonnie B.
Business
Gainesville, FL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Very comfortable until i was harassed.

First let me start by saying this was a very nice room with great amenities. When i checked in i was immediately pulled over to another area where i was asked if i'd be willing to attend a breakfast and fill out a survey that would take no longer then an hour. This was just so West Gate could gauge how they were doing and what they could do to improve. They offered a 50 dollar gift card for doing this. It sounded fine to me and my family as we were going to eat breakfast anyway and i was more then happy to fill out a survey to help the resort improve their level of service. In actuality this was a 3 1/2 hour nightmare of a salesman (Marcell Ray) trying to talk me into buying a time share. He was very nice up until the point when i told i wasn't interested and i just wanted to get "signed out" and receive my gift. He then wanted to know why i would sign up for a "timeshare presentation" if i never intended to purchase. After telling him that i was told it was a 1 hour survey he actually said that i should have known better and i should have known that they would not give me 50 dollars for a 1 hour survey. I then had to go through to other agents that tried to make the same sell just so i could get my 20 dollar deposit back and my 50 dollar gift card. It was a very stressful experience while my family and i were just trying to vacation and have a good time. Despite the VERY nice rooms and facilities i will NEVER stay at another West Gate resort again. Be warned. After check in if they pull you over to another desk just say no and anything they tell you is a lie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top